We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place for an intimate wedding!”
Review of Bungalows Lydia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bungalows Lydia
Reviewed 19 August 2011

My husband and I stumbled on to this secluded spot while on a long and bumpy scooter ride. As soon as you reach the front gate you know you have found something special. There is an eternity pool like no other, Imagine watching whales breach as you stare out from this pool. Pelicans glide by, dolphins splash through, it is truly amazing. On our second visit, we decided our families and friends must experience this place, what better excuse than a WEDDING! They out did them selves to make everyone comfortable and to make our wedding special. They even managed fireworks! If you are looking for an intimate wedding spot, look no further. We had native flowers, fantastic live music and tortillas made on site, fresh for dinner. Thank you Bungalows Lydia!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Narckeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 58 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2011

we booked the sunflower suite for a week in april. My wife and I were concerned about our 2yr old being on a second floor balcony, and Mayte looked after us by installing a bamboo railing for us. the suite was fantastic, spacious and great view. It was so comfortable and clean and listening to the ocean at night is magical. I can still hear the surf....our 2yr old loved the infinity pool.

the beaches are spectacular. the surf is unswimmable here, but still great for viewing and relaxing by. We had a rental car and took little excursions to Sayulita (20mins) and San Pancho (10mins) to try surfing and eating out, but a lot of time was spent just sitting on the balcony and poolside relaxing in the peaceful oasis of Bungalows Lydia.

It is so calm and quiet compared to lodging in town, and, after traveling almost the entire mexican coast, this is possibly one of the nicest beachfront views i've ever seen.

even though there were other guests while we were there, we felt like we had total privacy and space to ourselves everywhere at bungalows lydia.

Mayte and Esther are so kind and warm and a joy to speak with. Couldn't ask for better hosts or more lovely landscaping.

We'll remember our time at the Sunflower Suite for the rest of our lives

Room Tip: sunflower suite is great for privacy (second floor, and only steps from pool) and large enough for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YYCfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

I need to add my own voice to the ravings about Bungalows Lydia. It's lovely - just a short drive outside of San Pancho.
We stayed in the Sunflower Suite for five nights at the beginning of July. The weather was not the best - it was cloudy and rainy (sometimes very heavily) for most of our stay. But it was still beautiful there. The sounds of the waves breaking on the beach below the villa and the birds and insects are just about all you hear there (occasionally a dog barks too).
Our room was very clean, and cleaned each day. The pool was right outside our balcony and since it was off season, we had the place almost to ourselves.
I would also add that I think a car is almost a necessity here. It's a pretty long walk into town from Lydia and in the rainy season, a pretty wet, muddy one, with areas of the road flooded out. (We had just a regular Ford sedan and it did fine, even on the muddy, bumpy, very wet track once you get off the paved/cobbled roads)
Otherwise, bring a book, lie by the pool, walk down to the beach and relax!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosegrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2011

This was our second stay at Bungalows Lydia, this time staying with my partner's parents in the Sunflower Suite. We love everything about Bungalows Lydia, from how naturally quiet it is because of the crashing waves, to the tranquil setting, and not least of all Mayte and Lydia themselves. We love it there and worry that it will become so popular we won't be able to get a spot in the future! We've recommended this haven to all of our friends.

It's a bit of a stretch out of town but the walks in are a fun way to get a little exercise before spending the afternoon on the beach. Talk with Mayte about a taxi back to the bungalows at night because it's not a great walk in the dark.
We wish we could live a life of luxury and stay for months!

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 22Sus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2011

We just finished a seven day stay here in the Sunflower Suite (our second time). The staff, service and rooms could not have been cleaner or better appointed. I read a review from someone who stayed in this suite in December complaining of bedbugs, and I can ASSURE anyone that there are no bedbugs or anything else remotely unclean in the entire hotel. This is owned and run by two sisters, Mayte and Lydia and they and their staff work tirelessly to ensure that everything is perfect for your stay. If anything is not up to par, just ask, and it will be remedied immediately. The rooms have kitchens, and the view from atop the rocky point on which the hotel is situated is unparalleled. Two romantic, secluded and deserted beaches down a few steps on either side of the hotel, with an ocean "jacuzzi" in between provide a setting never to be forgotten. If that is not to your liking, then the infinity pool overlooking the Pacific Ocean will be. The price is right, too. This is actually our favorite place to stay in all of Mexico.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoldenAndo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Francisco
2.6 km away
Hotel Casa San Pancho
Hotel Casa San Pancho
#2 of 4 in San Francisco
52 reviews
2.5 km away
Hotel Cielo Rojo
Hotel Cielo Rojo
#1 of 4 in San Francisco
176 reviews
18.3 km away
Las Cabanas del Capitan
Las Cabanas del Capitan
#1 of 19 in Rincon de Guayabitos
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
Amor Boutique Hotel
Amor Boutique Hotel
#4 of 10 in Sayulita
249 reviews
6.3 km away
Hotel Villas Sayulita
Hotel Villas Sayulita
#6 of 10 in Sayulita
165 reviews
3.3 km away
Hostal San Pancho
Hostal San Pancho
#2 of 14 in San Francisco
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bungalows Lydia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalows Lydia

Address: Km 118, Hwy 200 | San Francisco Mpo. de Bahía de Banderas, San Francisco 63732, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > San Francisco
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range: $108 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Bungalows Lydia Hotel San Pancho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing