We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (712)
Filter reviews
712 results
Traveller rating
603
67
29
11
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
603
67
29
11
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loch sunart drawing room tasting menu dog friendly hotel amuse bouche pre dinner drinks venison small hotel window seat dining room beautiful location superb food homemade shortbread cooked to perfection three nights warm welcome local area
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 712 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2021 via mobile

The food, the location, the rooms - all excellent. But what really stood out were the members of the team. Everybody was positive and enthusiastic, there was no sense of dictated routine or forced adherence to a set of standards. They just wanted you to have the best stay possible.
From the chef who prepared a gluten free menu every day (and typed it up for me) to the genius idea of an overblanket on the bed thus avoiding the paranoia of dog footprints, attention to detail was perfect. A special mention to the front-of-house team as, even though they were under pressure, managed to give the impression that they had all the time in the world for every single customer.
I have worked with hospitality trainers for 30 years and can tell you that this level of relaxed but attentive service is extremely difficult to achieve.
Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable!

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mwflanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 August 2021

nice position and room.We went for michelin standard food and started with 2 different glasses of white wine. Both warm. When sent back we were tole that only half the fridge was working !!!!! We then had a meal that consisted of good ingredients and tasteless sauce. Again we commented and discovered that the michelin chef /owner had sold and left the week before. we were also told that the existing chef had worked for the michelin chef as tho that would mean the same quality. unfortunately not. In 9 different restaurants on our trip this was bothe the most expensive ( £65 for 3 course plus wine )

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patbrownet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavlina M, General Manager at Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2021

Dear patbrownet,

Thank you for taking your time and sharing your review with us.

Our Head Chef Gary has been with us for over 10 years now, and as well both halves of our wine fridge are working perfectly. Judging by your previous Tripadvisor review, which is almost the same as the one you left for us, I believe you have mistaken the venue.

If you are at any time passing through Strontian or you are planning a visit to Ardnamurchan, we will be very happy to welcome you at Kilcamb Lodge Hotel.

Kind regards
Pavlina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2021

We stayed in Room 11 as when we booked the hotel we had a dog who has subsequently passed away. The room was very cosy and ideal if you have pets as it is right by the fire escape.

The views are outstanding and the grounds are perfect for dogs.

Breakfasts were a joy. The food was beautifully prepared and the service was excellent.

Evening meals were delightful. My partner had special dietary requests and she was provided with her own menu. The replacement main course one night was fillet of beef in a whisky and peppercorn sauce with truffled potatoes. Quite simply an outstanding dish!

Room tip: Request a view of the loch
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Tourist814747
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 July 2021

Had a lovely stay at the Kilcamb. Never stayed here before and we were not disappointed. The staff were wonderful and nothing was too much trouble. We were made really welcome and very safe with all the Covid prevention's in place. Blessed with good weather too and no midges so happy all round we experienced the area at its best.
The food is just beautiful, tasty, cooked to perfection and professionally served buy the small team. My only disappointment was the room. We were in room 11 and although the bathroom was modern and clean and the bed very comfortable, the furniture in the room was terribly shabby and looked well beyond its sell by date. The fire escape door and the one below were banged shut on numerous occasions in the evening rattling the whole room which was a shame. Also the smoking area below could be "experienced" too at times. Overall a lovely friendly place but I don't think room 11 should be at such a high rate per night.

Room tip: Wouldn't recommend room 11 , worth paying for a front facing room.
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B Grzeda, Owner at Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2021

Dear Sian B,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback from your recent stay with us.
We are very happy to read that your first stay at Kilcamb was enjoyable, we do hope it wont be the last.
We will review your comments about the furtnire in the room, and we do hope to welcome you back with us in the future.

Kind regards,

Barbara & Raymond



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2021 via mobile

A disappointing and expensive visit for dinner. We had heard rave reviews of the 5 course tasting menu so we booked for our last night on Ardnamurchan. Sadly it was distinctly average, and cost £153 (including a £33 bottle of wine). One of the 5 courses is tea or coffee which isn’t really a course, in my view. The starter and main course were both a selection of fish - nice but not very imaginative in an area where we’d enjoyed some wonderful fish over the previous week. Dessert was a rather stodgy chocolate pudding which I didn’t finish. Unheard of for me and chocolate! Finally, the atmosphere was poor. We were seated in the brasserie which is also the bar. It appeared that residents of Kilcamb were placed in other areas to dine and were the priority. We were alone in this deathly quiet room and when we asked if we could sit outside for pre dinner drinks to enjoy the stunning views and warm evening, were told we couldn’t as it would delay the kitchen. We were early for our booked time for dinner and a friendlier response would have been appropriate. Our conclusion was that the recent change of ownership may have led to a deterioration in standards. The meal was nice, but no more and not worthy of the ratings.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Laskarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B Grzeda, Owner at Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2021

Dear Laskarina,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

We have reviewed your comments with the team as we were disappointed to read your review about your recent experience with us. Just to clarify few points that you have mentioned, the tasting menu you have booked for is indeed a 5 course menu which includes amuse bouche, starter, intermediate, main and dessert. All of the dishes are listed on the menu provided on the day. The tea/coffee, with homemade petit fours, is served as additional after your 5th course; we also provide complimentary freshly baked homemade bread.

I am sorry to hear that the atmosphere was poor for you, unfortunately we should have group of 7 dining in the brasserie on the same evening as you, however they had to cancel at the last minute, and we were unable to fill the empty tables in the brasserie at such a short notice. If we had space for you in the restaurant we would have most definitely looked into moving you, unfortunately it was already fully booked prior to your booking.

With regards to pre dinner drinks, your table was booked for 6:15pm, and as you arrived just on time, you were explained that because it was a busy night you delaying your dinner would push the kitchen back which would then affect other guests dining with us. In the future you are more than welcome to arrive prior to your booked dinner time if you wish to enjoy pre dinner drinks.

I can assure you that the change of the ownership has not led to deterioration in standards here at The Kilcamb as except for the owners, nothing else has changed.

We do hope we will get another chance to welcome you back with us in the future.

Kind regards,

Barbara & Raymond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews