We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast food, Great pies, 7 am - 11 pm”

House of Pies Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 184 Dessert in Houston
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Neighbourhood: Great Uptown
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Shrimp omlet was pretty good. Spinach, cheese, and shrimp were in 3 seperate lumps - so it was like eating 3 seperate omlets.

Bacon was super well done and super crispy - not very appetizing.

Pie selection is great.

Nice service.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2021 via mobile

The selection of pies and freshness will not disappoint- hence the name.

Great breakfast stop as well. Huge selection and perfect execution. Nice bacon crisp but not overdone. Everything is homemade from scratch.

Great coffee. Lovely flavor.

Five star service and goo prices.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank TAMAN1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2020

I deliver for Uber Eats and was delighted when I saw House of Pies as my target ! They have the best 24 hour comfort food and PIES in my area and I was always wondering why I was delivering from their competition which is not as good. Joseph and Ariana completed the order and made my client happy - joseph went the extra mile and gave advice and suggestions which I will follow. I am looking forward to delivering to more House of Pies clients - as I and my family have been for decades !

Date of visit: March 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sharonfA885QG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2020

Not been here in a few years but a friend told me they serve a mean fish & fries, similar to a British tradition. Well I persuaded two friends to join me and I have to say I was very disappointed. This is absolutely nothing like a British dish. If anything, I would only serve this to kids.

There was no way of telling what fish was actually served, the server had no idea. The fish tasted like a mashed up end of line fish. I look forward to anyone who can tell me what fish it was. As for the fries, standard frozen fare that you can buy anywhere, like Walmart, Kroger, etc.

The batter was bland, and the fish was not a fish as such, rather it was strips of emulsified fish. Think of chicken strips.

We all had the soup, which was minced beef with mushrooms, looked like they were from the tin. However I enjoyed the soup more than the fish dish.

Having said that, the place is very popular and many are regulars. Sadly, I won't be in a rush to return except for the pies. The last time I had a breakfast here, an omelet as I recall, was five years ago, I wasn't overly impressed then either. Sorry.

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2020 via mobile

Breakfast and desserts are where it's at here. The food is good, but the dessert and breakfast make this 24 hour spot a delight

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank hardtopleaseninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed House of Pies Restaurant also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to House of Pies Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.