We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria
Nearby Hotels
US$186
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Residence Inn Houston by The Galleria(Houston)(Great Value!)
US$119
US$113
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$149
Hyatt.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Houston North(Houston)(Great Value!)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$230
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$396
US$375
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (806)
Filter reviews
806 results
Traveller rating
234
274
168
77
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
234
274
168
77
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cheesecake factorydirect accessgalleria areaself parkingcorner roombusiness tripvaletgaragebellmanupgradestreadmill
Filter
Updating list...
312 - 317 of 806 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We wanted to take advantage of Westin's "Unwind" program, which promised beer and wine tastings in the hotel bar. Unfortunately, the bar does not provide that program as advertised nor is it even OPEN on weekends! Very odd. In addition, there is coffee in the room, however sugar and creamer is not even provided. When staying in a hotel that promotes itself as luxury, one generally feels treated special. We came here for a staycation and just found it to be a terrible, terrible choice for that. The Galleria traffic is awful, the pool area is just a depressing and dismal concrete landscape, and the pillows are soft piles of mush. This hotel would be fine if I was expecting something very basic. It was clean and the rooms were quiet. I was hoping for something special. Nope.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank cpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer R, Guest Relations Supervisor at The Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2014

Dear Cpower,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Westin Oaks. We regret any inconveniences you endured during your visit. It is disappointing to hear that our Street Level Lobby bar was not open during your visit. We do offer another bar at White Oaks Kitchen+Drinks on the third floor of the hotel. We hope you will allow us the opportunity to host you in the future so that we may provide you with a true Westin experience.

Best wishes,
Jennifer Rincon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We stayed here for one night en route home from Galveston and enjoyed it very much. The location is excellent, right at the Galleria and next to the Cheesecake Factory. You can actually walk into the Galleria from the hotel. The room was huge and the beds very comfortable, definitely no complaints. The bathroom was a decent size as well. Customer service was okay, nothing to rave about, especially not having come from another hotel with awesome service. My only complaint is not having free wi-fi outside of the lobby area. A bit perturbed about it since most hotels offer free wi-fi. We stayed only a night so I could live with that. I took off a star because of the lack of free wi-fi. Also, valet parking is not really necessary because there is an entrance in the parking garage that leads direct to the hotel elevators, save yourself some money and park the car yourself.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank eieio2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Location is great. Right next to the Galleria Mall and to some fine restaurants. Rooms are very spacious but this property needs some remodeling. Customer service is good but don't expect them to look very happy for seeing you.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Al M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer R, Guest Relations Supervisor at The Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear AI M,

We appreciate your review of the Westin Oaks. We are glad that our location assisted in providing you with a memorable stay. You may be interested to know that our last renovation was in 2009 and we shall be entering renovations here in the near future. We strive in providing our guest’s with personalized instinctive service and regret that this was not conveyed to you. We hope you will allow us the opportunity to host you in the future so that we may provide you with the true Westin Experience.

Be well,
Jennifer Rincon
Guest Relations Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Stayed there on a business trip recently. Decent enough hotel in a great location. Staff were attentive and friendly and the room was large and clean enough. No card for TV listings provided which was a little inconvenient. Location is the winner here as it is linked to the Galleria Mall. The gym was a little tiny. Overall would stay here again if I ever were in Houston for business.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rayt66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer R, Guest Relations Supervisor at The Westin Oaks Houston at the Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Ray66,

We appreciate the time you took to review your resent stay at the Westin Oaks. We are glad that our staff and location assisted in providing you with a memorable visit. We hope you will allow us the pleasure of continue hosting you during any future travels to the Houston Galleria area.

Best wishes,
Jennifer Rincon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I wish there was room for half stars -- I would really like to give it 3.5 stars -- somewhat better than average, but nothing really warranting a cut above. They have a nifty new elevator system -- instead of pushing "up" or "down" when summoning a lift and trying to guess which doors you should stand in front of, you key in the floor number and it will tell you which car will take you to your floor. Way more convenient than the Westin in Dallas and Chicago (and maybe others) where you have to insert your card and then hit the floor number, but way less secure too, as anyone can now go to any floor. As this hotel is attached to the Galleria mall, there certainly is potential for non-hotel guests to just walk right in.

Rooms are a good size, and as usual the bed very comfy. Extra points for the bathrobe provided (Is this new? Other Westins have not offered this in the past), but lose points for not providing a card with TV station listings. Room service menu was just "meh" although the choices that I did get were fairly good and the service was prompt and helpful. I would have also liked the newspaper to be accessible on the floor in the morning (esp since I was on a Starwoods member floor) instead of having to grab one on my way out at the concierge desk, so that I can enjoy a read with my morning coffee in my pajamas. Better yet, drop it outside the door the way it used to be done.

I was a bit disappointed in the workout room in that it was small and limited (compared to a much larger room at the Westin in Dallas), and (small point), the cups provided at the water dispenser were cone-shaped and not able to be fitted into the cup holders on the equipment.

However, overall, it was a comfortable stay and I would have no problems coming back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank beentheredonethat56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews