We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Drovers Lodge(Drumnadrochit)
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$181
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Benleva Hotel(Drumnadrochit)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Achmony Lodges(Drumnadrochit)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
BCC Lochness Glamping(Drumnadrochit)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (449)
Filter reviews
449 results
Traveller rating
118
115
97
59
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
115
97
59
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloch nessexhibition centreboat tourhotel roomlocal attractionslong driveurquhart castlebistronessiehighlands
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 449 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2018

Despite the staff being willing and helpful and enjoying an excellent breakfast, we left feeling 'never again'. The property is dismal, very tired, and hugely overpriced for what it delivers. A free night stay? No thanks.

Room Tip: Request a room in the main hotel.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald M, Digital Marketing Graduate at Drumnadrochit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

We are very sorry to hear that you left with a negative impression of our hotel. We normally strive for an excellent customer experience and regret that, this time, we sorely missed the mark. We will take your feedback on board and work to improve in the future so that this does not happen again. All the best, Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018 via mobile

Crikey where do we start...
firstly the pictures the hotel put up of the nice rooms are a world away from what we got . We were in this old decayed building at the back that simply needs to be knocked down.
It’s badly maintained and clearly the hotel are not doing ANYTHING with the feedback from previous reviews- the photos we’ve put up are the same as photos from last year, this is a prime example of taking advantage of the tourists footfall and making such a poor impression on people that travel to Scotland of the standards they get in great places like Loch Ness.
The room was damp, mildew in the walks, the bathroom has a shower curtain from 1979, the tv is tiny, the heater was on wall with open screws etc from the previous heater- just no care or attention at all.
Checkout was also ridiculous- no one on reception- waiting for 10 mins, phoned reception- no answer- went looking for someone and when we found them they said “2 mins “ and turned up 10 mins later!!
They came to reception and made no apology, Just said what can I do for you!!! Never asked how was our stay, was everything ok. The snacks in the room were OUT OF DATE by 10 days.... I mean come on....
we didn’t eat in the bar due To standards in the hotel. Overall the room was not clean and we couldn’t wait to get out of there.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank lizzie101010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald M, Digital Marketing Graduates at Drumnadrochit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

We are very sorry to hear that you felt this way about your stay. Unfortunately, we do not own the building and, therefore, are limited in the renovations that we can make. However, all the annexe rooms are going to be upgraded within the near future with reference to previous reviews. The snacks in your room should have been replaced and we apologise for this, however, the date is a best before rather than use by date. We have made a note of all your comments and will work towards improving the guest experience for all future customers. All the best, Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018 via mobile

Good stuff: reasonably priced.

The hotel is tired and needing refurb. There is a lot of brown and beige if you remember the 70s and 80s.

The room was not really comfortable - we stayed 2 nights. We ran a bath. The hot water tap jammed open. Reported it to reception but nobody came. Reported to manager and he dealt with things promptly. Other reviews suggest things don’t always work - that was our experience.

The café is over priced probably. The bistro is very basic. Pasta was dreadful but the haddock and chips were very good.

If you want quality go for an early booked B&B. If you just want to find a room this place will do. They won’t kill you.

Stayed: May 2018
Thank Ecotrend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald M, Digital Marketing Graduate at Drumnadrochit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

We are very sorry to hear that you felt this way about your stay. We would like to thank you for bringing these issues to our attention and hope that you will consider staying again in the future. All the best, Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

Never again!
Old and decaying building round the back of the hotel needs to be pulled down IMHO.
Fair enough, it’s not the most expensive place to stay but even for mid range you’d expect a certain standard. I disliked the black mildew on the window frames and the peeling paper on the walls. It was a clean room but just lacking love. The bed was horrid and we had a really poor sleep. One towel was ripped and another had burn marks all over it. They should be thrown away surely!
We had already been advised not to eat dinner in the hotel so we avoided that. We did have breakfast which didn’t start until 8am. Quite late for those walkers wanting a quick getaway before a 20 mile hike to Inverness.
We’re staying at Fiddler’s Rest next time...equivalent price and looks a million times better.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank annemarieking6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald M, Digital Marketing Graduate at Drumnadrochit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

We're very sorry to hear about all the issues you encountered with your stay but would like to thank you for bringing them to our attention. We appreciate all feedback and will work towards improving in the future. All the best, Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

A warm welcome from friendly and professional receptionist, perfect Scottish breakfast with tasty coffee and super hot power showers. Apart from that, little to recommend it.
We were particularly dismayed to see the dilapidated annex building and bumpy beds.

We were walking the Great Glen and simply wanted a “frill free” place to stay overnight. I’m afraid they really shouldn’t be selling rooms of this standard. Heaven knows what overseas visitors conclude.

Investment needed as a priority!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Stu W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald M, Digital Marketing Graduate at Drumnadrochit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

We're sorry to hear that the negative aspects of your stay outweighed the positives. We have made a note of your feedback and will work towards improving in the future. All the best, Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews