We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful - not what I expect off Hilton Group”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton Newport East
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Magor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2017

I have stayed here 3 or 4 times on business. Never again. They wouldn't issue a hand written receipt for what I had spent even though the printer wouldn't work (bar person asked a "manager" who refused). Took it up with Hilton Honours and the hotel lied to them at first, then said they would call me to sort it out. Still waiting....... also the "complimentary" breakfast which at the end of the day is built into the price comprised bacon that was 50% fat, bread that had been out so long it was hard, the cold meat / cheese selection was empty and a load of empty tubs. Plenty of other hotels to choose from in South Wales - choose another.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CaptainJinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RogerGoldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

I am sorry for the issues you had with obtaining a receipt , We have contacted you through official Hilton channels , and as soon as you respond we will be able to satisfy your request .
I really appreciate the observations you make , and sincerely apologize for the quality of the breakfast you experienced ,
This will be remidied immediately .
Thank you for coming to stay with us please come and see us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 70 of 1,454 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2017

First stay at the hotel; very comfortable and the rates were excellent. Very clean accommodation and very comfortable - looked new. Very handy to motorway network and all routes. Free breakfast (cooked and continental); free parking and fitness room. Would make use of this hotel if in area again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank 219barryd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RogerGoldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Thank you for your positive comments ,
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel soon, my team love to look after all our guests , and take great pride in delivering the best service possible.
I always appreciate every review we have , as this gives us chance to improve in any areas we can, and is also a great encouragement to my team.
This is indeed a lovely area to explore , particularly the Wye valley which is truly beautiful.
Thank you again
Roger Goldsworthy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Overall stay not too bad , breakfast provided had a lot of choices although the cooked food was poor quality , bed mattress was hard making for an uncomfortable nights sleep and with the aircon having a mind of its own boiled me like a baked potato and woke up well done

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank F6430ODstevep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RogerGoldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Many thanks for choosing us , we try very hard to be a family friendly and business friendly Hotel .
I have such a great little team who I know always try their very best to give great service, and make us a 'home from home'
Please accept my apologies for the a/c issue you had , this fault has been repaired immediately .
We look forward to welcoming you back to very soon .
Roger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed one night on our way from London to Little Haven Wales.
The rooms were clean and well equipped, but slightly dated.
Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was great.
The other is we have was the location of the hotel. Hotel is located off the motorway, but it was very hare to figure out how to get into the parking lot- watch out for the roundabouts!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank gina r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RogerGoldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

I am very pleased we looked after you so well and you were happy with the Hotel and my team.
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Hopefully it will not be too long before you have the opportunity to return.
Kind Regards
Roger Goldsworthy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

Nice stay for little money. Very clean

My one comment is that this ‘hotel’ is very much like a ‘travelodge’. The view is the car park and the bins. The rooms are packed in next to each other in a large square building.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank josiahgoldsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RogerGoldsworthy, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Newport East, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

I am very pleased we looked after you again so well and you were happy with the Hotel and my team.
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Hopefully it will not be too long before you have the opportunity to return.
Kind Regards
Roger Goldsworthy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magor
10 km away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
13.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Newport
6.1 km away
Holiday Inn Newport
Holiday Inn Newport
#8 of 17 in Newport
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 km away
Ramada Resort Cwrt Bleddyn Hotel & Spa
17.1 km away
Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel
5.9 km away
Premier Inn Newport Wales (M4, J24) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton Newport East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton Newport East

Address: M4 J 23a; Wales 1 Business Park Newport, Magor NP26 3RA, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Magor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Magor
Price Range: $83 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton Newport East 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton by Hilton Newport/East is proud to be the first newly built brand hotel providing the perfect location for a visit to South Wales close to Junction 23a of the M4 [Opened September 2010]. Start the day off while enjoying a relaxing hot & cold breakfast in our dining area or in our work zone with our free Wi-Fi or even back to your room for a high speed internet connection. With a focus on unfussy service & great facilities this contemporary hotel is only a 25 minute drive to Cardiff. With an enviable location close to the M4, Newport, Bristol & Cardiff the Hampton by Hilton Newport East hotel puts you near it all. We’re close to Cardiff City with Cardiff Castle, Millennium Stadium & Cardiff also Bristol Hippodrome. Newport train station is 8 miles away; Bristol airport and Cardiff airport are only 34 miles & 26 miles respectively. Whether you’re travelling for business or pleasure the Hampton by Hilton Newport East hotel puts South Wales and Southwest England at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton by Hilton Newport East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton By Hilton Newport East Hotel Magor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing