We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uninspiring beer choice”

The West Arms Dining
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Dropped in for a pint and was underwhelmed. Reverend James and Sharpes Doombar, both mass produced uninspiring beers. Made do with cider in a bottle. Brains do some craft ales in a bottle or short run craft cask ales but none were at this hotel. Disappointed we moved on and found much better beer over the other side of the road at The Hand.

Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West A, Owner at The West Arms Dining, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Thanks for the review - not sure what you mean by mass produced uninspiring beers offered as Doombar and Rev James which are high quality real ales - and not the only beer on offer at The West Arms.

However - as we have reiterated in other reviews - we cannot please everyone all of the time - we hope you will revisit to taste our food and gain a different impression...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2017

Had a very enjoyable meal here while staying in the village. In an out of the way village but worth traveling to, The service was good and food presented and cooked well. Quite formal and a little pricey but nice for a treat. The liquor coffee was properly made with the cream floating on top, unlike some places where they squirt it on. Managed to get a table without booking on Saturday evening.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

Very average cuisine.Pub food but restaurant prices. This is a classic I will visit once establishment and they need to work harder to give better value for money if they hope for return trade.

Thank George647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West A, Owner at The West Arms Dining, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Strange to read your review of very average - when we are consistently included in The Good Food Guide - which is one of the highest accolades a Chef can aspire to and one which certainly does not include any establishments of "average cuisine"....
Fortunately we do receive mainly great compliments on the food - so unfortunately we just have to conclude that The West was not right for you on this particular visit.

Maybe you will chance a return?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017

good food. great staff. nice setting. quaint. traditional good pub. nice grounds. nice breakfast. nice village (tiny)

Thank Ruthiewilson104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017

Really pleasent few days away.we stayed in the willow suite which was really spacious.
The staff were really friendly and helpful (especially Nicky and Lucinda who both excelled in their respective roles) The food was very tasty and well prepared. Atmosphere was warm & friendly. The bar was small but cosy and you could always go across the road for a drink at the "Hand "opposite which gave a bit of variety. There are some interesting places to visit, Llangollen, Horseshoe pass, a lovely waterfall 30 mins drive away, but must warn you roads to the waterfall were quite narrow but their were cut outs to pass vehicles going in opposite direction.

Thank linbruce11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The West Arms Dining also viewed

Llanarmon DC, Denbighshire

Been to The West Arms Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing