We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
eDreams
Booking.com
Priceline
StayForLong
Agoda.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (709)
Filter reviews
709 results
Traveller rating
600
67
29
11
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
600
67
29
11
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loch sunart drawing room tasting menu dog friendly hotel amuse bouche pre dinner drinks venison small hotel dining room window seat beautiful location superb food homemade shortbread cooked to perfection three nights warm welcome local area
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 709 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2021

The staff are lovely, helpful and hard working, the food very good and a wonderful setting. But, sadly the hotel is tired and much in need of a refresh. Our room was comfortable but dated, several things didn’t work, and the bath was none to clean. The website and price raised our expectations to a level which sadly the reality did not meet.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SotonGirl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 September 2021 via mobile

Apparently Kilcamb Lodge was good in the past, if hotel awards and restaurant awards are to be taken seriously. Unfortunately, an ownership change coupled with pandemic impacts have left this establishment seriously failing at a very, very high price point.

A positive is that the location and Loch views from the large, very dog friendly front lawn are spectacular. Another positive is that the bulk of the staff are very help and friendly.

The list of negatives is far, far too long for a hotel charging almost gbp400/night for the room alone. As a comparison, Kinloch Lodge is a top class effort and result at a similar, if not less expensive, price. This hotel is seriously mis-priced for what is offers today.

So here goes ... The rooms are stale at best and ratty in reality. Very few rooms have anything approaching a loch or mountain view due to the bizarre construction of the building. At least Rooms #10 and #11 both overlook the parking lot and are located above the active kitchen with its accompanying noise and cooking smells. The manager of the hotel is a shocker. Nowhere in Pavlina's vocabulary were the words "I am sorry, there must have been some mixup with your reservation, but do not worry, we will do our best to sort out your needs". When confronted with a check-in situation, she was nothing short of unhelpful with a touch of animosity about her ways. It is obvious and a fact that she lacks the demeanor and skills to handle such hospitality. Her reactions and actions were appalling. Moving on from Pavlina, unfortunately, the first five course, and £65 per head, tasting menu dinner was just awful. Dish after dish was bland at best. There was none of the promised fresh seafood. It was as if Gary, the reknowned chef, was absent or worse. The breakfast, which is hard to mess up, equalled the quality of dinner, amazingly. I am happy to say the the a la carte menu and breakfast were a large improvement to acceptable the following night and morning, but nowhere near the standards of the awards previously given and touted on the website.

We understand that an ownership change into a pandemic was a real challenge, but to say that you should stay away until, and if, New ownership can refurbish rooms and refresh the food and staff would be an understatement.

For these prices and even at half the price, the experience here is horrendous. Your time, money, and appetites can be satisfied in many other lovely and well run Scottish establishments elsewhere.

Room tip: Stay away until it improves.
Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B Grzeda, Owner at Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2021

Dear Kevin C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are sorry to read that your recent stay with us wasnt up to your expectations. The Team here at Kilcamb is nothing less than polite and professional hence our suprise when we read your comments. Gary's food is well known and respected by our guests as it is easily reflected in our 600 excellent reviews.
On arrival in the hotel it became aparent that you have made a mistake on your booking and failed to let us know that you are bringing a baby with you, which we have rectified for you, however you were clearly upset and blamed Pavlina for your mistake, when all she was trying to do is fix it for you. We can understand your frustration at the time but in no way should that be an excuse for your abusive bevaviour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2021 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights at the end of July, which was a rearranged trip from my 40th last year. It exceeded our expectations! We both love our food and the tasting menu each night was just wonderful. Their chef kindly altered a course for me, as I'm not fan of mushrooms, and the replacement dish was delicious and nothing seemed too much trouble. Their adaptions for Covid were really well explained and executed. We particularly enjoyed our second evening dining in the main restaurant. And having coffee in the lounge was very luxurious after dinner. We'd recommend room 6, it had a wonderful window seat with a direct view over the loch. Our only regret was not booking 3 nights! The shower could run cold, which we reported and were told it linked to an old boiler problem. Full credit to their team, particularly the two ladies running front of house, their service was impeccable.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jane4321Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 August 2021 via mobile

The food, the location, the rooms - all excellent. But what really stood out were the members of the team. Everybody was positive and enthusiastic, there was no sense of dictated routine or forced adherence to a set of standards. They just wanted you to have the best stay possible.
From the chef who prepared a gluten free menu every day (and typed it up for me) to the genius idea of an overblanket on the bed thus avoiding the paranoia of dog footprints, attention to detail was perfect. A special mention to the front-of-house team as, even though they were under pressure, managed to give the impression that they had all the time in the world for every single customer.
I have worked with hospitality trainers for 30 years and can tell you that this level of relaxed but attentive service is extremely difficult to achieve.
Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable!

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mwflanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 August 2021

nice position and room.We went for michelin standard food and started with 2 different glasses of white wine. Both warm. When sent back we were tole that only half the fridge was working !!!!! We then had a meal that consisted of good ingredients and tasteless sauce. Again we commented and discovered that the michelin chef /owner had sold and left the week before. we were also told that the existing chef had worked for the michelin chef as tho that would mean the same quality. unfortunately not. In 9 different restaurants on our trip this was bothe the most expensive ( £65 for 3 course plus wine )

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patbrownet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavlina M, General Manager at Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2021

Dear patbrownet,

Thank you for taking your time and sharing your review with us.

Our Head Chef Gary has been with us for over 10 years now, and as well both halves of our wine fridge are working perfectly. Judging by your previous Tripadvisor review, which is almost the same as the one you left for us, I believe you have mistaken the venue.

If you are at any time passing through Strontian or you are planning a visit to Ardnamurchan, we will be very happy to welcome you at Kilcamb Lodge Hotel.

Kind regards
Pavlina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews