We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
North West Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stranraer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Little gem! Staff very friendly and couldn't do enough for us hotel only 5mins from centre of Stranraer.full of character . Used the swimming pool and jacuzzi, very relaxing . Didn't have time to use curling rink or games room. Food was excellent , can't say I've had a hotter plate anywhere else , everything we had at dinner and breakfast beautifully presented. And the staff are a credit to the hotel , we will definitely use this hotel again

Room Tip: Rooms at the front looking out over the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank brian r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2017

One of the participants of the first Oyster festival ever held and host's to The BIG Oyster Bash 2017 an evening of entertainment and hot food .The Loch Ryan oyster company send fresh oyster's worldwide even Dubai and the toon decided to have an Oyster festival every year starting in Sept 2017

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

My husband and I called into this hotel for a bite of lunch before catching the ferry from Cairnryan to Northern Ireland. The service was very quick and the sandwiches and accompaniment were superb.Very good value. I will definitely visit here again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lyttlemo2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

On arrival the hotel is very impressive and On entering we were not disappointed it was full of character and welcoming. The reception staff were very welcoming and helpful as were all other members of staff. We had a twin room which was in keeping with the hotel. It was very clean and well presented we are in our late 60' s and we loved everything about the hotel and break fast was excellent very good v

Room Tip: First visit our room on top floor good view no ac
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

Obviously not a state of the art hotel, but part of an award winning family chain of hotels which cater for all groups of clients, and this hotel certainly did. With a business trip to Ireland organised around ferry times, it proved ideal, and the large well equipped bedroom had all the usual touches, but wifi proved a problem in both rooms 64 and 68. Breakfast was excellent, with plenty of helpful local staff, and cooked breakfast to order arrived promptly.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank WayfarerMilngavie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stranraer
0.2 km away
Craignelder Hotel
Craignelder Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stranraer
116 reviews
9.2 km away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
347 reviews
14.5 km away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20 km away
Glenapp Castle
Glenapp Castle
#1 of 1 in Ballantrae
317 reviews
9.4 km away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#4 of 5 in Portpatrick
557 reviews
9.3 km away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North West Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North West Castle Hotel

Address: Portrodie, Stranraer DG9 8EH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stranraer
Price Range: $135 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — North West Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional town centre hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your North West Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing