We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 AM - 5:30 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Portmeirion Village
from US$80.95
More Info
Reviews (4,308)
Filter reviews
4,308 results
Traveller rating
2,390
1,056
445
219
198
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,390
1,056
445
219
198
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tv series entrance fee woodland walk free train ride shops and cafes magical place sunny day north wales ice cream well worth a visit self catering land train every corner per adult interesting place free entry stunning views
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 4,308 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in the watch house. The room has a large floating bed with lights on the bedside table and under the bed, the room was large and clean with two large chairs to relax on and a large tv on a spinning tv unit which allows you to watch it from the bed or chairs.
The room has a large bathroom with a bath and separate shower and also a kitchen area with a fridge, kettle and sink. You are provided with large towels, dressing gown and slippers in the room.
The room has a large patio area with spectacular views over the hotel, pool area and great views over the estuary. The patio has a large comfy sofa and two chairs so is great to relax on. The room has lots of shuttered windows which give you great views over the village and with access to the village after the visitors have gone we had a fantastic stay.

Date of experience: May 2021
1  Thank Athill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Not as expected. Coming from York expected big things . Found it disappointing very overrated. Not as big as expected . The walks were good . Ice cream disappointing think they forgot the honetconbe if not a queue I would have complained .

Date of experience: May 2021
Thank June S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A truly fabulous concept creating an almost surreal environment, impeccably clean and superbly presented.

Date of experience: May 2021
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Portmeirion is in a beautiful location on Tremadoc bay, with huge sandy beaches and mountains beyond. Such a striking location could easily be spoilt by tourist development, but Clough Williams Ellis village enhances the natural setting. So many of his ideas seem ahead of their time, from championing beauty in designing buildings, to salvaging elements and reusing them in new ways. Students and those practicing planning, urban design and architecture should go and take note. How many new developments delight the visitor at each turn? The only thing I would compare it to is Stowe, where whichever way you look, the view is perfectly composed.

This is an ideal time to visit, with visitor numbers managed to provide a really enjoyable experience for everyone. The friend I was with had only come before when it was really busy (for the Christmas fair and a weekend in August).. but left after this trip enchanted. You can easily spend half a day exploring the village and the independent shops.

Once you have looked around the village you can follow a path along the coast to a lighthouse, and stroll back through large woodland gardens with two lakes, temples, follies and bridges.. All of these look beautiful in the spring with wonderful displays of azaleas, camellias and rhododendrons. There are miles of paths to explore and you can easily spend half a day in the gardens. There are amazing old trees including redwoods, and unusual species from Australia and New Zealand that thrive in the mild climate.

I was bemused by the complaints at spending £13 for a day out. Most private country houses and National Trust (for non members) charge rather more than that. If you are trying to save money then there are plenty of nice spots for a picnic, which is encouraged. I found the staff uniformly friendly and helpful, welcoming on arrival and efficient in the cafe, restaurant and icecream shop. It is almost all outdoors so if you plan to visit pick a day with good weather.

Date of experience: May 2021
1  Thank AlinaRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were all excited to be jumping in the car to visit Portmeirion whilst on holiday. Unfortunately we traveled for 1hr 15mins to be so sadly let down! £13 each to visit a town is very unusual & odd especially when your paying an extortionate amount of money to eat in its cafes. We walked in off the street to be welcomed by half a dozen miserable looking staff members who looked very disappointed we were there! I think they were unhappy that they had to work & cook us some pizza's.....My son paid for mineral water & what he received was shocking.....they charged him for 300ml of water in a 500ml unsealed bottle & that was classed as "normal".....We won't be revisiting!

Date of experience: May 2021
Thank sharpey0678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews