We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castle Inn(Knucklas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Offa Dyke House(Knighton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Little HenCefn(Knighton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveller rating
116
74
27
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
116
74
27
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjacuzzi bathwet roomtravelzoo deallovely roompublic areashomemade shortbreadgrand staircaseat lunchtimefriendly hotelbooked this hotelcannot commentexcellent dealpay and displaytea and coffee making facilitieswooden staircasecooked breakfasttwo night stay
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 230 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed in room 15 which was a spacious family room with a jacuzzi bath
Slept fairly well - room hot albeit no heating in and we could open the windows

Staff were friendly but there didn't seem to be enough of them - especially at breakfast which seemed a bit disorganised- the buffet table wasn't replenished very quickly and guests were 'milling around '
Cooked breakfast was to order and was fine albeit I asked for poached eggs on toast - eggs arrived then had to wait for the toast- symptom of the number of staff on duty?

Knighton itself was ok although all the coffee shops seem to close by 1600 hours

Beautiful part of the country which if it hadn't been for the travelzoo deal we may not have experienced

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Netty1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Went for two nights with my aged Mum on a Travelzoo deal, we had two rooms which were interconnected which was handy. The rooms are ok, nothing special, comfortable and have what you need. Bit on the dark side and a few things need looking at such as sink plug not staying shut and no shaver point. But minor things. Ate in the dinning room each night and reasonable food at reasonable prices. Breakfast was good, normal help yourself type of thing, but the cooked breakfasts were done to order so nice and fresh not like the stuff kept under the hot lights in chain hotels. Knighton itself is quaint.. loads of really steep hills.... several places nearby worth a visit too so its a good central spot. Staff are really pleasant and helpful, but I think they are put upon a bit as it always seemed short staffed - the two on were serving breakfasts and also dealing with reception with people booking out etc., so there were delays not the fault of those on duty.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bob1323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

We travelled there by train (station very near) and enjoyed a very relaxing couple of days. It was a groupon voucher deal and the hotel was excellent in all respects. We had a beautiful room and the loveliest touch was that it was decorated very romantically with hearts, candles and rose petals - and a chilled bottle of sparkly! Thankyou again! Nothing was too much trouble. The staff were friendly, the food was delicious, the hotel was well-appointed. There is a little spa in the basement which you book for an hour (free) and it becomes completely private. A lovely experience - and very sumptuous! The town isn't very big but it is idyllic and the people there are extremely friendly. Half the town is in Wales and half in England. Pop down into the woods behind the visitor centre and there is a spot with a yellow line and you can stand half in Wales and half in England. There are some beautiful walks around and a trip on the Heart of the Wales railway line afford beautiful views. Well worth visiting Knighton and staying at the Knighton Hotel. Thankyou again! .. June and Peter x

Room Tip: Room 21 was very large and had a couch in it and view onto the street with the coutryside beyond. Delightful. Lift available if needed.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JuneandPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

Knighton seems almost caught in time, stranded inside Powys some 12 miles from the border with England, with many banners and flags proclaiming its Welsh identity, although largely English speaking. As you walk around this charming, hilly border town, and make your way past the dominant Clock Tower up through the "Narrows", passing shops with their displayed wares priced by hand written tickets, you are afforded views of the beautiful surrounding countryside. Raise your eyes in any direction and the national flag of Wales and the banners of Glyndwr flutter challengingly above. The Knighton Hotel reflects this duality, with its modern and contemporary rooms reached by the stunning, carved wooden staircase rising two storeys up from the small reception area. My wife and I enjoyed a two nights stay here last week, which on a Travelzoo voucher purchased for £99 was exceptionally good value. There is a large carpark adjacent which charges for parking, but the hotel, which can be accessed directly from the carpark proper, has a small area offering free parking. Greeted warmly by our host, Rowena, we were shown to our 2nd floor room number 28, overlooking the rear and quieter side of the hotel using the 6 person lift that is discreetly available to the side of the magnificent staircase, apparently the largest, free-standing wooden structure remaining in Europe. Although it must be a nightmare to keep clean and polished, it was sparkling for our special stay. Special because without having captured our attention in the Travelzoo promotion, we simply wouldn't have found such a wonderful place, in such a beautiful area. One slightly discordant note was that the cooked food quality on the first night, and the following morning's breakfast, with its slow, ever so slow service was not good, but the following morning was much, much better, and the smiling service much more acceptable. Two comfortable nights were spent in the large, refurbished rooms, with spa-style bath and shower en-suite, and we felt very grand as we descended the very stairs that Lloyd-George of Dwyfor had used when travelling to Parliament. The hotel affords great access to the delightful countryside, including the fabled Offa's Dyke, thrown up to protect against marauding Welsh tribes, as well as a base to explore the delights of nearby Ludlow, Shrewsbury and Leominister over the border, or the fascinating towns of Presteigne or Kington in Radnor and Powys, with its pretty and peaceful villages, one of which, Brampton Bryan, is staging a Civil War re-enactment this weekend. Once found, Knighton is never forgotten so go quickly while this bargain is still around

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank jollyrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Just got back today from our two night stay at The Knighton Hotel, I am missing it already. We were greeted by the lovely friendly receptionist Rowena, who couldn't have been more helpful. She took us up to our lovely room overlooking the square in the town. We were very impressed with our room which was big and tastefully decorated. We had everything we needed to enjoy our stay. The views of the valley and town were fantastic. We loved the spa bath, so much, that we never bothered to even look at the hotel spa sauna and steam room which we could have used. The king size bed was so comfortable and the room dark which meant we had a good nights sleep. Another plus was that all the windows opened if you required them to.

The breakfast was brilliant, great choice of prepared fresh fruit which we enjoyed. Great choice of cooked food and very nice it was too, our poached eggs were cooked to perfection.

The hotel is in a good central location with everything that you would want only a few yards away.

The magnificent staircase as got to be seen, the building just oozes character.

All the staff were so friendly and helpful. Thank you for a great stay. See you again soon.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank arekuna17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews