We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Welsh Hotel”

The West Arms Dining
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 4 September 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed a Family evening to celebrate my son's 50th birthday in the hotel's restaurant. The food was exceptionally good with a wide choice of dishes for children / adults alike. The presentation of the food was excellent as was the efficient service and helpful welcoming staff.The selection of draught beers was limited as were the guest beers, however there was a good selection of wines.Would recommend the restaurant for any special occasion

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JayBeeWrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2017

My wife and I stayed three nights, we tried something different from the menu each night, no disappointment as all food is excellent and presented impeccably.

Thank Springermanx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Dropped in for a pint and was underwhelmed. Reverend James and Sharpes Doombar, both mass produced uninspiring beers. Made do with cider in a bottle. Brains do some craft ales in a bottle or short run craft cask ales but none were at this hotel. Disappointed we moved on and found much better beer over the other side of the road at The Hand.

Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West A, Owner at The West Arms Dining, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Thanks for the review - not sure what you mean by mass produced uninspiring beers offered as Doombar and Rev James which are high quality real ales - and not the only beer on offer at The West Arms.

However - as we have reiterated in other reviews - we cannot please everyone all of the time - we hope you will revisit to taste our food and gain a different impression...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

Had a very enjoyable meal here while staying in the village. In an out of the way village but worth traveling to, The service was good and food presented and cooked well. Quite formal and a little pricey but nice for a treat. The liquor coffee was properly made with the cream floating on top, unlike some places where they squirt it on. Managed to get a table without booking on Saturday evening.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

Very average cuisine.Pub food but restaurant prices. This is a classic I will visit once establishment and they need to work harder to give better value for money if they hope for return trade.

Thank George647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West A, Owner at The West Arms Dining, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Strange to read your review of very average - when we are consistently included in The Good Food Guide - which is one of the highest accolades a Chef can aspire to and one which certainly does not include any establishments of "average cuisine"....
Fortunately we do receive mainly great compliments on the food - so unfortunately we just have to conclude that The West was not right for you on this particular visit.

Maybe you will chance a return?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The West Arms Dining also viewed

Llanarmon DC, Denbighshire
Llanrhaeadr ym Mochnant, Powys
 

Been to The West Arms Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing