We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Convention Center
Ranked #98 of 518 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Chose this hotel for a week-long business trip to Houston as it was the most economical downtown option. Due to a booking glitch, I ended up taking a junior suite instead of a standard room.

What I liked: Convenient location - 5 mins walk to the convention center & Toyota Center, and 10-15 mins walk to Minute Maid Park as well as most downtown shopping and eating places. Helpful and friendly staff. Spacious and quiet rooms with good facilities (fridge, microwave), cleaned daily. Standard breakfast for HIE but nice touch with the milk and cookies every afternoon. Small pool - good for kids.

What could be improved (if possible): Area around the hotel was very isolated after dark. Hotel looked dated in some areas (elevators, exterior). No in-room safe. Public transportation a little sparse and unpredictable, especially on weekends. Carpet felt a little damp when I arrived, not sure if that was due to a recent cleaning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ianwyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

245 - 249 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2012

I stayed in this hotel for a business trip in August 2011. It is good if you are having most of your appointments in downtown Houston, but nothing that cannot be worked around if you have a rented car, as you probably should do anywhere in the US.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeRFreitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We picked this hotel because of its proximity to Minute Maid Park. We were heading to Houston to catch a baseball game. The location was great but the hotel was undergoing renovations that we didn't know about. We were greeted with milk and cookies upon our arrival. Very nice touch. They also had a nice indoor pool and hot tub area. Also, they have a decent continental breakfast with a nice assortment of items to choose from. Unfortunately, there were a few problems with the hotel. The room was a nice size but the room was very musty smelling. So much so our sinuses were bothering us by the time we left. The pool area is nice, but when we tried to use the hot tub, it didn't work. By the time we were leaving for the night game, they had it working, but it was too late by that time for us to use it. The worst part of our stay was being woken up at 3 AM by a couple talking/arguing outside our window. After listening to it for about an hour, we called the front desk (who wasn't there for a bit). They did take care of it, but it ruined our night of sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GStevenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

i have stayed at many Holiday Inn Express hotels and it is just like the rest. Clean, free wifi, free breakfast, nice beds, clean bathrooms. The hotel was totally fine, the staff warm and the only issue was the location during the day didn't feel so safe. At night it felt safe and there were bike patrol police riding around at all times. It is close to great restuarants. For the value, I don't think you can beat it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mudhonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Took grandkids to a concert at Minute Maid and wanted a hotel within walking distance. Did not feel unsafe walking back after the concert ended around 11:30 PM. The hotel was typical Holiday Inn. The room was a little frayed around the edges with a really worn and dirty carpet, but breakfast was good. An added plus was nearby Discovery Green where the kids played in the park the next morning. The room was quiet even though the hotel is extremely close to I-45 and 59.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlynn46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Houston hotels
Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
Holiday Inn Houston Downtown
#139 of 518 in Houston
118 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Houston Downtown
Downtown
Hampton Inn Houston Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
SpringHill Suites Houston Downtown/Convention Center
Downtown
Best Western Plus Downtown Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Convention Center

Address: 1810 Bell St, Houston, TX 77003-4206
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Family Hotel in Houston
#95 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range: $181 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why stay anywhere else? Make The Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Convention Center your first choice for your next trip to Houston, Texas. Located in beautiful downtown Houston one block from the Houston Toyota Center, Houston Rockets headquarters, and two blocks from the Houston Convention Center, Houston s biggest convention center. Astros fan? We are just 0.5 miles from Minute Maid Park and the Astros, 2 miles from the University of Houston, 3 miles from the Texas Medical Center, and 6 miles from Reliant Stadium. The Holiday Inn Express is within a mile of Exxon-Mobile, Chevron, Shell, Meridian, Lyondell, Planned Parent Hood, as well as restaurants and the Houston Theater District.In a hurry? Stop by our complimentary hot breakfast bar and pick up a warm cinnamon roll or a biscuit with gravy, or you can pick from our other favorite selections. Whether you are traveling to Houston for business or leisure our hotel accommodation has all of the must have amenities you expect and more: free parking, large heated pool, business center, fitness center, free wireless Internet access, ATM on site. Enjoy spacious guest rooms, incredibly friendly employees and service. We are sure that on your next trip, you will make Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites your first choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Houston-Downtown Hotel Houston
Holiday Inn Houston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing