We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,252)
Filter reviews
2,252 results
Traveller rating
954
683
328
171
116
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
954
683
328
171
116
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleisure facilitiestwo fat ladiesgolf coursesteam roomdeluxe roomspa treatmentsleisure cluban upgradesea viewafternoon teabar arearelaxing breakbirthday treatlovely hotelshort breakfirst classfantastic views
Filter
Updating list...
835 - 840 of 2,252 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2015

Lovely overnight stay as gift from family. Delicious meal and bottle of wine . Breakfast could have been better as bacon undercooked.
Mushrooms looked as if they were cooked a long time prior to serving.
Overall a nice hotel with efficient staff.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redarcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2015

Dear Redarcs,

What a lovely present! I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and evening meal here with us at the Marine hotel. I am however sorry to learn that the bacon and mushrooms let your breakfast down on this occasion. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future

Kindest regards

Andrew Deighan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2015

Highly rated hotel, lovely staff, lovely rooms, beautiful area. Was at this hotel with 5 couples and the meal in the restaurant was first class and enjoyed by all, as was the mornings breakfast. Breakfast was 7:30 to 10:30 and with a Checkout of 1pm we had plenty time.
I have been at this hotel many times and will be back.
Plenty car parking spaces and nice walks nearby.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank wemweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2015

Dear Wemweb,

Once again, thank you for leaving us your feedback. It is great to read that you continue to return time after time and always enjoy your visits.

See you soon.

Warm regards

Andrew Deighan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2015

Stayed for 1 night on the 26th,
When we arrived we were given room 35 which was very dark as the view from the window was a brick wall. We asked for an alternative room was advised that there wasn't but they could upgrade us to a deluxe room for an extra £30 we agreed and were given room 314. It was a lovely big corner room but it was not a double it was 2 single beds put together (not comfortable) there was 1 socket in the room at the dressing table but there was no mirror there, the mirror was on the back of the bathroom door which was at the other side of the room. Windows were old and in need of repair and there was an inch gap at the bottom of the door so could hear everyone out in the corridor quite clearly.
In the bar lounge a lot of the chairs were needing recovered.
On the plus side the food at the 2 fat ladies was delicious. The leisure facilities were great a lovely big pool with sauna steam room and jacuzzi. My husband and I both had a massage which was lovely and the staff were really nice. We did mention our concerns re the bedroom however they just smiled and apologised which was disappointing they weren't really interested or took note of our concerns. Considering we had paid for an upgrade and were happy to do so I definitely don't agree that the rooms are 4 star only the facilities.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Fee1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2015

Dear Fee1405,

I am sorry to read that you were unimpressed with your rooms on this occasion. Your feedback has been read carefully and discussed with my maintenance manager. It is great however to read that you enjoyed the leisure facilities, your beauty treatments and also your evening meal.

Thank you for leaving us a review. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Andrew Deighan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2015

Stayed one night on the 21/3/15 a few minor things I would complain about in our room but overall a lovely stay.staff were all very nice and helpfull and breakfast was nice.great place for coastal walking

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ann_lesrund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2015

Dear ann_lesrund,

I am pleased to read that despite a couple of niggles with your room that you had a pleasant stay here with us at the Marine Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We do hope to welcome you back next time you are visiting Troon.

Warm regards

Andrew Deighan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2015

Nice hotel with good food and service. Spoilt by a loud English louts foul language while drinking at the bar. Handy for walks into town or along the sea front. Quiet although we stayed mid week. Entertainment on at weekends.

Room Tip: Room 216 overlooking the Royal Troon 18th hole and on the the Clyde and hills of Arran
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2015

Dear brian s,

I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay here at the Marine Hotel in particular your dining experience and the customer service you received. I am sorry to learn that other guests spoilt the atmosphere for you on this occasion.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future

Kindest regards

Andrew Deighan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews