We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not 4 star bedrooms.”
Review of The Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Reviewed 28 March 2015

Stayed for 1 night on the 26th,
When we arrived we were given room 35 which was very dark as the view from the window was a brick wall. We asked for an alternative room was advised that there wasn't but they could upgrade us to a deluxe room for an extra £30 we agreed and were given room 314. It was a lovely big corner room but it was not a double it was 2 single beds put together (not comfortable) there was 1 socket in the room at the dressing table but there was no mirror there, the mirror was on the back of the bathroom door which was at the other side of the room. Windows were old and in need of repair and there was an inch gap at the bottom of the door so could hear everyone out in the corridor quite clearly.
In the bar lounge a lot of the chairs were needing recovered.
On the plus side the food at the 2 fat ladies was delicious. The leisure facilities were great a lovely big pool with sauna steam room and jacuzzi. My husband and I both had a massage which was lovely and the staff were really nice. We did mention our concerns re the bedroom however they just smiled and apologised which was disappointing they weren't really interested or took note of our concerns. Considering we had paid for an upgrade and were happy to do so I definitely don't agree that the rooms are 4 star only the facilities.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Fee1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2015

Dear Fee1405,

I am sorry to read that you were unimpressed with your rooms on this occasion. Your feedback has been read carefully and discussed with my maintenance manager. It is great however to read that you enjoyed the leisure facilities, your beauty treatments and also your evening meal.

Thank you for leaving us a review. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Andrew Deighan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

741 - 745 of 2,153 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2015

Stayed one night on the 21/3/15 a few minor things I would complain about in our room but overall a lovely stay.staff were all very nice and helpfull and breakfast was nice.great place for coastal walking

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ann_lesrund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2015

Dear ann_lesrund,

I am pleased to read that despite a couple of niggles with your room that you had a pleasant stay here with us at the Marine Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We do hope to welcome you back next time you are visiting Troon.

Warm regards

Andrew Deighan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2015

Nice hotel with good food and service. Spoilt by a loud English louts foul language while drinking at the bar. Handy for walks into town or along the sea front. Quiet although we stayed mid week. Entertainment on at weekends.

Room Tip: Room 216 overlooking the Royal Troon 18th hole and on the the Clyde and hills of Arran
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2015

Dear brian s,

I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay here at the Marine Hotel in particular your dining experience and the customer service you received. I am sorry to learn that other guests spoilt the atmosphere for you on this occasion.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future

Kindest regards

Andrew Deighan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2015 via mobile

This hotel is amazing, amazing food, amazing service would definetely recommend and come back! And their prices are so low and you get so much more, had an amazing experience here! And honestly can't thank the staff enough for the amazing time I've had here

Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
Thank Keiran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2015

Dear Keiran B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review for the Marine Hotel in Troon.

I am pleased to hear you had an amazing time whilst staying with us and that everything was to your expectation.

Your compliments will be passed on to our staff members as I am sure they will be happy with your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable stay in the near future.

Kind Regards

Andrew Deighan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2015 via mobile

We stayed here as part of a deal which was great value for money. The hotel is great location and spectacular views. Staff were good too. The pillows on the first night were too hard and prevented sleep but this is preference and staff were quick to switch them with no problems. Food in hotel was superb on the evening but the afternoon tea was the worst I have ever had. Very little filling in the sandwiches and formed ham which I would not have expected. Small touches such as not removing all crusts kind if spoilt the experience too. The cakes were also disappointing and scones seemed prepacked. I was very disappointed given the high standard of food the night before. I would stay at hotel again but would avoid the afternoon tea if I were too book again.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Smalls1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2015

Dear Smalls1986,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am very pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay with us and found us great value for money. I am glad we were able to change your pillows as we will always try our best to accommodate any request.

It is disappointing to read your feedback regarding your afternoon tea. I do hope that you spoke with a member of staff whilst staying with us as we would have been happy to try and rectify any issues you may have had.

I do hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Andrew Deighan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
0.3 km away
Piersland House Hotel
7.5 km away
Western House Hotel
8.4 km away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#2 of 17 in Ayr
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
21.7 km away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
1,608 reviews
2.7 km away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Address: 8 Crosbie Road, Troon KA10 6HE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Price Range: $115 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marine Hotel Troon is a four-star luxury hotel overlooking the 18th hole of the Royal Troon golf course on the stunning Ayrshire coast, just 30 miles from Glasgow. With 89 bedrooms, including four suites and 12 deluxe rooms, it has magnificent views over the Firth of Clyde to the Isle of Arran and is the ideal location to explore Dundonald Castle, Dean Castle Country Park and Burns Cottage. With the new Truin restaurant, beautiful seaside location, and a brand new gym, swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room, it's the perfect place to unwind and get away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Troon
Marine Hotel Troon
Marine Troon
Hotel Marine Troon
The Marine Hotel Troon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing