We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been twice, and would like to return”
Review of Arcadia Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Arcadia Cottages
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Been twice, and would like to return”
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We've stayed in the Treehouse and the Fernwood cottages, and enjoyed both visits. We are warmly welcomed both times, and shown the features of the rooms - we don't see anyone again until it's time to check out! Breakfast is lovely, rooms a beautiful with lots of light and great forest/garden views from amazing floor to ceiling windows.

Room Tip: get the fernwood cottage for the heated hot tub in the conservetory
See more room tips
Helpful?
2 Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    2
    0
    0
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
43
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

This was the second time I have stayed at Arcadia Cottages. This time, we stayed in the amazing and popular Fernwood Cottage. The host went above and beyond her call of duty to ensure that our stay was enjoyable and relaxing. The moment we stepped into the Cabin, we were transported to a different time zone. The furnishings and fine detail in the cabin are delightful. The attention to detail all throughout the cabin is astonishing. The kitchen is fully equipped, and everything you need is easily located. The main attraction was the hot tub. Honestly I have stayed at many different cabins and accommodations, and this is by far the most exceptional place I have stayed in. The host was amazingly helpful and the cleanliness of the cottage was perfect. The views from the cottage and the location just add the icing to the cake!! Will defiantly be returning to this place in the near future :)

Room Tip: Fernwood Cabin- Added bonus of the hot tub!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pixiefeet2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

These people must be making a killing out of people booking online, and then discovering that children are forbidden. Two months in advance, we booked a room intending to bring our one-year-old child for a quiet mid-week stay during a quiet period. There is NOTHING on the website to indicate that children are not permitted, except a clause in the terms and conditions when processing your deposit. Not seeing that clause, we paid the deposit and only found out later that we would not be able to stay with our child, and a minimum of $50 would be deducted from our refund for "administrative costs". This must happen frequently, because when we telephoned to reason with them, she had a well-rehearsed reply - "It's out of our control..." WELL, if their customer service is fobbed off to a third party and out of their control, we are glad not to stay there. Let's see if they make it any clearer on the website that children are not permitted... at at least $50 a pop for each innocent family booking, why would they?

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank RamblingRose76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Owner at Arcadia Cottages, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
The following statements of policy are presented three times during the on-line booking process: (1) on our Web Site (you have to be on our website to make an on line booking); (2) on the On-Line Booking Proforma and (3) in our Booking Confirmation Letter.
Our Terms & Conditions clearly state… “Arcadia's cottages and grounds are set up specifically for adult couples and are not available for family groups. The maximum occupancy in any cottage is 2 adults. This accommodation is not suitable for children and restrictions apply. Please contact us before making a booking.”
An on line booking cannot proceed until the Term & Conditions be acknowledged and accepted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olinda
0.5 km away
Lochiel Luxury Accommodation
0.4 km away
Como Cottages
Como Cottages
#2 of 6 in Olinda
62 reviews
0.1 km away
Cambridge Cottages
Cambridge Cottages
#5 of 13 in Olinda
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Olinda Country Cottages
Olinda Country Cottages
#6 of 13 in Olinda
23 reviews
2.4 km away
Cottages Monreale
Cottages Monreale
#3 of 5 in Sassafras
68 reviews
2.1 km away
Linden Gardens Rainforest Retreat
Linden Gardens Rainforest Retrea...
#1 of 5 in Mount Dandenong
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcadia Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadia Cottages

Property: Arcadia Cottages
Address: 188 - 190 Falls Rd, Olinda, Victoria 3788, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Olinda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Olinda
Price range (per night): $310 - $403
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arcadia Cottages 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arcadia Cottages is situated at Olinda just east of Melbourne, on top of Mt Dandenong. Arcadia offers accommodation for couples in 4 separate cottages, all hidden away in 3 acres of forested gardens. Each cottage has a log fire and a conservatory, three have spa baths and one has a cedar hot tub spa. Full breakfast provisions are included. Arcadia is off the busy tourist road but only 500 metres to the villages of Olinda and Mt. Dandenong with over 10 restaurants to choose from. There is also a dedicated day spa and an intimate function room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Arcadia Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing