We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Pizza”
Review of Comfort Pizza

Comfort Pizza
Ranked #3 of 25 Restaurants in Comfort
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$18
Cuisines: Pizza, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: Hand Tossed Wood Fired Sour Dough Pizza, Craft & Imported Beer, Wines by the Bottle/Glass, Salads, Espresso drinks, Cold Brew Coffee, Imported Italian Gelato & Blue Bell Ice Cream. Comfort Pizza is located in a renovated 1920's Gas Station with cool retro outdoor dining under large red umbrellas surrounded by planters full of red roses and string lights. Location is in the center of Comfort's historic district with shops/boutiques housed in buildings dating back to the mid 1800's. Comfort Pizza rents retro bikes for touring the historic district for 8.00 for the entire day & Comfort Pizza is only a few blocks from the confluence of the Guadalupe River and Cypress Creek. Reservations for dough are accepted in advance and are highly recommended on busy evenings and weekends (please call pizzeria during normal business hours to reserve dough in advance)
Reviewed 1 April 2016

The only place open, the night we stayed in Comfort -- but that's not a criticism. It's very laid-back outdoor patio dining. We had greek salad and a straightforward pizza. Really good, nice thin crust. Wine by the bottle or BYO (from High's just up the road). The cook/owner does everything.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank 244simonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T_and_Ty, Owner at Comfort Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2016

Thanks Simon for the great review :)
See you next time,
T & Ty (the pizza guy:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 56 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2016

We were shopping in Comfort and a lady in the library recommended this place, she said they serve some organic and natural foods and make a lot of the dishes on site.
We found it and the end of the Main St..
You order at the window and either sit under the roof on the old gas station or out in the patio area under the trees and umbrellas.
We shared a homemade pizza and had drinks.
The pizza was delivered to our table. it was very good and we left nothing.
My wife's beer was ice cold as was my tea.
Perfect place in a revitalized downtown area.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TexasTravler45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T_and_Ty, Owner at Comfort Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2016

Thanks TexasTravler45 for the kind words.
We are so glad you enjoyed your Comfort Pizza!
See you next time,
T & Ty (the pizza guy:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2016

We eat regularly at Comfort Pizza when passing through town on our way to Ft. Davis. They make some of the best crust I have found anywhere, and the servings of wine are generous. Be sure to check with them before your meal to be sure they have dough, for sometimes they run out since it is always freshly made. Nice patio outside, but be aware there is no inside dining.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Gator2743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T_and_Ty, Owner at Comfort Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2016

Gator2743 thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor.
Great tip regarding calling ahead and reserving dough (830-995-5959). Our slow & cold wild sour dough recipe takes a time to develop it's flavors so we can't just rush another batch when we sell out but we do take reservations so our fans can always be sure they will have pizza when they arrive in "Comfort".
BTW...we love Fort Davis...the Indian Lodge in the Davis Mountains is not to be missed.
Best regards, T & Ty (the pizza guy :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2016 via mobile

Slow food for sure. Took longer then expected but worth the wait. Tasted fresh. Crust was thin and crispy. Topping options were plentiful. BYOB option but the fees are nuts. Overall very good and would go back.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank Dkpamthera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T_and_Ty, Owner at Comfort Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2016

Dkpamthera...thanks for taking the time to give us an online review.
We're so glad you found your Comfort Pizza "yummy".
BTW, Corkage is 10.00 per table (not per bottle...that's 10.00 for as many bottles as your party cares to bring and we provide wine glasses for the table). The beer BYOB is just 5.00 per person. We are one of the few restaurants around that even allows BYOB and our corkage is actually less than half the local average. We're sorry you found this "nuts" but most of our guests tell us they find it a bargain and really appreciate us having BYOB and the unlimited bottles for 10.00 policy
Thanks again for your review...T & Ty (the pizza guy :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2016

Oven pizza is the best! Their dough is like no other. Call ahead on weekends if possible - they prepare a set amount of dough - once out, that's it until tomorrow

Date of visit: January 2016
1  Thank Texan312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T_and_Ty, Owner at Comfort Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2016

Texan312...thank you so much for the online review of Comfort Pizza. We're glad you love our wild yeast sour dough and thanks for reminding others in the Trip Advisor community that reservations are recommended because we do sell out often (830-995-5959 during regular business hours for dough reservations).
Best regards, T & Ty (the pizza guy :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Comfort Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing