We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Vine House B&B and Self-Catering(Guilsfield)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$104
US$88
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pitchup.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Red House Cottage(Guilsfield)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Red Lion Inn(Welshpool)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Top House(Welshpool)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Noddfa House B&B(Welshpool)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (834)
Filter reviews
834 results
Traveller rating
395
290
107
25
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
395
290
107
25
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone way systempowis castlethe hotel car parkbusiness tripcentre of townno liftlovely hotelenjoyed my staysky tvcentral locationcoaching innbuffet stylevery pleasant staywould stay againone night stayold buildingexcellent stay
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 834 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very nice hotel, situated in the centre of town at a busy junction. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the breakfast and meals we had very good. Just a couple of niggles in that the bathroom window was jammed shut and considering how hot it was some extra fresh air would have been good. Also there were a lot of flies in the restaurant and lounge, probably due to the sudden increase in temperature, which meant we were constantly flicking flies away whilst eating.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank houston56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal O, General Manager at The Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We’re delighted that you had a very nice stay with us. It’s great to read that you found our team to be very friendly and the food to be very good. We apologise for you not being able to open the bathroom window, and will ensure that we look into this issue. With regards to the flies we are sorry, It is a difficult situation to manage as people like to have the windows and doors open to get a breeze but then the flies come in. We do hope we can welcome you again to The Royal Oak should you return to Welshpool

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had high expectations but very disappointed. Room was very stuffy. It overlooked traffic lights so opening the window would have meant fumes and noise; the only alternative was to use a noisy fan. Result: a poor night's sleep. TV was not tuned in and autotune did not work; bedside light not working, bathroom mirror light would not switch off and one mug had not been cleaned. No eggs appeared with the cooked breakfast; at 8.10 the receptionist informed guests that the member of staff responsible did not start till 8.00, yet the rest of the breakfast was already out! Hard to believe such incompetence. A serious absence of quality control.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Wayfarer17-18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is well-positioned and comfortable. The staff are friendly and the food is good. It provides very good value for money. We only stayed one night but it would be a good base for exploring the local area.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank janetse9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal O, General Manager at The Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We’re delighted that you had a welcoming stay with us. It’s great to read that you found our team friendly and the food to be good. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future should you visit Welshpool again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had an amazing time with great food at The Royal Oak in Welshpool. Our waitress Zoe was so friendly and helpful when I was ordering gluten-free, we couldn't have asked for better service. We would definitely visit The Royal Oak again because of her.
Thank you!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Helen_Sophie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal O, General Manager at The Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We’re delighted that you have taken the opportunity to share your experience with us. It’s great to read that your visit to The Royal Oak was lovely and that our staff member Zoe made your trip even more special. Next time you are back in Welshpool we would be delighted to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Everyone at The Royal Oak went out of their way to make our stay an absolute delight.The hotel is perfectly situated for exploring the local area, and the food and accommodation could not have been better.We shall certainly return!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal O, General Manager at The Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We’re delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us. It’s great to read that you found our team and the food to be superb. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews