We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Secluded and non-touristy get away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bungalows Lydia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bungalows Lydia
Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Secluded and non-touristy get away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

My partner and I made our second trip to San Pancho in February - and our second trip back to Bungalows Lydia. The return visit didn't disappoint and it was as wonderful as our first visit. We stayed in the Panorama suite and absolutely love to have the ocean as our constant view and listening to the crashing waves as we go to sleep. It is definitely the most private suite and the views of the sunsets, beaches, and ocean are truly beautiful. This time we were lucky enough to see whales on two separate mornings and dolphins playing in the evening. The outdoor kitchen is great - it's stocked with all of the basics and it's a great treat to be able to make breakfast or pool-side snacks.

Mayte and Lydia and wonderful hosts and do everything to make sure you feel comfortable. Despite our inability to speak Spanish (Mayte speaks English), Lydia was very patient and gracious as we tried to communicate. The rooms are very clean, yet simple.

San Pancho is a lovely town. Bungalows Lydia is about a 4km walk to town; although the road is very walkable, it's also very dark at night. I would recommend bringing a flashlight if you decide to walk.

We are already talking about our next trip to San Pancho and will definitely stay at Bungalow Lydia's again!

Room Tip: If you choose the Panorama suite bringing earplugs is a good idea - you can still hear the ocean but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    17
    3
    1
    7
See reviews for
31
85
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

What a great place. It is just what I had hoped to find based on photographs by others, tripadvisor reviews, and the Bungalows Lydia website.

We only stayed for 3 days, but after 2 weeks of living large in Sayulita, we found Bungalows Lydia to be the perfect place for rest and relaxation. Chilling out to the sound of the crashing waves, and watching the pelicans, dolphins and whales cruise by - it was like a I died and went to heaven. I loved sleeping to the sound of the crashing waves on the rocks below - I have read that others found it disturbing - I found it to be like a meditation, or a medication of sorts.

The pool was fabulously refreshing and I was suprised by the number of people swimming in the ocean there, although I did not try that.

Awsome spot that looks just like the website advertises. We will return next year for sure.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachinBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

Stayed here Jan. 2011 in the Panorama Suite. Awesome. We knew it was the primo suite when others expressed their jealousy that we had booked it before they did. Loved the outdoor kitchen and the sound of the waves crashing below us. We are B&B owners and have very high standards - these were absolutely met and exceeded by the staff and especially Mayte and Lydia who were especially gracious hostesses. Read a negative review but find it impossible to believe. Our suite was cleaned daily and the linens were pristine.Had a bird share our banana in the outdoor kitchen (uninvited) but our fault, not his. If you want a truly restful getaway, we both recommend Bungalows Lydia.

Richard and Julie

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maynestay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

Last summer my husband and I stayed in the Panoramic Suite in Bungalows Lydia and we loved it!! The suite allows you to experience beautiful sun sets and sunrises and to listen to the the sometimes powerful ocean breeze or experience its calmness. We were surprised about how much we had forgotten our deep connection to the land, the ocean and to nature, coming from a very busy and always connected life. After a day, we felt completely relaxed and just loved walking around the beautiful beaches and jungle, listening to the ocean, taking a nap in the open palapa, walking into town for a great meal and walking around town to see the beautiful town and talk with the locals. Our suite was comfortable and the open air kitchen was cute. I liked that they use organic cleaning for the infinity pool and for general cleaning.
Also, Lydia and Mayte, the owners and managers of this beautiful idyllic,and secluded beach are great people. We were treated to fresh coconuts when we were relaxing in the main palapa during our stay. I highly recommend Bungalows Lydia for people who like a mixture of amenities and also to experience nature. If you would not like this close proximity then the Blue moon suite or other of the closed in suites will be better. I should also say that they do have wireless internet, so even though you do relax you aren't completely unplugged. Another thing to consider is that there is no restaurant there so you have to either shop for groceries in the main town and have dinner at the wonderful local restaurants after nice walk through an unpaved jungle road, that's beautiful. There is Mexican typical fare to a very up-scale Mexican fare that was fantastic. It is not a mass tourist area which is exactly why everything is intimate and personal and why we really liked it!!

Room Tip: If you do not want to hear the ocean breeze and do not like an open air kitchen choose one of the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosario S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

My husband and I stayed here last winter, but forgot to write a review. Since I saw another post about bed bugs I thought I should mention that we also experienced them when we stayed. My husband had a number of bites on him and we didn't know where they were coming from. We didn't realize that the bed was covered in them until the last night when it was too late to get out of there. We stayed up the whole night flicking bugs off as they came near us. It really tainted the whole trip.

They were also doing construction while we were there that they did not tell us about (I'm talking buzz saws and jack hammers) so it was not relaxing to sit in the patio area at all.

Another thing to consider if you get the Panoramic suite as we did that with an outdoor kitchen you are likely to run into the problem of bugs. You have to cook your food and clean up before it gets dark as when you have artificial light bugs get attracted to it. Cooking was NOT fun in the outdoor kitchen.

Last but not least, it is simply not worth the money. Overpriced to be sure.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank acubitt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanPancho, Manager at Bungalows Lydia, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
First, we regret when any one of our guests is unhappy. We work hard to ensure that doesn't happen. We work hard so that Bungalows Lydia is always clean, comfortable, and relaxing.

Our hotel is meant to be a return to nature. In nature, yes, insects sometimes intrude upon Idyllic Beach-Front Utopias. We are sorry about that, but our 24/7 ocean breezes usually sweep them away.

Our guest had trouble with some flying insects and with some kind of biting insect, too. Okay. But we can assure you that these were *not* bedbugs. For the most hygienic sleep, we encase our mattresses in rubber-lined covers (which also, happily, prevent bedbugs). All guest rooms are swept daily, and all floors are washed daily. Sheets are high-heat-treated as part of the normal wash cycle. In this environment, it is difficult for unwanted pests (of any kind) to survive.

Once again, we are sorry that even one single guest went away unhappy. Yes, Bungalows Lydia is an open-air, tropical paradise; but even in the Garden of Eden, there were a few insects.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Francisco
2.5 km away
Hotel Casa San Pancho
Hotel Casa San Pancho
#2 of 5 in San Francisco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
6.9 km away
Amor Boutique Hotel
Amor Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Sayulita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel San Pancho
Hotel San Pancho
#3 of 5 in San Francisco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 km away
Hotel Meson de Mita
Hotel Meson de Mita
#11 of 11 in Punta de Mita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
6.1 km away
Casablanca
Casablanca
#3 of 9 in Sayulita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
6.9 km away
Siete Lunas
Siete Lunas
#6 of 9 in Sayulita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bungalows Lydia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalows Lydia

Property: Bungalows Lydia
Address: Km 118, Hwy 200 | San Francisco Mpo. de Bahía de Banderas, San Francisco 63732, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Nayarit > Riviera Nayarit > San Francisco
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price range (per night): $114 - $214
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Bungalows Lydia Hotel San Pancho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing