We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline
StayForLong
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 5 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (712)
Filter reviews
712 results
Traveller rating
603
67
29
11
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
603
67
29
11
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loch sunart drawing room tasting menu dog friendly hotel amuse bouche pre dinner drinks venison small hotel window seat dining room beautiful location superb food homemade shortbread cooked to perfection three nights warm welcome local area
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 712 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2021 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights at the end of July, which was a rearranged trip from my 40th last year. It exceeded our expectations! We both love our food and the tasting menu each night was just wonderful. Their chef kindly altered a course for me, as I'm not fan of mushrooms, and the replacement dish was delicious and nothing seemed too much trouble. Their adaptions for Covid were really well explained and executed. We particularly enjoyed our second evening dining in the main restaurant. And having coffee in the lounge was very luxurious after dinner. We'd recommend room 6, it had a wonderful window seat with a direct view over the loch. Our only regret was not booking 3 nights! The shower could run cold, which we reported and were told it linked to an old boiler problem. Full credit to their team, particularly the two ladies running front of house, their service was impeccable.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jane4321Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 August 2021 via mobile

The food, the location, the rooms - all excellent. But what really stood out were the members of the team. Everybody was positive and enthusiastic, there was no sense of dictated routine or forced adherence to a set of standards. They just wanted you to have the best stay possible.
From the chef who prepared a gluten free menu every day (and typed it up for me) to the genius idea of an overblanket on the bed thus avoiding the paranoia of dog footprints, attention to detail was perfect. A special mention to the front-of-house team as, even though they were under pressure, managed to give the impression that they had all the time in the world for every single customer.
I have worked with hospitality trainers for 30 years and can tell you that this level of relaxed but attentive service is extremely difficult to achieve.
Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable!

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mwflanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 August 2021

nice position and room.We went for michelin standard food and started with 2 different glasses of white wine. Both warm. When sent back we were tole that only half the fridge was working !!!!! We then had a meal that consisted of good ingredients and tasteless sauce. Again we commented and discovered that the michelin chef /owner had sold and left the week before. we were also told that the existing chef had worked for the michelin chef as tho that would mean the same quality. unfortunately not. In 9 different restaurants on our trip this was bothe the most expensive ( £65 for 3 course plus wine )

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patbrownet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavlina M, General Manager at Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2021

Dear patbrownet,

Thank you for taking your time and sharing your review with us.

Our Head Chef Gary has been with us for over 10 years now, and as well both halves of our wine fridge are working perfectly. Judging by your previous Tripadvisor review, which is almost the same as the one you left for us, I believe you have mistaken the venue.

If you are at any time passing through Strontian or you are planning a visit to Ardnamurchan, we will be very happy to welcome you at Kilcamb Lodge Hotel.

Kind regards
Pavlina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2021

We stayed in Room 11 as when we booked the hotel we had a dog who has subsequently passed away. The room was very cosy and ideal if you have pets as it is right by the fire escape.

The views are outstanding and the grounds are perfect for dogs.

Breakfasts were a joy. The food was beautifully prepared and the service was excellent.

Evening meals were delightful. My partner had special dietary requests and she was provided with her own menu. The replacement main course one night was fillet of beef in a whisky and peppercorn sauce with truffled potatoes. Quite simply an outstanding dish!

Room tip: Request a view of the loch
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Tourist814747
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 July 2021

Had a lovely stay at the Kilcamb. Never stayed here before and we were not disappointed. The staff were wonderful and nothing was too much trouble. We were made really welcome and very safe with all the Covid prevention's in place. Blessed with good weather too and no midges so happy all round we experienced the area at its best.
The food is just beautiful, tasty, cooked to perfection and professionally served buy the small team. My only disappointment was the room. We were in room 11 and although the bathroom was modern and clean and the bed very comfortable, the furniture in the room was terribly shabby and looked well beyond its sell by date. The fire escape door and the one below were banged shut on numerous occasions in the evening rattling the whole room which was a shame. Also the smoking area below could be "experienced" too at times. Overall a lovely friendly place but I don't think room 11 should be at such a high rate per night.

Room tip: Wouldn't recommend room 11 , worth paying for a front facing room.
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B Grzeda, Owner at Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2021

Dear Sian B,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback from your recent stay with us.
We are very happy to read that your first stay at Kilcamb was enjoyable, we do hope it wont be the last.
We will review your comments about the furtnire in the room, and we do hope to welcome you back with us in the future.

Kind regards,

Barbara & Raymond



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews