We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but Basic”
Review of Riverstone Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Townsend
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverstone Lodge
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Townsend
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2015

@ $59 per night, we got what we paid for. Clean room but very basic and small. A 1950s style motel. The pool was not yet refilled after the winter. The adjacent restaurant was handy and served down home food. For dog lovers, they do allow your pets.

Room Tip: 1950 type motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TNFoodfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 60 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2015

Rating hotels depends on the price you pay. This hotel is inexpensive and is certainly acceptable for the price. It is about as close as you can get to the Townsend entrance of the Smoky Mountains National Park. This is a very small, family owned, facility. The management was very friendly and helpful. The "lodge" is in two parts, one a single story and the other two stories. The parking lot is graveled, not paved, and that was problem since we were there in a very rainy period. The parking lot of a bit muddy which got on your shoes and into your car or room. There is a swimming pool which had little water and was very nasty when we arrived, but they were cleaning it up for the summer and it looked quite fine when we left. What you don't have at this hotel is in-room wifi. Our AT&T cell phones got zero reception here as well.
The room was very clean, the linens appeared to be fairly new. The sheets were good and the towels were of a quality you might expect at a hotel of this price range, but were fairly new. The floor of the room was a synthetic wood "look" which allowed you to feel that it was clean. All the furniture was particle board with a plastic laminate on it. The only seating in the room was a futon-like thing which wasn't terribly comfortable. We had a queen bed with a "pillow top" which I found to be much too soft, but it appeared to be a fairly new mattress. The bed on one side was less than 12 inches from the wall. There was a microwave and minifridge in the room. The minifridge was set at its highest setting but would barely get our drinks to an acceptable level. I would not place anything that was perishable in the minifridge we had. There was a bare bar on the wall to hang clothes, no closet. There was a fairly decent sized flat screen TV in the room and a TV directory of a lot of channels. With that said, operator error or what, we were only able to get one channel on the TV. Appropriately, Animal Planet!! The bathroom was small but clean. Low ceilings...7 feet I would guess. The toilet tissue holder was placed such that you could not sit straight on the commode :) The toilet lid would not stay up, so you gentleman plan to do your business stooping over to hold the lid up. There was a tub with shower head. Shampoo was not provided. There was not a hair dryer in the room although the owner loaned one to my wife. Electrical outlets are at a premium in the room. The only place I could find to charge our phones and iPads (useless as they were) was in the bathroom and one open socket near the microwave. The room we were in had a door to an adjacent room so a family could share a "suite". My concern was that there was no lock on the door on our side....it felt a tad unsafe. Finally, we had ants, lots of ants, in the bathroom and around the microwave/minifridge area.

Room Tip: There may be wifi available near the office. I would ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2015

We stayed in the older section and it was clean and comfortable. Our bed(s) were comfortable. The window type air conditioner provided white noise so we did not hear any traffic outside. The toilet was cramped (I am 6'3"). We really enjoyed the rocking chairs outside our room. Great location and next to the restaurant. Thank goodness for the wifi because there are no phones and cellphone service is poor.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Mitch M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2015

This is a wonderful little place to stay...Just outside The Great Smoky Mountains, yet so much more peaceful than Gatlinburg (if you want quiet). Although it's older, it's so very quaint! The owner's are very polite & helpful and the rooms are very cozy. There is the Riverstone Family Restaurant within walking distance & the food is delicious! We loved our stay and will definitely stay there again!!!

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Cindy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2015 via mobile

River stone also rents homes by the river. We have stayed at Jack's Shack and this time at Annie's abode. Both are clean and comfortable. And most importantly, right on the river. Great prices as well.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
3  Thank Sheila Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Townsend
1.0 km away
Townsend Gateway Inn
Townsend Gateway Inn
#2 of 10 in Townsend
529 reviews
2.6 km away
Best Western Cades Cove Inn
3.1 km away
Tremont Lodge and Resort
Tremont Lodge and Resort
#8 of 10 in Townsend
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 km away
The Inn On The River
The Inn On The River
#2 of 92 in Pigeon Forge
2,518 reviews
17.8 km away
Motel 6 Gatlinburg Smoky Mountains
18.0 km away
Chalet Inn
Chalet Inn
#50 of 77 in Gatlinburg
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverstone Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverstone Lodge

Address: 8511 State Highway 73, Townsend, TN 37882-4310
Region: United States > Tennessee > Townsend
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Townsend
#2 Family Hotel in Townsend
#5 Romantic Hotel in Townsend
Price Range: $66 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverstone Lodge offers the best. We have a list of great things to do right here. Large simming pool, Large deck with camp fire every night (roast marshmellows - hot dogs) or just sit back in rocker and relax. Weekend bluegrass bands. River right here to fish, tube, swim or just look at. This is the place you always were looking for but didn't know where it was. You finaly found it. So what are you waiting for? Come on, pack, lets go. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riverstone Hotel Townsend

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing