We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (663)
Filter reviews
663 results
Traveller rating
643
20
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
643
20
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 663 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2018

Very comfortable accommodation, lovely hosts & the location is perfect. Everything is within a 10 minute walk from the property. The evening drinks & nibbles are a lovely surprise & breakfast is freshly cooked & fantastic

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank manwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter b, Owner at Finches of Beechworth, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2018

Thank you for taking the time to give us a great review.We are glad that you enjoyed our hospitality and your stay at Finches kind regards Peter & Margo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2018

My wife and I stayed here for the weekend and were delighted with every aspect of our stay. The rooms are tastefully decorated and feel quite luxurious. We stayed in the king room, the bed was super comfy and had great pillows and bedding. Peter and Margo are wonderful hosts and we will definitely come back.

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank MarkJohn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter b, Owner at Finches of Beechworth, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2018

Margo & Myself are so gratefull for the great reveiw that you have written .We are really proud of what has been acheived in the last 5 years .I believe that service and personalities contribute to this

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018

A gem is something uncommon and precious to be appreciated for its rarity value and exquisite qualities. I found such a gem in a small historic town a few hours outside of Melbourne in a town called Beechworth and at a lovely B&B , The Finches of Beechworth.

The Finches is exactly what I was looking for on my last trip to Australia. I wanted to see some of these incredible gold miner towns rich in history and charm. Beechworth was a town well preserved, quaint and intimate. There are great little restaurants there and kind and friendly residents quick with a hello and smile.

The Finches of Beechworth is perfect for a stay in Beechworth. Margo Maller and Peter Bryge are the inn keepers who take time out to chat see how your day is going and to recommend the best spot in town for dinner, for a tour, our were to bend an elbow with locals. Each evening they have a nice surprise where guests gather for local artisan snacks and local wine and a chance to catch up for advice from Margo and Peter or to share your days adventures with other guests.

The B&B offers a welcoming stay with personalized hospitality, exquisite décor and uber comfortable accommodations. The B&B is absolutely stunning and perfect from the interior decorations and the way that it has been restored. The outdoor gardens are exquisite as well with beautiful roses and flower, wild parrots, and a gurgling water fountain as well as a refreshing swimming pool.

Margo’s previous life as an interior designer is evident in the color palate, objects d’art, and curios that are a treat l for the eye as well as a warm place to relax and reconnect with a loved one. Breakfast is a scrumptious as well with Margo’s delicious homemade treats and a full hot brekkie. .

This is one place to rate as a perfect 10 if there was such a think on Tripadvisor. Its easy to recommend and an holiday that will be long remembered after the luggage is unpacked back home.

For those visiting Melbourne, don’t just stay there in town. Travel outside and see some of these charming gold belt towns north of the city. Beechworth is one of the most well preserved and has an interesting story beyond worthy of the journey. When there you will cannot be more delighted than a stay at The Finches of Beechworth.

Room tip: Margo is a design master...all the rooms are fantastic
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter b, Owner at Finches of Beechworth, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

Wow!! what a fantastic review for us and the Town of Beechworth. We are so pleased that you had the time to experience everything we do at Finches ,and your dining at the fine restaurants that are on offer with a 5 minute walk
.We hope that you come back to us regards Margo & Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018

My wife and I stayed at Finches for a wonderful two days. Margot and Peter were the best hosts we have ever had. The pre-dinner drinks and the breakfast were wonderful.The garden is as magnificent as the rooms. Tim & Lara

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank T C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter b, Owner at Finches of Beechworth, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2018

Lara & Tim we are glad that the both of you had a memorable time staying with us at Finches .Hoping that the 2 days made your time relaxing and comfortable
Regards Peter & Margo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018

My husband and I stayed at Finches for one night in early October. It was to celebrate his birthday and visit the acclaimed Provenance restaurant, just five minutes down the road from Finches. Finches was just the birthday treat I hope it would be! A beautifully decorated Victorian home with all the amenities you'd expect in a five star bnb. Margot and Peter were warm, welcoming and cook a delicious hot breakfast - they also have an impressive knowledge of the local area and are more than happy to offer tips on what to visit and where to eat in town.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crombosoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter b, Owner at Finches of Beechworth, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2018

Thank you for your review of Finches, we are thrilled that you took the time to write about us and that you had a relaxing stay with us.Im glad that the birthday was pleasant with what was to be a memorable time in Beechworth. Hoping that we see the both of you again regards Peter & Margo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews