We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
St. Ebba B & B(Rothesay)(Great Value!)
US$74
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ardyne(Rothesay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Argyle House(Rothesay)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
13
12
6
5
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
12
6
5
9
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Staff very welcoming and coped well with extremely busy lunch service. Very extensive menu with good range of daily specials too. All dishes served were quite large portions but managed to eat everything - had a lovely selection of desserts but unfortunately unable to sample these. Extremely reasonably priced. Décor a bit dated but a great view from the front windows.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

Just back from three days on Bute, visited all three days, twice for late lunch / early evening meal and once for an evening meal.

The staff are extremely friendly and welcoming. Nothing is too much effort and they are very accommodating.

The food is of a constant high standard, the building is a little tired but then the food makes up for that.

Children made to feel welcome and the kids menu had ample choice.

The home made steak pie and gammon stake can be highly recommended.

We will definitely visit on our next trip to the island.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Graeme G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016

Stopped in with my cousins while visiting the Isle. The place was busy and had a great atmosphere to it. We were seated quickly, had a nice view outside. The staff is quick, friendly and very helpful. The menu has a very nice selection of items. Very reasonable pricing. We had a special fish supper, haggis, neeps and tattis that were out of this world good. Very nice place, will return one day.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2016

We visited the Esplanade for lunch and as it was a cold day opted for the macaroni and chips. The food was piping hot which was a bonus as lukewarm food always puts me off returning. The Esplanade is a nice place for lunch. Should we return to Rothesay I would be happy to return to the Esplanade.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank marionweir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2016

Went over for the day and asked a local for a recommendation for lunch the esplanade was suggested. Well the lunch was excellent, Home made curried sweet potato soup then we had another starter scallops black pudding and bacon with salad absolutely scrumptious. Followed by spotted dick which did not disappoint. Two glasses of wine all for £33.30. Excellent value great service from the staff. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Janice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews