We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (843)
Filter reviews
843 results
Traveller rating
523
166
96
39
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
523
166
96
39
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews drawing room loch awe single track road boat shed off the beaten track dining room walled garden loch view public rooms the main house antique furniture country house hotel remote location passing places mile drive set menu clay pigeon shooting
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 843 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2021

What an idyllic setting - rural, rustic, peaceful and wild! The staff were amazing. Chris and Maxine could not have done more to make our stay comfortable. Wonderful food without exception and excellent table service. Glorious drawing room with wonderful views over the loch. What a shame all of this was undermined by the Manager's statement that daily room service was limited due to Covid. We were told we could request daily room servicing but when we did this did not happen until we raised it with delightful Maxine who then very kindly serviced the room whilst we were having dinner. To be paying that amount without daily room service was extremely disappointing and in our view not acceptable. We were on a well earned holiday and did not expect to have to make our bed or clean the bathroom. Sadly this dampened out stay which in all other respects was outstanding thanks to the calibre of the staff.

Room tip: Choose. room with a garden or loch view
Date of stay: September 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 66tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christine fox, Owner at Ardanaiseig Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2021

D|ear Tony,

Thank you for your review,

It is still quite common in hotels to suspend room servicing due to COVID - for context NHS Highland has top ten cases in Europe based on population and available space. Also Argyll and Bute cases while coming down at present, has the highest rate since the beginning of the pandemic. Having spoken to a few colleagues in other hotels they too are offering the same level of service. As quested your room was light serviced each day and you received full service every 3 days

This is in place to protect both our staff and fellow guests in line with our risk assessments which have been discussed with our local council. Im sorry this left a dampener on your stay but until the level is much lower in Scotland this is not something we are willing to deviate from. The last thing we or the team want is to have to shut down or worst have staff contract COVID.

I am however glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay and I'll make sure the team is aware of your feedback

Best

Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2021 via mobile

Wow wow wow. The owners and Managers of this hotel have created a timeless masterpiece.

Ardanaiseig is tucked well away on the shores of Loch Awe over looking Ben Chruachan, about 18 miles south of Oban. It is a stunning drive and the extra mileage will be rewarded with close encounters with wildstags bats and stunning owls at dusk.

The nearest large village is Taynauilt although the wonderful Kilchrenan Inn is a couple of miles down the way and another worthy spot for food.

So you'll arrive to a beautiful old house where time stands still. The entrance is full of wellies for wonderful walks and awards to showcase the achievements & accolades over recent years.

The staff are warm and genuine and they really want you to have a classic stay at their gorgeous home from home.

The grand salon is full of objects da, a grand piano, tired artworks and if you're lucky to arrive in daylight, the most stunning serene view . There can be no price for such wonder and idyllic beauty.

You will be shown to your room and offered help with your luggage. You'll have an old fashioned environmentally friendly key..no plastic key cards required!

My room was very well appointed. Lots of nice touches from this experienced hotel team. Lovely bathroom products, robes, fluffy towels and a real comfort so often lost in many modern hotels.

There may be a few cracks or marks here or there but this hotel is over 200 years old. You're staying in history and for that, you need to accept it's quirks and marks of days gone by.

The restaurant is equally charming. Very comfortable, non stuffy and typically busy with couples also enjoying the remote beauty this place affords.

The menu is table d hote and showcases the talented kitchen brigade and local produce a plenty. It's £42 for dinner and this represents excellent value for such an intimate dining experience overlooking the gardens and loch beyond.

The bar is small but perfectly formed and you're likely to chat with other relaxed and satisfied guests all admiring the way things are done around here.

No power showers, huge LCD TVs, furniture that would be better placed in the 'Guggenheim', just traditional proper first class genuine warm & caring hospitality delivered by the Scott's as only they can. Slow WiFi is a given...it's remote and who wants to be on their phone when in such amazing surroundings with the love of your life

The grounds and area are just incredible and if it's a clear night you'll have a wonderful view of the expansive night Skye to echos of owls and rutting deer.

To end you'll have to enjoy the Scottish Breakfast, all cooked perfectly to order and with Stornoway Black Pudding and Scotch pancakes....you'll be so well fed and pampered you'll wish you'd booked a further night.

Take the extra drive out of Oban and discover the best secret in Argyll.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank GO_Ghillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 September 2021

Our blissful stay at the Ardanaiseig Hotel will be engrained in our memories forever. Simply wonderful is the only way to describe this idyllic hotel. The hotel has all the charms of a period stately home, with antique furnishings throughout and is situated on the picturesque Loch Awe; which makes for the most romantic weekend ever. The staff were simply the best. They aim to not only serve to provide the ultimate hotel experience but they go above and beyond to embrace you as part of their heritage and family. The restaurant & dinner, fairy tale garden strolls, drinking champagne overlooking the Loch and rooms were sublime. We will be coming back every year if we can. A memory to cherish. Christine the hotel manager was the most unbelievably helpful hotel manager we had ever come across and now a friend. Can't thank you enough Christine. See you soon Ardanaiseig and thank you for being perfect just the way you are.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Y6541AAomarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 September 2021

My husband and I went for a break around the north west of Scotland and this was the second place we stayed. The hotel itself has the most incredible exterior and the setting on loch awe is second to none. However the boathouse where we stayed was not as expected, and design wise is totally at odds with the aesthetic of the actual hotel. Instead of feeling like a special couples house, it felt like a bit of an afterthought. Oddly they provided hair conditioner but no shampoo or hand soap. It needed a clean and redesign. The hotel service (dinner etc) was only OK. All in all you’re paying for the setting.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lookcloserhealing64
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christine fox, Owner at Ardanaiseig Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2021

Thank you for your review, the Boat House is very much an afterthought, as it was built much later and designed much later than the hotel. Specifically to give it a much brighter and modern feel.

Im very surprised to read you felt service was just OK

I will raise your points with relevant people in the hotel and thank you very much for your feedback

Best

Christine Fox
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2021

You won't go hungry at Ardanaiseig! The food was absolutely delicious, but we had some issues with the service. We were not told in advance that we needed to book activities (the website only indicates that 1 of the activities needed to be booked in advance), which we learned when we arrived (we were told as if it was obvious). At that point, I would have expected that the staff might have helped us inquire about whether it would be possible to book something (setting no expectations that it would be possible); however, the staff didn't do this which I thought was bizarre (never hurts to ask, right?!). What we were able to reserve were two bikes; however, when we went to ride the bikes, 3 of the 4 bikes were completely missing brakes (e.g., brake handle had fallen off the bike, brake pads missing, etc.), so we had to change our plan for the entire day last minute. When we notified the staff about this, their response was that a "family of four used the bikes yesterday." Again, I thought this was a strange response given that the bikes clearly had no brakes (and perhaps the family had broken them or didn't find themselves needing brakes?). Overall, it was a bizarre experience given the reputation of the hotel.

I do want to mention that we had a phenomenal bartender, Chris, for evening cocktails. Evening drinks were definitely a highlight of our stay as a result!

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RebeccaS_Reviews123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christine fox, Owner at Ardanaiseig Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2021

Thank you for your feedback, Im very surprised to read about the service - I will feed this back but looking at the reviews this is far from the experience of other guests. I would say that you did stay with us during 'high season' so most thing were booked out, Im sorry if this was not communicated you to.

Regarding the bikes we are very disappointed that the bikes were treated with such disregard by other guests - so much so this is no longer a free amenity to guests as they are less than a year old and had no such issues until relatively recently.

We do thank you for your feedback and will make sure to raise this with relevant persons in the hotel

And we will make sure Chris has your feedback also

Best

Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews