We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid range quality”

Royal Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 6 Restaurants in Cromarty
Restaurant details
Reviewed 14 August 2021

Everything was a bit bland but served the purpose of providing dinner. I had a ‘vesta’ style curry. The artistic presentation was not matched by the quality of the food. Good quantities and therefore ok if that is your main requirement.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jcj425
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2021 via mobile

First night in Cromarty and eager to support local businesses. Good varied choice of food on the menu; we had sweet & sour chicken, lamb, beef burger and croquettes & chips. Everyone liked their choices and the portions were generous. My lager of choice was of course a lovely & fresh local blond. I would happily go back here for food or drink any time.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank BrawScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 October 2020

We got a warm welcome as we stepped inside out of the rain ... we were shown to a table in the conservatory. The menu is not huge but there’s enough choice, I went for grilled Haddock. It arrived quickly and was a plate full. Nothing special, but it was good, honest, tasty food. Unusually I had a lemon posset desert and it was very tasty, if expensive.

This is a homely establishment, with great service and nice food. Worth a visit if you visit Cromarty.

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank machinmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 September 2020

Fish n chips excellent, carrot cake excellent
Shame about staff who all seem unhappy, stressed and definitely no Scottish welcome. Not sure what’s going on there but customer service has to be paramount and a smile makes a huge difference. Covid adherence was excellent and spotlessly clean.

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank 283beverleyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 September 2020

The food is good but the service and personnel touch is sadly missing, we stayed 3 nights , the first two nights we ate in the conservatory overlooking the firth and watched the sunset, the third night we went to the conservatory again to find the table reserved, at no time did the staff indicate that we should reserve a specific table, when I queried why it wasn’t First come the manager was defensive and even a bit aggressive., not customer friendly , we then discovered that there we’re no shell fish at all despite the menus listing them, this in a hotel located by the Cromarty Firth. I believe the hotel may be up for sale, hardly a surprise

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank Dee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Royal Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Cromarty, Ross and Cromarty
Cromarty, Ross and Cromarty
 
Cromarty, Ross and Cromarty
Cromarty, Ross and Cromarty
 

Been to Royal Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.