We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay.....”

Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar
Ranked #30 of 322 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

$12 for the short shrimp poboy sandwich for lunch. There were 7 or 8 shrimp on the sandwich but I expected more for the price. The shrimp we're tasty, a little spicy. One of the friends with me ordered the gumbo but was underwhelmed by it. Our waitress was very friendly and knowledgeable, but service was slow....

Thank Teresa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Thank you, Teresa, for taking the time to submit a review and give us your feedback - we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. On our menu, the shorty shrimp po-boy is $9.99 and the full is $11.99. Please contact me at your earliest convenience with the day and time you were with us and we can certainly check our system. Karla, karla@galvestonrestaurantgroup.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (571)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 571 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2018

Gumbo was very good with a good roux. There is no tomato in the gumbo. Gumbo comes in too sizes the small more than enough for two. Staff friendly. Gumbo has okra in it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jcisenator26858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you very much for your review. We are very glad you enjoyed the gumbo and service! Come back and see us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Each year we travel to the Lafayette area in Louisiana to enjoy dancing to Cajun music and eating Cajun food. We have eaten Cajun gumbo in Lafayette, Mamou, Eunice, Breaux Bridge, Henderson, New Iberia, Mermentau and Iota, so we have a reasonably good idea of how its supposed to taste. Little Daddy's missed it completely. Their roux was very dark, but tasteless. In addition, the meat component is not actually cooked with the roux, it is added just before heating. I ordered the seafood gumbo (shrimp, crab and oyster), and my wife got the chicken and sausage gumbo. We both ordered the Lil Gumbo, which turned out to be a ridiculously large bowl of food. Shrimp, crab and oysters were sparse in my bowl, and eventually I was left with a large amount of roux soup. My wife fared better with the chicken and sausage, so ate part of her bowl. Again, we could not eat it all. Let's go back to the flavor problem. The roux had no bite to pique you taste buds. They had hot sauce in bottles, but spicing up gumbo after it has been cooked is never the same as cooking it with the correct spices, a little cayenne pepper for example, in the first place. We did not try the other dishes, so perhaps they do better with seafood.

Thank Schlauberger1846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review - we value the feedback. We're disappointed to hear that our award-winning gumbo was not to your liking. Some consider our gumbo more Creole, which relies more on herbs, than Cajun, which relies more on a variety of peppers but we certainly appreciate your point. We hope you'll come back and try some of our other items and share your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

The gumbo is not the greatest but the char grilled oysters are awesome. $18 for a dozen but well worth it.

Thank davidtx85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback, David!. We are glad you enjoyed our chargrilled oysters! Come back and see us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

was seated quickly good service good food good employees wife had a big bowl of gumbo with everything in it i have a big burger that was juicy and good also i highly recommend it to everyone

Thank leslie505050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarlaGRG, Public Relations Manager at Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2018

Thanks for the review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and hope you will come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing