We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveller rating
176
12
7
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
176
12
7
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarriage housetejas roomlocal artistsmagnolia aveclaw foot tubb and bprivate saunawalking distance to numerous restaurantsjune weddingbath saltsquiet neighborhoodbreakfast was delicioustrue texas hospitalityevery amenityarts districtnext morningbowl game
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 197 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2018

This bed and breakfast is centrally located in Fort Worth with many nice restaurant options within walking distance. The property is very clean and well maintained with tasteful decor. They offer wine and light snacks for guests to enjoy. One thing that is a bit different than what I have seen in our other B and B stays is that you rarely ever see the proprietor or innkeeper. They have a self check-in, so you don't see anyone upon arrival. In the morning, there are two very friendly and helpful young ladies fixing and serving breakfast. One of those is the innkeeper. She was very willing to answer any questions and offer recommendations, but we only saw her at breakfast in the mornings. My favorite part of staying at the Texas White House was the breakfast conversation with the other guests. The breakfast was adequate, but not quite up to par with others at this price point. All in all, I would recommend this property, particularly for folks who prefer to be left alone.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank suzanne9209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lu_lu068, Owner at Texas White House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Thanks for your review, we actually have 5 staff members, including myself. We are hard at work, behind the scenes: making breakfasts and snacks for the guests, cleaning, working on the landscaping of the grounds and runnings errands to keep the place supplied. I am sorry we didn't see you much during your stay, there is always someone around if you need us. Our guests are usually busy sightseeing and shopping and attending seminars so we don't always see them in the middle of the day. I am glad you were able to join us for breakfast, we always make an authentic Mexican breakfast on Saturday mornings, which is a 3 course meal. Breakfasts vary from day to day with seasonal produce and chef creations to provide a variety of experiences for our guests. We have such wonderful guests from all over the world and just down the street, I love the conversations around the table!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

Made last minute plans to see friends performing at Billy Bob’s enormous complex near the Stockyards! The Fort Worth White House popped up on the radar and the Tejas room was booked. The public areas are convenient and cozy, with a great fireplace for cold mornings or nights. There are two dining areas for experiencing one of the best breakfasts in town! The Tejas Room was filled with period pieces, a comfy bed and seating areas, as well as a claw foot bathtub with shower. The staff starts caring for you well before arrival with gentle inquiries such as dietary constraints, etc., and keeps up this friendly but non-invasive courtesy throughout your stay!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank NickRufus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lu_lu068, Owner at Texas White House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

Nick, thanks for the review, sorry for the delayed reply, we get so busy in the spring, I missed it! it is nice to read your review about the cozy fireplace...seems so long ago (it is now July), and we don't even look at the fireplace right now! We are thinking ice cream and ice cold sangria for happy hour! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

We looked high and low for a venue for our small, casual wedding (40 guests including the bridal party); we could not have chosen a better spot. Cindy and Mindy and their staff truly went above and beyond to make our day the most special, happy, stress-free day possible, and helped me plan every detail to make sure it was exactly what I wanted. Although we had planned for an outdoor event, it rained all night long the night before and buckets that morning! It could have been a nightmare, but it actually turned out to be better than I ever could have imagined. The inside of the house is so pretty and decorated with artwork from local artists, which made for such a neat backdrop and suited our casual theme perfectly. There was plenty of room to accommodate our guests for the ceremony and the reception afterwards, and thanks to the beautiful covered porch we were still able spend time outside. The location is great (just outside of downtown on the edge of a cool, historic neighborhood); afterwards we took a short Lyft ride over to a local brewery to continue our celebration with all of our friends. Some of our guests stayed at the b&b (we stayed in The Treehouse - loved it!) and the next morning we all had breakfast together. Everyone said it was the best wedding they had ever been to. :) The home and grounds are beautiful, the rooms are spotless and exactly as pictured, the food is wonderful, and the location is so convenient. Looking forward to staying here again!!

Room Tip: The Treehouse has a jacuzzi tub with a hand held shower head (no stand up shower). It is a beautiful room; very comfy and private.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lu_lu068, Owner at Texas White House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Thanks Jennifer, the photos are beautiful! We are hosting several weddings again this year...hoping for nice weather outdoors...but we know what to do in case of rain!
Hope to see you back for anniversaries and other get-aways!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017

Beautiful old home and well-run. The descriptions on their website perfectly match what we found. Bed was comfortable and bathroom spacious. Breakfast was very good as was the service. Also, conveniently located within walking distance of other restaurants and attractions. We were in Fort Worth as a combination anniversary and to attend the Armed Forces Bowl game at TCU's stadium. If I come back to the Colonial golf tournament, we will stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DFoster_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lu_lu068, Owner at Texas White House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

We are so glad you enjoyed your get-away! Please do come visit (and stay) for the Colonial! Hope to see you in the spring, if not before, so much to do in Fort Worth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017

I was searching for a birthday treat for my wife when I happened upon articles and reviews of the Texas White House. Since my wife retired, she has spent much of her time trying to rescue and preserve historical structures. So I thought a night in this highly recommended 100+ year old home would be right in her wheelhouse. According to her, I chose well. We both enjoyed a day and night in the Tejas room, as well as the hospitality of the owner (Cindy) and her assistant (Meagan).
The home sits on a huge parcel of land, and the outdoor space is quite complimentary to the home itself, with lots of spaces to sit and relax when the weather allows. Inside is cozy and welcoming. Each room offers something a little different with something to accommodate a variety of tastes. Little extras like filtered water, wine and snacks on the main and upper floors were much appreciated and a nice touch. Breakfast was leisurely, plentiful, and tasty. Another plus is the home is located minutes from museums and a variety of restaurants. For us this was a really nice change of pace.
Cindy and Meagan, if you happen to read this, thank you both for making my wife's birthday special.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank JMike47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lu_lu068, Owner at Texas White House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2017

What a fun trip, to stay in a historic house, visit historic sites and relax all in one weekend! Thanks for choosing us for your birthday getaway!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews