We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$266
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rustic Refuge Guesthouse(Kalorama)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Holly Lodge(Kalorama)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (7)
Filter reviews
7 results
Traveller rating
6
0
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
0
0
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 7 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Felt very uncomfortable..the bed was hard and on the side with the t.v in a awkward position..felt like we were intruding on someones house with there own private family pics on display..breakfast was rushed and weird and another guy stood there awkwardly looking..couldnt move our car when we wanted...actualy very uncomfortable and paid too much for this..hated it realy..couldnt wait to leave

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My partner and I stayed here on a saturday night and it was like stepping into a fantasy. From the moment we got there we were told some history of the how the place got started and history of some of the artefacts in the common area and our room. The views were incredible, the room was stunning and cosy and warm and the four poster 300 year old bed was just something else! One of the best nights away we've had in the Melbourne area!

Room Tip: The emperor room has a private entry and the best views! I definitely felt like a Queen the entire stay!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taylemm91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

wow views are amazing great 300 year old bed huge spa for 2 was wonderful after anight out at local restraught double glazed doors & windows no noise from outside ,champain on arrival . We only booked at last min 4pm sat got in at 6.30 after room had been prepared .Clark and Anna our hosts were great .Rooms were very clean attention to detail was great.Wonderful night for my birthday will be going back again later in the year for my wifes birthday

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here. Stayed with my wife for our 1 yr anniversary. We stayed in the emporer room and slept on a 300+yr old bed and enjoyed a massive spa in the bathroom.

The stay here is for the experiance of something different. The chinese breckfast out in the garden atrium was plesant, and looking at each of the antques and garden a bonus. The place is a real love affair from the owners.

Issues with parking, but nothing epic to ruin your stay.

Room Tip: Try and stay with a few friends in multiple rooms to really have funs with the costumes etc.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

This retreat was very authentic down to the last detail, on arrival we were taken on a tour of the stunning gardens which wind around the 3 rooms, and overlook on amazing views of Melbourne. There are sun rooms surrounded by cascading flowers and trees, in which you can have your breakfast of a morning and look out over Melbourne while you enjoy your traditional Chinese breakfast, or a traditional English breakfast. Your choice! The traditional Chinese breakfast was delicious and really made the entire stay feel very genuine as it was served on Qing Dynasty porcelain. The rooms including dining area are all styled in antique furnishings and decor, which definitely give you a taste of the Chinese culture as you are immersed in it throughout this retreat. With only 3 rooms it was very private and serene. As we were there on New Years Eve we were able to use the top deck to overlook Melbourne and see the fireworks happening at midnight. It was a very special experience for us and I would really like to point out that the owner Clarke went above and beyond to make us welcome and provide us with anything we needed. A very lovely man and I urge anyone who is considering staying here, to do it. I will definitely be back in the future! I cant wait to see it when it is 100% complete, because even at 90% it was immaculate!

Room Tip: Emperor's Room is the biggest of the 3 rooms. Very luxurious!
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RJL86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews