We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Boat Ramp Motel(Ocean Grove)
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ti-Tree Village(Ocean Grove)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Ocean Grove B&B(Ocean Grove)
Agoda.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
16
29
7
4
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
29
7
4
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool areasliding doorsmall kitchenone nightshort driveself containedget awayriversideaccommodationweekendcabinbbqshops
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 65 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2017

Came with the family on a stinking hot weekend, to swim at the surf beach during the day then to relax in the motel pool later. Very disappointed to learn that the pool hours were from 10am-7pm and anyone using it outside these hours would be required to leave the motel (or words to similar effect in the guest guide book in the room). 7pm - really? - on summer nights when it doesn't darken until 9pm? And the children were disappointed they couldn't go for a not-too-early swim. Most accommodations with pools have hours from around 8am to 9-10pm.
Furthermore, the rooms back onto the pool area, and is a nice place for sitting and having a drink. But there is another rule that guests aren't allowed outside their room in this area after 10pm!!! I can understand that they don't want rowdy groups, but surely they can just state this (with the risk of eviction for such cases) and allow guests to enjoy the facilities they paid for. Truly, it felt like we were on a school camp!
On a positive side, the rooms were modern, and having them all back onto the pool area was good. But the rules did detract greatly from our stay, particularly as we explicitly chose a place with a pool (that we were barely able to use). Management, please consider a change (particularly in daylight saving months) - the rules are over restrictive.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank TJBee69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

The size of the room was bigger than expected. We stayed one night in the small motel with cabin's that take up all of the site. The kitchenette is a fantastic addition with toaster, kettle, bar fridge, microwave and utensils. There is a BBQ in the pool area aswell. Bathroom clean and spacious. There are blankets in the cupboards if you don't want the doona. The only downside was the Pool closes at 7pm and opens at 10am for the summer season maybe change the time to 9am -8/ 8.30 pm?

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank kittyfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnE7165WU, Owner at Riverside Ocean Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2017

Hi
Thank you for your review and feedback. I'm glad you found the rooms comfortable.
The pool hours issue is a bit problematic in that we have to cater for everyone - families with older kids, young couples with babies, retirees, workers etc.
When we have extended the pool hours to 8pm in the past, we have had comments from people about the noise coming from the pool at a time when they are trying to relax on their deck with their evening meal and a vino - hoping for a bit of peace and quiet. A pool brings out the best in kids! It's a bit of the old " you can't please all of the people all of the time" so we try to find some middle ground. That said, if we do get an unusually hot night, we have no issue with extending the opening time beyond 7pm.
Similarly, a 9am opening would disturb those who are looking for a nice, quiet sleep-in. we will continue to review our practices and seek feedback from our guests.
Thanks
John & Wendy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed here with friends from oversees and interstate, and we could not of picked a nicer place.
The apartments were stunning and John the manager could not do enough for us .
Would highly recommend to everyone.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank Pinchy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnE7165WU, Owner at Riverside Ocean Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2017

Thanks so much for your kind words.
It's a pleasure to help, we do our best to make Riverside clean and presentable.
Happy New Year for 2017

John & Wendy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

We checked in to the riverside motel after having a terrible experience resulting in an immediate check out from another place in ocean grove called the terrace loft apartments! Stay away! John at Riverside motel accommodated our every need and any were we needy after our last experience! We decided to stay in a cabin which was beautiful! Everything you need for a short stay or a long stay and more! So close to everything in the gorgeous town of ocean grove! Beautiful kept grounds on site! Nice pool! Great privacy and security! Just a beautiful stay! More than helpful people who were just lovely! Thanks very much for a lovely stay! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank emilatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnE7165WU, Owner at Riverside Ocean Grove, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2017

Thanks guys,
sorry for late response !
so glad you enjoyed your stay, take care.
Happy, safe 2017 to you

Wendy & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Stayed overnight on a recent trip to Ocean Grove. Rooms were clean and comfortable no complaints. Would stay again if need be. Amenities very good and suited our needs. Nothing more to ad except to say keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nekkro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews