We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent day!!!”

Cherokee Trace Drive-Thru Safari
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This 300 Acre Drive-Thru Safari Park features over 25 exotic species from around the world in an open range environment all from the comfort of your car !
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 24 April 2018 via mobile

I had heard of the "drive thru zoo" a couple of years ago and was never able to go, until this passed April 22, 2018... it was THE perfect day to go. the staff were very friendly and helpful. I will say though just a couple bags of feed won't be enough, lol. I ended up getting 8 bags for my drive thru, mainly due to the zebras and the camel stealing the bags out of my car lol! make it a point to check the weather before you go. I had heard and was also told by the staff that as it gets hotter the animals tend to stay where the shade is and are not as active. money well spent!!!

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Lorrissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"feed the animals"
in 20 reviews
"stick their heads"
in 6 reviews
"welcome center"
in 6 reviews
"water buffalo"
in 3 reviews
"red dirt"
in 3 reviews
"drive through"
in 3 reviews
"animals including"
in 3 reviews
"animal food"
in 4 reviews
"bathroom break"
in 2 reviews
"follow the rules"
in 3 reviews
"pay admission"
in 2 reviews
"extra bags"
in 2 reviews
"two hours"
in 8 reviews
"great gift shop"
in 3 reviews
"highland cattle"
in 2 reviews
"hour tour"
in 2 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 2 reviews
Filter

17 - 21 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

I was in Tyler for business and asked what I should see I the area and was told to visit this, even though it was a little out of the way for me. I am so glad I did! It was so much fun for my wife and I to drive through and meet some new furry friends. Follow the rules, but take your time and have fun and you will have a great time! I would absolutely go back if ever I get the chance. My only regret is we did not see the camel or capybaras.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Dustin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

This turned out to be the high light of our spring break vacation. The animals are eager to gather around if you drop a few morsels of food lol. Many of them will stick their head through your vehicle window to steal a little food, especially the Camels. Young children might be a little anxious but we had children 10 and 11 years of age with us. They are still talking about this experience.

Date of experience: March 2018
2  Thank p5hobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

This was our 5th trip & we will definitely be back! There are so many neat animals to see & feed. It's just a great experience overall. Recommended for kids & adults.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank 778kristyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2018

I've been twice and would gladly go again! It's so cool to view and feed the wildlife in a natural habitat. I spent hours driving through this gorgeous park, just poking along looking for new animals and feeding everyone that begged for food. The man at the visitors center was very nice and happy to answer questions. So much fun!

Date of experience: January 2018
2  Thank teddi b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cherokee Trace Drive-Thru Safari also viewed

 

Been to Cherokee Trace Drive-Thru Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing