We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome food, nice atmosphere”
Review of Saltwater Grill

Saltwater Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Saltwater Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 324 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$80
Cuisines: American, Asian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 21st Street
Description: The Saltwater Grill is located just steps away from The Grand 1894 Opera House. Featuring an array of tantalizing fresh-from-the-grill and fresh-from-the-kettle seafood specialties, Saltwater Grill is in a class of its own when it comes to quality and attention to detail.
Reviewed 7 June 2018

We walked in for dinner on a Wednesday with no reservations and had no difficulty getting seated. There was a variety of dress from people in shorts to people in business casual to more formally dressed people. We were promptly greeted and asked for our drink order. They have an extensive wine list though I do wish they had some signature cocktails.

We ordered the Shrimp and Crawfish Fondue and the Roasted Beet Salad for starters then split the Chilean Sea Bass. All was wonderful with great flavor and presentation.

Our server was attentive but didn't hover. She kept our water filled and asked if we wanted another margarita at just the right point before we'd finished the first round.

All round a lovely dining experience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jcurry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Saltwater Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

We are encouraged by your fine review. We ever strive to present a lovely dining experience that you have so elegantly described. Thank you and we hope to see you partake from our establishment in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

Two friends and I had a girlfriend mid-week (4 days) getaway in Galveston. Someone had recommended Saltwater Grille, and we were open to try it. Wonderful. Because we were having a laid-back day, we arrived for a late lunch. The waiter was extremely helpful with excellent descriptions and recommendations. The presentation of the food was very good, and we were all pleased with our selections. Interesting, historic building.

Thank djy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Saltwater Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2018

Glad to hear that you and your friends had an enjoyable time. We hope that you keep us in mind next time your in Galveston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018 via mobile

My teenage son and I dined at Saltwater Grill on a Friday night. We walked in at 8pm and were seated right away. There was a larger party on one side of us celebrating a birthday and 2 drunk couples on the other side of us. After the drunken folks left the atmosphere was better. The service was a bit slow but we weren’t in a hurry so it wasn’t a big deal. Our bill was just over $100 and the food was very good. We started with the shrimp and crawfish fondue that I could have eaten as a meal is was so good. My son had a filet mignon and in his words “It’s actually cooked medium rare, I like it.” He also ordered mashed potatoes but didn’t eat them, I think his eyes over loaded his stomach. I had the crispy salmon with crab over spinach in a buttery cream sauce. It was very good and I brought the left overs home. We skipped dessert. We would come back here!

1  Thank Diana_G_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Saltwater Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Thank you, Diana, for taking the time to write us and share your experience! We are very happy you and your son decided to dine with us, and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018 via mobile

We had reservations for 6 PM and arrived shortly after 5 after attending the The Grand 1884 Opera House across the street. We checked in to let the reservation lady know we were there, planning to have drink at the bar before being seated for our dinner. The bar was full of people eating at the bar so they seated us at a table. The waiter accommodate our wise to enjoy our drinks before ordering our meal. The meal was very good and was presented without haste. Our only concern for such a great meal was the hard low ceiling that presented a very noisy environment. Would we go back yes for lunch not for the am evening dining.

Thank Lawco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Saltwater Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Thank you for the great 4-star review and for sharing your experience with us. We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal. We do know it can get a little loud in the old historic buildings such as ours and we appreciate your understanding. We look forward to seeing you again for lunch!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018

Try this place. We visited on consecutive nights because we loved the dinner so much the first night. The Chilean Sea Bass is to-die-for. I am not a fish lover so do not generally order fish when eating out; but since I was splitting with my fellow diner, I bowed to her wishes. The bass was moist, flaky, and melt-in-your-mouth delicious. The beet salad was excellent. Desserts are served on cute plates that are designed by local kids, for sale to benefit the Grand Opera House. If you check out the menu on-line, it will price the desserts at $30, but this includes $25 for the plate. You can order just the dessert, if you wish. We were not a fan of the apple strudel, but the key lime pie was scrumptious. Saltwater Grill is not an intimate place, with meals being served in a large, open room, and can be a bit noisy. The waiters were very friendly and accommodating. As for pricing, the food is typical $$$ pricing but the cocktails were, surprisingly, a couple of dollars less than usual. I would surely go again. This time to try the filet mignon, crusted with blue cheese, hmmmm.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Saltwater Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Thank you, Diane, for sharing your experience with us! We are very happy you enjoyed the food and service! Come back and see us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saltwater Grill also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Saltwater Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing