We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and misleading, but tasty.”
Review of Spirit of Punjab

Spirit of Punjab
Ranked #3 of 22 Restaurants in Halls Gap
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$35
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We provide our customer pure indian cuisine cook by our exprience and qualified chefs with beautiful Grampians view.Our price per head start from $15 to 45 suite according to your budget. $1 Eftpos charge apply to every transaction.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My family loves Indian food, so we were very excited about this place, even after reading some of the negative reviews. We ordered the full tandoori chicken, and Halls Gap must have some oddly deformed chickens, because what arrived was 4 legs and 4 thighs. And none of the 8 portions were all that fleshy. What a disappointment, and also some cheeky false advertising (for those playing in the back row, it's not a full chicken!). The flavour was good however.

We also had Butter chicken, lamb Rogan Josh, a garlic and a plain naan, and 2 rice. Both the curries were tasty, however at $22 a curry, without rice, it's pretty steep given the portion size. It is by far the most expensive price per curry I've had in regional Victoria.

The kids menu is poor, our 10yo doesn't mind curry, but the only choice is a chicken roll or chips. The tables are also on the small side, but I guess food tetris could enhance the experience in some circumstances!

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank looby983
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (869)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 869 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

After seeing the high aggregate rating status and recent award for this locale, my wife and I were very excited when booking. Unfortunately nothing extraordinary - a little above average. Entree samosa’s were delightful whereas the Dahl Makani & butter chicken just ok - the former very runny texture, almost watered down whilst the latter lacking in spice (a little bland). The nan’s (plain and garlic) were good quality. Wine on the expensive side - better byo. Service and Covid adherence was exceptional, right down to QR code based menu’s and push button service.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank DazzaMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 July 2021 via mobile

We called in today for lunch and our meal was great , chicken tandoori was great with friendly service we would recommend this place.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank Macka6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 July 2021 via mobile

Dined here during the week on a cold winters night.
Shared a variety of entree and mains and were warmed by the delicious food.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank cazza6662016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 June 2021 via mobile

Excellent food, vindaloo was beautiful, Fun night for a big group. Good service. Beer and rice was a bit pricey. Totally recommend this restaurant

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Bettybear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Spirit of Punjab also viewed

 
Halls Gap, Grampians
 

Been to Spirit of Punjab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.