We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away”
Review of Knighton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Knighton Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Knighton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Very lovely weekend away. Staff were very polite and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was fantastic especially the tomatoes which were oven baked like sun dried. Worth a visit. Red lion down the road is worth a visit too

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank russ1966x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed in room 15 which was a spacious family room with a jacuzzi bath
Slept fairly well - room hot albeit no heating in and we could open the windows

Staff were friendly but there didn't seem to be enough of them - especially at breakfast which seemed a bit disorganised- the buffet table wasn't replenished very quickly and guests were 'milling around '
Cooked breakfast was to order and was fine albeit I asked for poached eggs on toast - eggs arrived then had to wait for the toast- symptom of the number of staff on duty?

Knighton itself was ok although all the coffee shops seem to close by 1600 hours

Beautiful part of the country which if it hadn't been for the travelzoo deal we may not have experienced

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Netty1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Went for two nights with my aged Mum on a Travelzoo deal, we had two rooms which were interconnected which was handy. The rooms are ok, nothing special, comfortable and have what you need. Bit on the dark side and a few things need looking at such as sink plug not staying shut and no shaver point. But minor things. Ate in the dinning room each night and reasonable food at reasonable prices. Breakfast was good, normal help yourself type of thing, but the cooked breakfasts were done to order so nice and fresh not like the stuff kept under the hot lights in chain hotels. Knighton itself is quaint.. loads of really steep hills.... several places nearby worth a visit too so its a good central spot. Staff are really pleasant and helpful, but I think they are put upon a bit as it always seemed short staffed - the two on were serving breakfasts and also dealing with reception with people booking out etc., so there were delays not the fault of those on duty.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bob1323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

We travelled there by train (station very near) and enjoyed a very relaxing couple of days. It was a groupon voucher deal and the hotel was excellent in all respects. We had a beautiful room and the loveliest touch was that it was decorated very romantically with hearts, candles and rose petals - and a chilled bottle of sparkly! Thankyou again! Nothing was too much trouble. The staff were friendly, the food was delicious, the hotel was well-appointed. There is a little spa in the basement which you book for an hour (free) and it becomes completely private. A lovely experience - and very sumptuous! The town isn't very big but it is idyllic and the people there are extremely friendly. Half the town is in Wales and half in England. Pop down into the woods behind the visitor centre and there is a spot with a yellow line and you can stand half in Wales and half in England. There are some beautiful walks around and a trip on the Heart of the Wales railway line afford beautiful views. Well worth visiting Knighton and staying at the Knighton Hotel. Thankyou again! .. June and Peter x

Room Tip: Room 21 was very large and had a couch in it and view onto the street with the coutryside beyond. D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JuneandPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

Knighton seems almost caught in time, stranded inside Powys some 12 miles from the border with England, with many banners and flags proclaiming its Welsh identity, although largely English speaking. As you walk around this charming, hilly border town, and make your way past the dominant Clock Tower up through the "Narrows", passing shops with their displayed wares priced by hand written tickets, you are afforded views of the beautiful surrounding countryside. Raise your eyes in any direction and the national flag of Wales and the banners of Glyndwr flutter challengingly above. The Knighton Hotel reflects this duality, with its modern and contemporary rooms reached by the stunning, carved wooden staircase rising two storeys up from the small reception area. My wife and I enjoyed a two nights stay here last week, which on a Travelzoo voucher purchased for £99 was exceptionally good value. There is a large carpark adjacent which charges for parking, but the hotel, which can be accessed directly from the carpark proper, has a small area offering free parking. Greeted warmly by our host, Rowena, we were shown to our 2nd floor room number 28, overlooking the rear and quieter side of the hotel using the 6 person lift that is discreetly available to the side of the magnificent staircase, apparently the largest, free-standing wooden structure remaining in Europe. Although it must be a nightmare to keep clean and polished, it was sparkling for our special stay. Special because without having captured our attention in the Travelzoo promotion, we simply wouldn't have found such a wonderful place, in such a beautiful area. One slightly discordant note was that the cooked food quality on the first night, and the following morning's breakfast, with its slow, ever so slow service was not good, but the following morning was much, much better, and the smiling service much more acceptable. Two comfortable nights were spent in the large, refurbished rooms, with spa-style bath and shower en-suite, and we felt very grand as we descended the very stairs that Lloyd-George of Dwyfor had used when travelling to Parliament. The hotel affords great access to the delightful countryside, including the fabled Offa's Dyke, thrown up to protect against marauding Welsh tribes, as well as a base to explore the delights of nearby Ludlow, Shrewsbury and Leominister over the border, or the fascinating towns of Presteigne or Kington in Radnor and Powys, with its pretty and peaceful villages, one of which, Brampton Bryan, is staging a Civil War re-enactment this weekend. Once found, Knighton is never forgotten so go quickly while this bargain is still around

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank jollyrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knighton
17.2 km away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
822 reviews
21.9 km away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
479 reviews
25 km away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Montgomery
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20 km away
Mellington Hall Country House Hotel
25.2 km away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
1,382 reviews
22.7 km away
The Feathers at Ludlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knighton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knighton Hotel

Address: Broad Street, Knighton LD7 1BL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Knighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Knighton
Price Range: $206 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Knighton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Knighton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing