We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food but small portions ”

The West Arms Dining
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

Lovely tasty food but didn't feel like the portions were big enuff, ended up having a desert which was delicious but very unusual for me. Stunning, relaxing fire side setting

Thank Kada1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2017

Being local folks but new to the area we didn't need a room but went for Sunday lunch. WOW! It was stunning. Beautiful crisp roast potatoes, sweet honeyed parsnips, huge Yorkshire pud, loads of gravy and a generous mix of vegetables! With aperitifs, wine with dinner and dessert for 4 our bill came to just about £120. Our vegetarian was also well catered for with a vegetarian burger that us carnivores may well have swapped our roast beef for.

We have booked for our Christmas lunch and will be regulars from now on.

    • Service
Thank CarpediemRhiwlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed a Family evening to celebrate my son's 50th birthday in the hotel's restaurant. The food was exceptionally good with a wide choice of dishes for children / adults alike. The presentation of the food was excellent as was the efficient service and helpful welcoming staff.The selection of draught beers was limited as were the guest beers, however there was a good selection of wines.Would recommend the restaurant for any special occasion

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JayBeeWrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

My wife and I stayed three nights, we tried something different from the menu each night, no disappointment as all food is excellent and presented impeccably.

Thank Springermanx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Dropped in for a pint and was underwhelmed. Reverend James and Sharpes Doombar, both mass produced uninspiring beers. Made do with cider in a bottle. Brains do some craft ales in a bottle or short run craft cask ales but none were at this hotel. Disappointed we moved on and found much better beer over the other side of the road at The Hand.

Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West A, Owner at The West Arms Dining, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Thanks for the review - not sure what you mean by mass produced uninspiring beers offered as Doombar and Rev James which are high quality real ales - and not the only beer on offer at The West Arms.

However - as we have reiterated in other reviews - we cannot please everyone all of the time - we hope you will revisit to taste our food and gain a different impression...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The West Arms Dining also viewed

Llanarmon DC, Denbighshire

Been to The West Arms Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing