We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing hotel”
Review of The Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Marine Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Reviewed 30 March 2015

Great views dependent of room location but has great bars and restaurant with excellent . views of the sea and golf courses. Hotel room neat and tidy with no issues to report. Spa facilities were good with helpful staff on hand for guidance. All staff were helpful although looked slightly pressured behind bars at times. Food at the two fat ladies was excellent as was breakfast in the morning. Weather wasn't good but it didn't waste our time away. Would use again and recommend it.

Room Tip: room 38 had great view of see and golf course. Ask before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sanny929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2015

Dear Sanny929,

It is fantastic to read that you would both return and also happily recommend us.

Thank you for leaving us a review especially your kind comments regarding the views and friendly customer service and also your excellent evening meal.

See you next time

Warm regards

Andrew Deighan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

738 - 742 of 2,153 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2015

Lovely overnight stay as gift from family. Delicious meal and bottle of wine . Breakfast could have been better as bacon undercooked.
Mushrooms looked as if they were cooked a long time prior to serving.
Overall a nice hotel with efficient staff.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redarcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2015

Dear Redarcs,

What a lovely present! I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and evening meal here with us at the Marine hotel. I am however sorry to learn that the bacon and mushrooms let your breakfast down on this occasion. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future

Kindest regards

Andrew Deighan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2015

Highly rated hotel, lovely staff, lovely rooms, beautiful area. Was at this hotel with 5 couples and the meal in the restaurant was first class and enjoyed by all, as was the mornings breakfast. Breakfast was 7:30 to 10:30 and with a Checkout of 1pm we had plenty time.
I have been at this hotel many times and will be back.
Plenty car parking spaces and nice walks nearby.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank wemweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2015

Dear Wemweb,

Once again, thank you for leaving us your feedback. It is great to read that you continue to return time after time and always enjoy your visits.

See you soon.

Warm regards

Andrew Deighan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2015

Stayed for 1 night on the 26th,
When we arrived we were given room 35 which was very dark as the view from the window was a brick wall. We asked for an alternative room was advised that there wasn't but they could upgrade us to a deluxe room for an extra £30 we agreed and were given room 314. It was a lovely big corner room but it was not a double it was 2 single beds put together (not comfortable) there was 1 socket in the room at the dressing table but there was no mirror there, the mirror was on the back of the bathroom door which was at the other side of the room. Windows were old and in need of repair and there was an inch gap at the bottom of the door so could hear everyone out in the corridor quite clearly.
In the bar lounge a lot of the chairs were needing recovered.
On the plus side the food at the 2 fat ladies was delicious. The leisure facilities were great a lovely big pool with sauna steam room and jacuzzi. My husband and I both had a massage which was lovely and the staff were really nice. We did mention our concerns re the bedroom however they just smiled and apologised which was disappointing they weren't really interested or took note of our concerns. Considering we had paid for an upgrade and were happy to do so I definitely don't agree that the rooms are 4 star only the facilities.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Fee1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2015

Dear Fee1405,

I am sorry to read that you were unimpressed with your rooms on this occasion. Your feedback has been read carefully and discussed with my maintenance manager. It is great however to read that you enjoyed the leisure facilities, your beauty treatments and also your evening meal.

Thank you for leaving us a review. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Andrew Deighan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2015

Stayed one night on the 21/3/15 a few minor things I would complain about in our room but overall a lovely stay.staff were all very nice and helpfull and breakfast was nice.great place for coastal walking

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ann_lesrund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHotelCollection, General Manager at The Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2015

Dear ann_lesrund,

I am pleased to read that despite a couple of niggles with your room that you had a pleasant stay here with us at the Marine Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We do hope to welcome you back next time you are visiting Troon.

Warm regards

Andrew Deighan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troon
0.3 km away
Piersland House Hotel
7.5 km away
Western House Hotel
8.4 km away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#2 of 17 in Ayr
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
521 reviews
8.9 km away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
21.7 km away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marine Hotel

Address: 8 Crosbie Road, Troon KA10 6HE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Troon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Troon
Price Range: S$118 - S$259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marine Hotel Troon is a four-star luxury hotel overlooking the 18th hole of the Royal Troon golf course on the stunning Ayrshire coast, just 30 miles from Glasgow. With 89 bedrooms, including four suites and 12 deluxe rooms, it has magnificent views over the Firth of Clyde to the Isle of Arran and is the ideal location to explore Dundonald Castle, Dean Castle Country Park and Burns Cottage. With the new Truin restaurant, beautiful seaside location, and a brand new gym, swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room, it's the perfect place to unwind and get away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Troon
Marine Hotel Troon
Marine Troon
Hotel Marine Troon
The Marine Hotel Troon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing