We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Unst Nature Tour

Thanks to our wonderful guide Paul Harvey we had a brilliant day. We wanted to see Puffins, Ponies... read more

Reviewed yesterday
P4490HRbrendah
A magical day!

A wonderful day of Otter watching with James Rogerson. James was extremely knowledgeable about all... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Humphadook
via mobile
Read all 155 reviews
  
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
151
3
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
151
3
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mountain hares knowledgeable guide great company sumburgh head beautiful island hot drinks low tide safari tour bird colonies spent two days different places evening meal my mum amazing holiday sight seeing lucky with the weather bucket list
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2019

My mum and I enjoyed our ‘Shetland Mainland – Sight Seeing & Safari Tour’ (day tour) immensely. Our guide Gary was very friendly, helpful and had so much knowledge of the wildlife, nature and history of Shetland. He really went out of his way to show us all that Shetland has to offer. The tour had a very nice pace. We were able to see many different places, but the tour did not feel rushed at all. For us the highlights of the tour were Eshaness, St Ninnians Isle and Sumburgh Head. It was the first time we were able to see puffins from up close and there were so many of them. Amazing! We will definitely not forget this trip. Next time I visit Shetland, I will without a doubt contact Shetland Nature for another tour!

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Marryen7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2019

Brydon met us at the Unst Ferry (after giving us detailed instructions on which ferries to take and when) and took us to look for otters in a lovely spot - although we didn't see them here (the tide wasn't quite right) we did see them later in the day. We spent most of the day birdwatching (*many* birds) in many different and learning about the island wildlife. Brydon was an excellent, knowledgeable guide. An excellent day on a beautiful island!

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2019

My wife and I did the full day Unst tour in July. We were met by our guide Dave and his partner (from Shetland Nature) at the ferry terminal who gave us an extensive and personal tour of the island - answering so many questions on history, geography and the environment, We were helped by a sunny day topping a baumy 20C degrees. We saw award winning miniature ponies, the bird colonies on the cliffs, met local farmers, viking settlements and bizarre golf courses from 'Unst' day. Lovely lunch with good company. Would thoroughly recommend to spend the money on a guide and let them show all there is to offer. Great and lasting memories of Shetland. Alas the otters were elusive that day - too hot for them. Shetland is truly a place to see and stay. Lovely people, restaurants and so much history to see.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2019

Outstanding day with Rob. Not the best time of year for birdwatching, but still much to see. He even found us some otters.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank C8485JTdavidj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2019

Our guide for the day, Gary, picked us up on time from our B & B and after the introductions discussed with us the best options for seeing wildlife. We took his advice on where we were likely to see the best wildlife and agred that Unst would be the best option. Gary was extemely easy to talk to. One of the things that really impressed us was use of WhatsApp to receive reports from other guides on wildlife sightings. He was very accomodating when it came to photography and made sure that I had the best viewpoints for shots.Gary's wildlife knowledge was encyclopaedic!

The highlights of our trip were seeing a Minkie Whale relatively close inshore and, having rendezvoused with another guide, the trouble that the pair of them went to so that we had a good sighting of a Rose Finch.

We will be returning to Shetland next summer and will certainly book another day trip with Shetland Nature with a view to visting Fetlar. We have been on other wildlife tours in other parts of the UK, but I can say in all sincerity that Shetland Nature beat the others hands down

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank mholla525842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews