We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Unst Nature Tour

Thanks to our wonderful guide Paul Harvey we had a brilliant day. We wanted to see Puffins, Ponies... read more

Reviewed yesterday
P4490HRbrendah
A magical day!

A wonderful day of Otter watching with James Rogerson. James was extremely knowledgeable about all... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Humphadook
via mobile
Read all 155 reviews
  
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
151
3
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
151
3
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mountain hares knowledgeable guide great company sumburgh head beautiful island hot drinks low tide safari tour bird colonies spent two days different places evening meal my mum amazing holiday sight seeing lucky with the weather bucket list
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2019

My wife and I did the full day Unst tour in July. We were met by our guide Dave and his partner (from Shetland Nature) at the ferry terminal who gave us an extensive and personal tour of the island - answering so many questions on history, geography and the environment, We were helped by a sunny day topping a baumy 20C degrees. We saw award winning miniature ponies, the bird colonies on the cliffs, met local farmers, viking settlements and bizarre golf courses from 'Unst' day. Lovely lunch with good company. Would thoroughly recommend to spend the money on a guide and let them show all there is to offer. Great and lasting memories of Shetland. Alas the otters were elusive that day - too hot for them. Shetland is truly a place to see and stay. Lovely people, restaurants and so much history to see.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2019

Outstanding day with Rob. Not the best time of year for birdwatching, but still much to see. He even found us some otters.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank C8485JTdavidj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2019

Our guide for the day, Gary, picked us up on time from our B & B and after the introductions discussed with us the best options for seeing wildlife. We took his advice on where we were likely to see the best wildlife and agred that Unst would be the best option. Gary was extemely easy to talk to. One of the things that really impressed us was use of WhatsApp to receive reports from other guides on wildlife sightings. He was very accomodating when it came to photography and made sure that I had the best viewpoints for shots.Gary's wildlife knowledge was encyclopaedic!

The highlights of our trip were seeing a Minkie Whale relatively close inshore and, having rendezvoused with another guide, the trouble that the pair of them went to so that we had a good sighting of a Rose Finch.

We will be returning to Shetland next summer and will certainly book another day trip with Shetland Nature with a view to visting Fetlar. We have been on other wildlife tours in other parts of the UK, but I can say in all sincerity that Shetland Nature beat the others hands down

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank mholla525842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2019

My mum and I had just 2 days together on the Island available to explore. We did not have a hire car, and wanted to see as much of the Island and its wildlife as possible. The trip is expensive, but worth every penny, as we would not have seen a tenth of what we did on the tour.
There was a force 9 gale and rain, but that just added to the intensity of the day.
Our guide John was fantastic and made us feel incredibly welcome.
We were able to see areas of the Mainland that we would never have seen or known about had it not been for the tour.
I cannot wait for a return visit, when I will certainly rebook.
Thank you for a wonderful day.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Clair L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2019

Shetland is a beautiful place, its wild open spaces are home to many bird species that are struggling to exist on the UK mainland, especially ground nesting birds, like Curlew, Snipe, Skylarks, oystercatchers Etc, due to the lack of intensive farming methods. You might also see some of the migratory visitors, like Red Necked Phalorope, Great Northern Diver, You can also see Otters at play by the shoreline during the daytime, often as you wait for a ferry, you might see one pass right by you. we have visiting Pods of Orca, Dolphins, Porpoise, and the Leviathans of the deep, the humpback whale, Shetlands landscape is to some, barren, due to the lack of trees, but there lyes the magic, Shetland is Peat capped Rock, The Peat soakes up the rain making it Green and lush, the plants that grow are mainly sub-arctic varieties, and if looked at closely enough, are quite beautiful,you see, shetland helps you to see the beauty of nature, and the history of the past, Theres no escaping it, its history be it Bronze Age, Viking, or whatever, the people that have lived on these Rocky Isles have lived with their environment, a lesson we all could learn from, in this current climate crisis. Shetland has a lot to teach us, it is an open book, which will soon be industrialised by foreign investors building massive wind farms, the millions of years of captured carbon in its peat will be destroyed by those developers, as for its resident and migratory birds, I hate to think what all those swirling turbine blades will do to them. not to mention the gentle folk of Shetland, who have had this imposed upon them, So I say, Come to Shetland now, see its wildlife, meet the kindly folk, breath the fresh salty air, feel the rays of golden sunlight, from the long summer evenings, and the Simmer Dim, before the flicker of the wind turbines, and the natural beauty of this place is, no more.

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank Graeme S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews