We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Esplanade Hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Rothesay
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Kingarth Hotel(Kilchattan Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Colintraive Hotel(Colintraive)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Kames Hotel(Tighnabruaich)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
13
11
6
5
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
11
6
5
9
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2016

Great food from a large menu. Courteous helpful and pleasant staff. Nothing is too much trouble, even requesting a different vegetable from menu. Great views onto ferry terminal and Guildford Square. Decor a bit old fashioned and tired but clean. Staff constantly cleaning tables and crumbs etc from floor of dining room. Definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: Didn't stay, only ate in restaurant
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gabbyt745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016

We visited Bute on a very wet day. We were in need of cheering up and good food. Unfortunately we found neither at this hotel. The toilet doors are exceptionally narrow and I fell forward on a step that had no warning entering the ladies. The staff were ectremely pleasant and helpful or there would have been no star rating .The menu was extensive and pro ported to be all freshly cooked. My chicken Neoplotitan was served Luke warm. It was heated in a microwave. It was enable but not tasty. My husband's steak and ale pie average. We woukd not return however pleasant and attentive the staff are the food was just not good.

Room Tip: Not sure we only had a meal.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Service
3  Thank crockettmegbrodie413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Staff very welcoming and coped well with extremely busy lunch service. Very extensive menu with good range of daily specials too. All dishes served were quite large portions but managed to eat everything - had a lovely selection of desserts but unfortunately unable to sample these. Extremely reasonably priced. Décor a bit dated but a great view from the front windows.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 900caroleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

Just back from three days on Bute, visited all three days, twice for late lunch / early evening meal and once for an evening meal.

The staff are extremely friendly and welcoming. Nothing is too much effort and they are very accommodating.

The food is of a constant high standard, the building is a little tired but then the food makes up for that.

Children made to feel welcome and the kids menu had ample choice.

The home made steak pie and gammon stake can be highly recommended.

We will definitely visit on our next trip to the island.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Graeme G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016

Stopped in with my cousins while visiting the Isle. The place was busy and had a great atmosphere to it. We were seated quickly, had a nice view outside. The staff is quick, friendly and very helpful. The menu has a very nice selection of items. Very reasonable pricing. We had a special fish supper, haggis, neeps and tattis that were out of this world good. Very nice place, will return one day.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews