We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, shame our stay wasnt longer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Fairmont Dallas
Ranked #18 of 203 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, shame our stay wasnt longer”
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Excellent stay in this hotel, we booked something that was a bit above average price so expected a decent hotel, and we were pleasantly suprised by the standard of the Fairmont.
great customer service, lovely rooms, friendly staff. Also nice swimming pool and pool service. i got the feeling this predominantlly a hotel for businness men/women but there were also a fair amount of friend/families/couples there too.
location very good, your in downtown dallas pretty much.
only downer was the wifi wasnt free,but thats a minor and theres a free internet room in the lobby, unlimited internet if needed.

The breakfast was perfectly cooked and the bar was nice to have a drink in the lobby.

obviously there are cheaper options in dallas downtown but for the slight extra you seriouslly cant go wrong with this hotel, was worth paying the extra 30 or 40 bucks

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieNorwood, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Dallas, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Thank you for providing feedback about your stay at The Fairmont Dallas. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay! Should we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future, you may be interested in enrolling in our Fairmont President's Club, a recognition program designed around your passions and what is important to you. Enrollment in the FPC program is free, and FPC members receive high-speed internet access free of charge. Thank you for choosing The Fairmont Dallas, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,859 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    948
    569
    203
    88
    51
See reviews for
276
453
89
821
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Excellent stay and breakfast was phenomenal. Staff was very friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincetonBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieNorwood, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Dallas, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay at The Fairmont Dallas. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the service provided by our staff. We hope that you will visit us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

I stayed at Fairmont for a work conference. I changed my first room in the south tower because during the night it was very noisy due to a generator or some type of loud air system behind the wall in the foyer area. The 2nd room in north tower was quiet but instead of a nice Sony clock radio it had an old fashioned looking alarm clock that could not be seen in the night. Also the shower head broke while I was showering and had to be replaced. Also one of the wastebaskets was not emptied on one days, nor were the toiletries replaced. Upon checkout, I was charged $7.50 for a bottle of water in the room that I did not use (the front desk removed the charge). I liked that there was a Starbucks in the hotel. The hotel was merely OK and not one I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieNorwood, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Dallas, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am sorry to hear that the service you received was unsatisfactory. Feedback such as yours is especially valuable as our colleagues consistently strive to provide excellent service for all of our guests. I will share your comments with the appropriate department heads to ensure that these issues are addressed. Thank you again and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

The Fairmont Hotel is located in the artist center and is greatly reachable and only 25 min distance from the airport, almost downtown. We had a very pleasant stay, however, the service was somehow 'very professional' instead of warm and obliging.... We stayed for 4 days during the week and had a great suite at the executive level – plenty of room for 2 persons.

The highlight in the morning was the breakfast at the lounge at the 18th floor and I really enjoyed the choice of fruits, warm dishes and great coffee.

The only thing missing for a really excellent stay: by spending 4 nights at the hotel, I would have expected that our towels might have been changed at least once (and there was no ecologic hint available in the bathroom) and that amenities like shower gel and body milk would have been replaced at some point in time. Instead I was frustrated by squeezing out the rest of it….

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MexicoViva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I stayed in a lovely room on a high floor. The room itself was immaculate, the view was great, and the hotel itself was warm and well-appointed, with nice touches like excellent, non-glaring bathroom lighting and artwork in the lobby. The staff I encountered were uniformly efficient and kind, and I walked to all of my downtown business meetings. A few warnings: food and parking are pricey (half a grapefruit: $8; parking: $25/night), and avoid rooms by the ice machines, which are loud.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texanroadtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieNorwood, Public Relations Manager at The Fairmont Dallas, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Hello and thank you very much for sharing your experience with us in this forum. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your guest room accommodations and that you had a positive experience. We hope to see you again very soon at The Fairmont Dallas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#4 of 203 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,224 reviews
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#6 of 203 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#3 of 203 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
#22 of 203 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,606 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Homewood Suites by Hilton Dallas Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Dallas

Property: The Fairmont Dallas
Address: 1717 N Akard St, Dallas, TX 75201-2301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Dallas
#8 Family Hotel in Dallas
#9 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#13 Business Hotel in Dallas
#14 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
Price range (per night): $249 - $529
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Dallas 4*
Number of rooms: 545
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Texas we do things in a big way, and The Fairmont Dallas is no exception amongst hotels in Dallas, TX. In this modern city of soaring skyscrapers, The Fairmont Dallas luxury hotel sets the standard for style and elegance. With our ideal location in the heart of the Downtown Dallas Arts District, we are situated just moments from incredible fine dining, shopping, arts and world-class entertainment. Newly redesigned luxurious guest rooms and suites offer warm hospitality, modern décor and that special Texas flair for an unrivaled travel experience. Fairmont Gold, an exclusive boutique lifestyle experience, is designed to fulfill the needs of the discerning business executive and leisure traveler, with elite lounge access and all of the comforts of home. Enjoy The Pyramid Restaurant & Bar’s four-star cuisine and a Starbucks conveniently located on the lobby level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fairmont Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Dallas Hotel Dallas
Fairmont Dallas
Dallas Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing