We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The total Highland experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Invergarry
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The total Highland experience”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

This place was all we ever dreamed of on our first visit to the Scottish Highland.

A total authentic 19th century "castle" which felt just right: clean and tidy, but not too shiny or modernized to loose all that true Victorian atmosphere. Professional and friendly service, great dinner from local produce in the dining room, and stunning views to the surrounding hills and Loch.

Enjoyed some nice shorter walks on the premises in the mornings, great club-sandwiches in the lounge for lunch, and some fine local single malt by the fireplace in the evenings.

And all this for a surprisingly low price!

Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Arizona_Junior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    512
    159
    35
    10
    1
See reviews for
149
409
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This little gem was one of the highlights of our road trip across Scotland, we found it by chance and did enjoy its Surroundings very well, the staff was helpful and kind and the rooms was fit for a castle.

Room Tip: We had rooms overlooking sheeps on a field
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r3ddwarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaneohe Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

As other reviewers have stated, this small hotel has a wonderful location. There are a number of delightful walking paths along the loch and to the ruins of the old castle. The staff was attentive and friendly, and the rooms were quite spacious and beautifully appointed. I liked the fact that the hotel was outside the town the Invergarry. Its isolated location makes it a great retreat. If the weather is pleasant, you can enjoy the grounds. If the weather is "druich", you will delight in the large fire and cozy interior.

I cannot comment on the food as I was unfortunately quite ill during my stay there. But my daughter ordered off the children's menu for dinner and ate the breakfast, and she said both were delicious.

We arrived two days before they were closing for the winter. As such, the hotel was quite deserted of guests. This allowed me to see in to many of the unoccupied rooms. They were all lovely and uniquely decorated. I don't think you could choose a bad room, but I would definitely opt for loch view if available.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mommysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Lewis, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We stayed for just one night on our return journey to Wales having visited the Western Isles. The hotel is really lovely, and we enjoyed walking through the grounds. The dining room seems a little small but the staff are helpful. I explained to the young waitress that I had an allergy to onions and she discussed various options with the chef and then I placed my order. HOWEVER when my starter arrived it had raw onion in it and when I pointed it out to her the poor lass replied that I hadn't mentioned onions with the starter so she assumed it was not a problem!!!!
HELLO????? We laughed and waited while another was prepared which I enjoyed very much but maybe a bit of staff training in allergic reactions wouldn't go amiss. Despite that we will surely return as everything else was good.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucindaLucile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

My partner and I stopped here for a late lunch on our way to the Isle of Skye - unfortunately it was just after 2 pm and they had stopped serving lunch. We opted for an "afternoon tea" instead, which consisted of half a sandwich, scones and cakes with tea or coffee. The food was average and expensive, but the lounge room was grand and had a lovely view. It was quiet and peaceful on a Sunday afternoon. It's a pity the food was not of a higher quality as the atmosphere was lovely.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzySey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Invergarry
10.1 km away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,198 reviews
30.1 km away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
581 reviews
11.3 km away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Invergarry Hotel
Invergarry Hotel
#2 of 2 in Invergarry
471 reviews
11.9 km away
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spean Bridge
936 reviews
10.0 km away
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
Corriegour Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spean Bridge
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glengarry Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glengarry Castle Hotel

Property: Glengarry Castle Hotel
Address: Invergarry, Invergarry PH35 4HW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Invergarry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Invergarry
Price range (per night): $220 - $410
Hotel Class:3 star — Glengarry Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glengarry Castle Hotel is a comfortable country house hotel with a jewel of a setting on the shores of Loch Oich at the heart of the Great Glen in the Highlands of Scotland. Great touring base, stay for a few days and explore the Highlands - 7 miles from Loch Ness, 40 miles south of Inverness, 25 miles north of Fort William and just 50 miles to the Isle of Skye. Set in 60 acres, well away from the road, lots of local walks. Free WiFi in every bedroom and public areas. Family run for over 50 years. The building has not been extended and there is no annexe, all bedrooms are in the original house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Glengarry Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glengarry Castle Invergarry
Hotel Glengarry Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing