We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
US$41
View deal
FindHotel
Agoda.com
US$35
View deal
Destinia.com
ZenHotels.comUS$44
Trip.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (346)
Filter reviews
346 results
Traveller rating
285
47
10
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
285
47
10
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews toby carvery next door cardiff airport stayed here travel lodge barry island room was clean visiting family country park family room great stay friendly hotel excellent value for money car park the ground floor budget hotel short stay quiet location
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 346 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2021 via mobile

We stayed here last weekend
23/24 September.
Excellent all round.
The room spotless
Location spot on
The staff very helpful especially a chap called Chris
What a genuine and helpful young man.
He’s an asset for the brand.
Excellent.
Travel lodge is now our go to accommodation.
Gary and Jan Onions and Riley of course
(We travelled with our dog!)

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank garyoP3832QG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 September 2021 via mobile

My wife and I arrived in this Travelodge in Barry, near Cardiff Airport, on Sep 19, 2021 intending to 'bed down' for two weeks because of personal circumstances. From the moment we stepped into our room along the corridor in the heart of the premises we got the feeling we made the correct choice. This place is impeccable. Our room is spotless, the shower room seems brand new and everything works. An automatic vacuum cleaner even keeps the corridor carpet fresh throughout the day! There are no smells even though the hotel is just across a car park from a very efficient Toby grill which we have found so convenient and, like this hotel, very friendly. Seems South Wales does OK when it comes to looking after customers. The staff here are helpful and can't seem to do enough to please. We have visited hotels of all classes from A to Z on every continent and for the price we pay here feel we have done alright. Would we stay here again? Without a doubt.

Room tip: Lots of parking, 5 minutes drive to airport, Toby carvery open day and night
Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Fearless09883939969
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 September 2021 via mobile

On the 22nd of September (Today) we booked a night a this Travelodge and I'm absolutely disgusted!

Let me tell you why....

The room had a strong smell of urine! The bedding hadn't been changed! The bathroom was flooded! There appeared to be brown marks on the carpet which looked and smelled like feces.. the moment you walked in you could smell it! The carpet was also wet! I went and spoke to the gentleman about it at reception and he tried to cover up the fact the room had marks on the carpet and said it was bleach when it clealry wasn't. He was fully aware it was something else! He was so rude! Whether it's a one star or a five star hotel I would expect the rooms to be cleaned and staff to speak in an appropriate manner.

Room tip: Save your money
Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank thejessanne21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Social Media Team UK, General Manager at Travelodge Cardiff Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2021

We strive to offer our guests a good night’s sleep and an enjoyable experience whilst staying with us. That is why we are sorry to hear that you were not positively impressed by your last stay in our Cardiff Airport Hotel.

If you wish to contact us directly to give us more feedback, please be aware that you can always contact our Customer Services team via our website.

We will make the most of your comments to continue improving the service we offer. We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2021 via mobile

My husband and I travelled to Barry from Birmingham to do the Gavin & Stacey tour. We arrived a little bit earlier than check in time, first impressions when entering this hotel is that it is absolutely spotlessly clean, and smells really fresh.

Ryan helped us at the check in desk and was super friendly, in fact the staff members that we seen during our two night stay were all really polite, helpful and friendly. We were made to feel extremely welcome. This travel lodge honestly puts most other TL’s to shame. This hotel should be higher than 2 stars!...

We both commented that after staying In many TL’s & PI’s this is by far the friendliest and cleanest.

Location is also fab it’s a short drive to the beach, & Toby Carvery is right next door.

We had a taxi to a local curry house too, which taxis are very reasonably priced. Taxi number provided by TL staff member.

The whole of Barry is just such lovely welcoming friendly people.

We are looking forward to our next stay.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank adele1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 August 2021

Excellent hotel. Very quiet location. Very professional and friendly welcome from Brandon. Room, which was a good size, was spotlessly clean.
Only negative is that there are no plug sockets next to the bed for charging phones etc.
Tea & coffee tray with kettle and mugs.
Couldn't fault it and would definitely use this hotel again.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank familytraveller156
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews