We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$147
View deal
Free cancellation until 23/10/21
FindHotel
US$140
View deal
Free cancellation until 24/10/21
Expedia.comUS$146
Trip.comUS$170
ZenHotels.comUS$205
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,133)
Filter reviews
1,133 results
Traveller rating
634
309
122
36
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
634
309
122
36
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seafood restaurant scallops stunning views sea bass loch linnhe bar menu cooked to perfection hotel restaurant dining room long weekend lovely location lovely room biscuits haggis yogurt balcony sauna
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,133 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2021

Stayed here in August fir 4 night, and couldn't of been any more disappointed fir the four figure sum I paid. Booked the deluxe suite to be given only what can be described as an out dared standard room with missing amenities, also advertised as sound proof rooms when clearly are they are not. I tried to speak to management and owners from the day of check go the day we left and was still dealing with it when I returned to England. Customer Service and communication utterly shocking. Was finally contacted by owner to be offered £300 refund . This hotel is definitely not worth what they charge, yes the views are amazing but you can get those from staying in a tent .
Avoid and save your money

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Vicky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 September 2021

Having heard really good things about the Holly Tree I was excited to dine here for dinner, unfortunately I was thoroughly disappointed with almost the whole experience.

We arrived and were greeted by a lovely gentleman on the bar sadly did not catch his name as he was by far one of the only good things about this experience. We had drinks before our meal as we had arrived early, lovely little bar area however I was very unimpressed with the service I observed from one of your waitresses (young girl with very long red hair) as someone who works in hospitality I found it extremely unhygienic that hair of this length was not tied back. We then watched the same girl be quite blunt and frankly very rude to some customers who had come in for their dinner reservation. Not the best impression at all.

Now on to the food. We ordered Oysters and Scallops to start followed by the Duck and the Seafood Rendezvous. The oysters smelt concerning when they arrived not fresh at all and upon trying they were not shucked properly and full of shell. Presentation of the scallops looked like it had been plated by a 5 year old with blobs of warm crème fraiche on the sides. Our starters were taken away and within a matter of minutes the mains arrived. The duck is described on the menu as served rare, it was medium at best. Why state that it will be served a certain way if it is not?? Would it not make more sense to just ask customers how they would like it cooked if you can't get it right every time. The seafood rendezvous arrived and looked less than appetizing. I have to say that the mussels were lovely but that was it. The salmon and scallops came in what can only be described as a mac and cheese sauce. The tiger prawns were not available that evening which we were told about when ordering which is fine but surely you should substitute them with something else or take money off the price of the dish no?? and again there was the oysters which we didn't dare touch for all the pieces of shell floating around and the fear or a very upset stomach.

We ate our food as we were hungry it was late by this point and knew we would not get food anywhere else and did not want to risk sending it back to be disappointed further.

We then opted for a cheese board to finish as surely you can't mess up something as simple as this?? Wrong. The dish is advertised as coming with an 'Orkney cheddar, Hebridean Blue and Brie' well it was blue murder that was on the plate, still a nice cheese but not what is advertised.

We asked a gentleman waiter to check with the chef when the oysters came in only to be told straight away that they came in fresh everyday. Not satisfied with that we asked another waitress to do the same and she went away and came back to let us know they had come in the day before. Quite concerning to have two different answers when it comes to seafood.

When paying our bill we did let a young waitress know our thoughts on everything especially with our bill being over £100 and she was lovely and I understand for the food side it is completely not the servers fault as they only serve what the kitchen makes. I am only writing this review to advise others as there are plenty of other places in the area with a much higher standard of food for the price you pay.

I would not recommend the Holly Tree and I would sadly not return.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Service
Thank E8909CBlaurar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 September 2021

Great location for visiting mull and other amenities breakfast was a buffet poor selection to start cold plates for breakfast should have been served to everyone because of covid not everyone touching everything bedrooms should have been serviced if they were going to let things lapes in the dinning room will not be back

Room tip: Don't bother
Date of stay: August 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S9280UMrobertb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 September 2021

Spectacular lochside position on Loch Linnhe with amazing views and restaurant and beer garden overlooking the small harbour, looking across the sea loch to Inversanda. Excellent rooms with glass floor to ceiling sliding doors opening opening onto small balcony where the view is to die for. Comfy big double bed and very good, large bathroom with big shower. Seafood Restaurant first class. Try the fresh Hebridean oysters, followed by Moules Mariniere, washed down with a bottle of Sancerre! Brilliant. Nice swimming pool and Jacuzzi. At £324 a night, even in August, a little over-priced for a 3-star hotel! Also, pile of dirty towels and laundry left lying in top floor passageway for entire stay was disappointing.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank LONGJOHNSILVERSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 August 2021 via mobile

What a fabulous setting. Right by the loch with stunning views. Booked for an evening meal. Greeted by staff. Extremely friendly staff. Food was amazing and big portions. Seating was well spaced. Atmosphere is great. But pricey but worth every penny. Parking great. Would highly recommend this place

Room tip: Booking is advisable
Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SUE E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews