We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The George Kerferd
Nearby Hotels
Albertines Beechworth(Beechworth)(Great Value!)
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$183
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Armour Motor Inn(Beechworth)(Great Value!)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Graces Beechworth(Beechworth)(Great Value!)
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beechworth Holiday Park(Beechworth)(Great Value!)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Beechworth Motor Inn(Beechworth)(Great Value!)
US$107
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beechworth On Bridge(Beechworth)(Great Value!)
US$96
US$93
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$186
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Beechworth Lake Sambell Caravan Park(Beechworth)(Great Value!)
US$81
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (424)
Filter reviews
424 results
Traveller rating
178
171
55
12
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
178
171
55
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsart deconurses quartersmayday hillslunatic asylumbeautiful groundsthird floorghost tourold treescontinental breakfast isspa roomcomfortable bedmid weekshort driveking roomlovely roompleasant staysitting room
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 424 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2018

Basic but comfortable in the historic nurses quarters - the lift was handy, and all the 'art deco' artefacts - the bed was comfortable too. We especially enjoyed the ambience of the natural setting with the bird life and trees/plantings. The historic scattered buildings set it all off nicely.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank T3163TTneilw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018

Hotel is located in huge area like a botanical garden which was fabulous to walk through. Supplied breakfast was great and we were able to eat outside on the terrace and watch the multitude of bird life. Room was very clean and comfortable although a little small.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

We stayed in the Linaker building the old nurses quarters. Rooms were quite large and nice. Bathroom was quite big and the shower was great. No air conditioning but the room had a fan and the windows could open . We stayed on the third floor which had a great view. The gardens were amazing and very well kept.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kerri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

After our first night we complained about the too small bed and a bad matress. We did not fit in. We got another room with a much bigger bed. Really appreciated. "Brekky" is quite simple, but okay for the purpose. Walk into town is quite a steep stroll. Staff friendly. In total the hotel is a bit outdated but clean. Worth the money!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank BBlaauw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

There are actually two hotels under the George Kerferd banner - the modern George Kerferd hotel and the renovated Linaker building. We chose the Linaker this time for its history, although our helpful receptionist allowed us to view rooms in both hotels before choosing which to stay in. Both premises are lovely and we might choose the modern George Kerferd next time.

The Linaker is an Art Deco-era building of three storeys, formerly the nurses' quarters for Mayday Hills Asylum. Rooms have been renovated to a high standard while retaining period style. But you are still in an old building, which is especially noticeable in the corridors and foyers. It is a rare pleasure in a hotel room these days to open sash windows. Mayday Hills sits above Beechworth with acres of mature gardens, making for very pure air flowing in through your open windows. Being the quiet mid-week, we were upgraded to a corner suite on level 3, which overlooked the asylum on one side and the treed gardens at front. The suite was large, comprising four sections: 1. a sitting area with settee, table-and-chairs, tea-coffee facilities, plus flatscreen television, 2. large comfortable bed facing another flatscreen television, 3. dressing area and wardrobe, with ironing equipment, 4. modern bathroom with shower and spa bath. Linens were white and crisp, towels were thick and fluffy, and the bed firm enough to support and soft enough to cradle.

All Linaker rooms have views overlooking the trees. It is as peaceful spot as you could wish for, with interesting paths through the grounds and many outbuildings. You are also on the spot for Beechworth Asylum Ghost Tours, which we didn't attend because a lot of walking is required. We figured if anything was going to be haunted, it would just as likely be the Linaker as the Asylum! Free parking and breakfast were included in the room rate. The buffet Continental breakfast was generous and of good quality, particularly the Jim Jam marmalade. Staff throughout our stay were friendly and professional.

The few minor negatives are not deal-breakers, but should be noted: a) Free parking requires something of a walk to either of the two hotels, so some logistics may be required to drop off at the front door heavy luggage and people who can't walk easily. b) The Arbor restaurant is located close to the George Kerferd hotel, which means Linaker guests must walk or move their car closer for meals. c) Being an old property, roads are rutted and uneven in places, so if you require wheelchair access you would be better staying at the single storey George Kerferd rather than the Linaker. d) Again on roads, there are several speedbumps which are not easily visible in dappled light, so could do with painting to highlight them.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay very much and would certainly stay at the George Kerferd or the Linaker again in future.

Room Tip: Most rooms at Linaker overlook the arboreal gardens, but be sure to ask for a room with a view.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redbarnchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews