We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit - good as remembered”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maryville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chilhowee Mountain Retreat
Ranked #2 of 5 Maryville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2017

Made another return trip to Eastern TN and stayed at my favorite Smoky Mountains B&B. Chilhowee is as good as I remembered. This log cabin home is tucked on a mountain top just above the state line. Jim and Mary are gracious and attentive hosts, providing tips on local hikes and restaurants, serving hearty breakfasts, or simply letting guests relax and enjoy themselves. Recommended for solos and couples, whether passing through or looking for a local getaway. Always find peace and relaxation when I come here. Can particularly recommend the Bear Room, south facing view over the ridges, jacuzzi hot tub, and very comfy bed. Already planning my next return visit.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2017

Brilliant place and would recommend to anyone. The Forest room was great, views stunning, the hosts highly accommodating and the breakfast fantastic. It's a bit of an adventure to get too, but follow their instructions and it is easy enough and frankly if it wasn't you would miss out on the glorious seclusion.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Forest room, with a private hot tub with great views over the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laurence N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

There is a reason why this is ranked as a #1 Bed & Breakfast. There is nothing left out that could make your experience any better. Jim & Mary (owners) have went above and beyond to make this the perfect B & B. The view is stunning, the drive up the mountain is spectacular, the breakfast is amazing. This B & B is so clean, the sheets are heavenly. Jim & Mary have directions to EVERYTHING National Park and surrounding. The porch & rockers just invite lingering and sipping your coffee in the am and a perfect place to just distress at the end of a touring day. They are considering selling this B & B after years in the business so book your trip there quickly!!!!

Room Tip: If you want a view go with the Bear Room...wake up to a Smokey Mountain picture every morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Showme_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

Chilhowee Mountain Retreat is truly a 5 star B & B. The innkeepers Jim & Mary have incorporated so many wonderful touches to make your stay unforgettable. The attention to detail is spot on. The beds are luxurious, the inn is immaculate, the soft music is soothing, the delicious breakfast & evening snacks are wonderful and the view is breathtaking. Jim & Mary are very knowledgeable about the surrounding areas and pointed us to some spectacular drives with beautiful scenery. We even enjoyed 6 " of snow when we visited giving us a beautiful white covering on the mountains. However, Jim and Mary had to come get us at the gate and bring us up to the B & B with the truck and chains. We had a wonderful experience and would love to visit again.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Goinbackagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017

We haven't given many 5 stars to b&b's in the past but Chilhowee is a joy to stay in and a pleasure to review. It's perfect!
Located at an elevation of 2,200 feet on Chilhowee mountain, the lodge style retreat has three guest rooms.
We stayed in the forest view room which is located in a separate building from the main house. Absolutely immaculate with a king size bed, we enjoyed the private deck, the two person outdoor hot tub, heated towels racks, high quality sheets, the "nibbles", and the wonderful log furniture.
Our innkeepers, Mary and Jim did everything they could to make our stay memorable. And their kindness continued after our stay when Jim and Mary went through the garbage to recover earrings I had thrown out!
If you want to experience log cabin living with spectacular mountain views, then Chilohowee is a MUST VISIT.
We will be back!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maryville
19.1 km away
Quality Inn Alcoa
Quality Inn Alcoa
#5 of 15 in Alcoa
155 reviews
15.8 km away
Luxbury Inn & Suites
Luxbury Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Maryville
119 reviews
12.8 km away
Sweetberries Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 km away
RT Lodge
RT Lodge
#3 of 5 in Maryville
22 reviews
19.5 km away
Dancing Bear Lodge
Dancing Bear Lodge
#1 of 10 in Townsend
623 reviews
13.3 km away
No photo provided
Mountain View Motel
#1 of 2 in Maryville
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chilhowee Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chilhowee Mountain Retreat

Address: 5110 Little Doubles Rd, Maryville, TN 37803-3516
Region: United States > Tennessee > Maryville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Maryville
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At an elevation of 2200 feet, bordering the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, Chilhowee Mountain Retreat provides a quiet, peaceful, comfortable bed and breakfast escape where you can enjoy the seclusion of the forest and the panoramic views of the Smoky Mountains. Enhance your stay with the Smoky Mountain Spa Experience which includes an in-room massage. Continue pampering yourself by relaxing in the two person air-jet tub enhanced with bath salts or aromatherapy. You may also choose to unwind in your in-room steam shower. Our luxurious log cabin home is perfect for a quiet, restful, romantic getaway. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing