We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing House in a Stunning Location”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
9 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 17
Durness, Caithness and Sutherland, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

JenNrich
South Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing House in a Stunning Location”
Reviewed 12 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

My parents booked this amazing family holiday for us. There were 12 of us. Including 4 kids, ages 6 & 10.
My parents have been visiting the area for years and had seen the house when it was unoccupied and whilst it was being renovated. It was a dream to stop here and it came true. Living up to and exceeding expectations.
This house is just amazing. The setting, the interior, the lawn, just all of it. Everything you need and more. Home from home.
Very well equip. From herbs and spices to cool bags and ice packs. DVDS to body lotion. Games for all the family, body boards and BBQ. Really Comfy beds and amazing views.
The kitchen/diner window seat was my favourite spot inside the house. This overlooked the beach.
We had sheep and rabbits just over the fence too.
The beach is amazing and the sea crystal clear, if not a little cool! The sand dunes are awesome. We spent lots of time sand boarding down them.
The shop is a couple of minute drive away.

Things to do and see:
Smoo Cave (5 min drive) is a good place to visit for an hour or so.

We also visited Oldshoremore beach and Polin beach, near Kinlochbervie (approx 40 mins drive). The beaches were beautiful here too and the climate was about 7 degrees warmer, as they are off the west coast, rather than the north.

We took our inflatable Kayaks with us and used these on the sea at our beach (Balnakeil) and Polin beach. On Polin beach we discovered caves in the massive rock/land to the right side of the sea/beach.
We also visited Tarbet (you can get a ferry across to Handa Island here) and had a picnic on the grass area just up from the jetty/pebbly beach. We took the kayaks around the water/sea here too and paddled (in the kayaks) around many little rocks/islands. We discovered seals, basking in the sun on a rock, they watched us for a while and then jumped in and swam around us (at a distance) afterwards. The sea was really calm and so clear. Before we headed home (to Balnakeil House), we went to Scourie and had fish and chips from a chip van. These were delicious. I think the van opens on a Tue and Thur.

We will certainly be holidays up that way again and hope to stay at Balnakeil House again in the future too.

Date of stay: May 2018
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wee_dkh
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing house in a spectacular location”
Reviewed 26 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Balnakeil House two years in a row in August 2013 and 2014. The house really has been beautifully renovated and equipped with everything you could need. The bedrooms are very comfortable and there are several public rooms. In fact, for both visits, the amazing kitchen was the social heart of the house and the dining room and living room were underused although very comfortable. Balnakeil beach is a wonder. There are many interesting walks close by – shore and hill -– and several nice day trips. Chocolate Mountain and the Northern Delights bakery are a short walk away and highly recommended. Balnakeil House is an excellent choice, especially for a larger group. We would gladly come again. This part of Scotland is breathtaking and really worth a visit.

Date of stay: August 2014
How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Spacious and comfortable, well equipped
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola F
Greenlaw, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous house in spectacular setting !”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a fabulous week at Balnakeil with family ranging from 7 to 70 years old. The house is situated yards from the extensive beach and has been tastefully restored to provide a beautiful and very comfortable home complete with up-to -date facilities. There was plenty of space to accommodate our extended family, whether cooking together, dining around the wonderful dining room table or finding places "to chill!" With a beach on the door step, a surf shop nearby, wonderful walks and cycle routes on hand and a fabulous chocolate shop within walking distance there was plenty to keep all 16 family members entertained ! Have no hesitation in recommending this holiday rental and look forward to returning before too long !

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The luxurious feel and setting of the house, could live there very happily !
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abby I
Troon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Set in a perfect location, Balnakeil is guaranteed to make for a memorable vacation, regardless of the occasion.”
Reviewed 10 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Balnakeil, situated in a beautiful location right on the beach, is the perfect accommodation for a large group of people looking to get away for a memorable vacation. The house itself is very well equipped, and was very nicely decorated for the festive period (New Year). With a variety of rooms, a very social environment can be created, as well as a relaxing one. A trip well worth the long drive, I would definitely return again.

Date of stay: December 2013
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
licyg
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing, couldn't have asked for a better place to bring in the new year.”
Reviewed 10 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

The house is lovely and the beach is your back garden! Was a great place to spend 4 days with your friends. Inside there is so much space to hang out with everyone, the bedrooms were all lovely and the beds were super comfy. A walk along the beach and beyond is a must - the views are amazing. Would definitely go back - 100% worth the drive.

Date of stay: December 2013
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.