We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly with Character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
North West Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stranraer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Stayed 2 nights and had 2 rooms. Both rooms were big and clean, one with a view of the sea. Staff were great. Plenty of parking, and walking distance to Tesco and Morrisons.
Had one evening meal which was pretty good. We wanted to eat in the Restaurant, but had to settle for the bar menu. We were told at the bar since we didn't book rooms with the dinner package, we would pay £26 a person if we were to dine in the restaurant.
Breakfast was very nice, freshly cooked to order. Plenty of staff.


Room 11
We had a lack of wall plugs in our room, (room 11) found it hard to plug in any devices and still have use of the TV and kettle. Our room was above the dining room and we were woken up both mornings by the swinging door from the kitchen into the dining room. Staff must be used to the noise as there is no attempt to close the door without it banging shut. WIFI strength isn't very good, but it was free. The toilet in our room is in an awkward position. Any tall person will have trouble sitting on the toilet as there is no leg room.

If we were in the area again, would would not stay in Stranraer. We found Port Patrick to be nicer, having more pubs/restaurants with sea views.

Room Tip: room 11 is big, but lacks wall plugs, and you may get kitchen noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Spydog007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 102 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely stay. Our room was spacious and clean and the beds and bedding very comfortable. I particularly liked the fact that there was a separate seating area and ample information about the hotel and surrounding sights. The bathroom was clean and spacious with plenty of space for paraphernalia. The staff were pleasant and helpful at all times; although bread rolls would have been nice with dinner. The hotel is a little dated in places, there are parts which are quite musty smelling and the outside could do with a freshen up. Although this is to be expected from an older hotel it was a little off putting to others in our party that decided to book elsewhere, which was a shame as I would recommend the hotel to anyone, albeit with that proviso. All in all a throughly enjoyable stay.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016

Some people would call this hotel dated, but we stayed in this old hotel for just one night and loved it.
Yes the lift is a bit slow and the showers don't blast your flesh from your bones but the pictures hung around and the decor and furniture make this a lovely centrally located hotel.
It is dead opposite the train station with lots of parking and a short walk from the small castle in the center.

Room Tip: ask for a front of the hotel high floor room for a great sea sunset view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Perfectly situated for the railway station. Family run hotel with family values. Somewhat tired in appearance but welcoming friendly staff and lovely meals. Enjoyed swimming in the hotel pool and learning about the history of the place especially curling. The train journey from Kilmarnock to Stranraer was beautiful.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank B1512TBchristinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

I am sure that when it was built it was a great hotel, the problem is that it was never updated.
People on the reception were really nice, couldn't fault them in everything. When you get your room key, instead of the card key, you start to have an idea what you will find in the room.
And you won't be disappointed, a proper 80`s room with furniture, smell and mattress that insist to share their coils with your ribs.
Expensive, dated, the only positive was the staff

Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
Thank Ontheroad1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stranraer
0.2 km away
Craignelder Hotel
Craignelder Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stranraer
116 reviews
9.2 km away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
347 reviews
14.5 km away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20 km away
Glenapp Castle
Glenapp Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballantrae
317 reviews
9.4 km away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#4 of 5 in Portpatrick
556 reviews
9.3 km away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North West Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North West Castle Hotel

Address: Portrodie, Stranraer DG9 8EH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stranraer
Price Range: $134 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — North West Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional town centre hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your North West Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing