We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Three Chimneys

The Three Chimneys
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Colbost
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$53 - US$145
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Three Chimneys Restaurant is one of Scotland's most iconic restaurants, set in a stunning location beside the sea in the north west corner of the Isle of Skye. Colbost is situated on the shores of Loch Dunvegan, a wide sea loch that opens into The Minch, the narrow stretch of sea between Skye and the Outer Hebrides. The views are stunning whatever the time of year. The Three Chimneys is famous for specialising in the freshest local produce including wonderful seafood from the immediate coastal waters. the restaurant has been owned by husband and wife, Eddie and Shirley Spear. The couple bought the traditional stone-walled croft house in 1984 and developed the business into what it is today, with an amazing worldwide reputation. The Three Chimneys has won countless awards and accolades. Head Chef, Scott Davies and his Brigade of young chefs are passionate about preparing and cooking the finest local ingredients. Waitrose Good Food Guide UK Restaurant of the Year 2018.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a lovely 3 course lunch here and both thought the food was great. High quality, fresh produce an great ideas/flavour combinations. Service was impeccable.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
passionatescot, Owner at The Three Chimneys, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you Neil F. Very pleased to know you had a great lunch. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,041)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 2,041 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The main issue is lack of atmosphere, character, and personality.

I’d guess at a mix of reasons: attracts a lot of silent couples for some reason, quiet music, too many staff (pacing or stood around), tense staff who’re too formal, decor probably not warm enough, etc.

Food was all high quality ingredients, and they’ve gone out of their way to source some great, local stuff. All components of a course were good, though too often the combinations were a bit off or there was too much trying to happen on one plate, for my taste at least.

Drinks all fantastic. Good wine list, and their own gin (made for them).

Very expensive price point that can’t be justified for the experience provided.

2  Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
passionatescot, Owner at The Three Chimneys, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you Matthew M. Interesting comments. Every day is different of course and every day is a combination of different people. Sorry if you found it all a bit "underwhelming" on the day that you dined with us, but pleased you found the food, wine and drinks all reasonably enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a restaurant on our Bucket list and in the main didn't disappoint . The food was exquisite . We chose the 3 course menu and all of the choices of our 4 person group were excellent . Some good value wine choices as well as high end .
Our only criticism would be around the service at the beginning of our evening . It was a bit 'ordinary' for a place of this standard and price but once we had ordered and the food started arriving the service was attentive , professional and friendly and we left feeling delighted that we went .

Thank ian f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
passionatescot, Owner at The Three Chimneys, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you ian f. We are very pleased that you and your party enjoyed your meal with us at The Three Chimneys.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We celebrated out 38th wedding anniversary with dinner at this wonderful restaurant. The food was delicious and locally sourced, with the emphasis on seafood (naturally). The staff could not be more welcoming and friendly. They also went out of their way to congratulate us personally and ensure that we had the best experience possible. We particularly loved the fresh oysters served dressed or natural and also the langoustines were exceptional. A very memorable evening.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
passionatescot, Owner at The Three Chimneys, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you Jenny G. We are very pleased you chose to celebrate your anniversary with us and had a memorable evening. Thank you for your lovely review and for taking time to post it. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked lunch at the Three Chimneys to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The food, wine and service were faultless, we thoroughly enjoyed every aspect. Even the relatively simple things like their 3 home-made breads and flavoured butters were unbelievably delicious. Virtually all of the food is sourced locally on Skye and was full of flavour. Our waitress was lovely and really added to our enjoyment of the meal. It was a special meal to remember, we just wish we didn't live 600 miles away!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Rosepink22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
passionatescot, Owner at The Three Chimneys, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely comments and compliments. We hope you will make a return journey one day in the future! perhaps if Skye gets its airport, we will not feel quite so far away. Happy travelling!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Three Chimneys also viewed

 
Uig, Isle of Skye
Portree, Isle of Skye
 

Been to The Three Chimneys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing