We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, with a genial manager at the helm.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jefferson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The House of the Seasons
Ranked #10 of 28 Jefferson B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 May 2016

Location was very close to everything, grocery stores, restaurants, clubs. Charming hostess, with great private rooms, with your own bathroom and hot tub. Main house historic and grounds very well kept up. Worth a visit and walk around the property.

Room Tip: All rooms delightful and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mexico1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2016

A.maze.ing. Every detail is thoughtful and inviting. The room was spotless and graciously appointed. The sheets had to be a million thread count. The pillows and mattress were comfy. We stayed in the Epperson suite, but got to peek into the Presidential Suite and they were both spacious and nice.

The grounds are beautiful. The house is like a jewel box time capsule. You can just sit on the porch and relax for hours. Sadie, resident cool cat, might even join you. We learned tons about Jefferson and Texas on the tour (which is free with your room, or can be scheduled and paid for if you have to stay elsewhere). The guest rooms are in the carriage house, not the main house. At first I was disappointed by this, but it's really the best of both worlds. You enjoy the main house, but stay with the modern luxuries like a full Jacuzzi tub in your room!

The hostess/chef/cook/artist/manager, Shirley is a tiny ball of energy and information. She's really sort of amazing - which is appropriate for this place! We had terrific sweet treats each afternoon and breakfasts worthy of a really fancy, expensive restaurant. Every bite of fruit and the tomatoes were perfectly ripe and fresh. The french toast was melt in your mouth cinnamon-y goodness. The sausage and cheese quiche was quite literally the best quiche I have ever eaten.

When you add in the food and tour and sheer relaxation factors, I think it was less of a splurge for our anniversary than a sensible gift to each other!!

Room Tip: Only stairs for the top two rooms, so ask for a bottom room if you can't do stairs. Otherwise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Niki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2016

We had a fabulous getaway weekend! Quiet, relaxing and luxurious. From the beautiful gardens to the delicious breakfast our weekend gave us a time away from the busyness of everyday life. Shirley is an amazing woman, gardener, cook and tour guide! We truly felt like guests in her home.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinkie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2016 via mobile

My husband and I had never been to a bed and breakfast before and I have always wanted to visit Jefferson. The House of the Seasons was amazing! Shirley, the owner made us feel so at home from the moment we arrived! She goes above and beyond! We were greeted with a plate of delicious cookies as she showed us around our room. The room had a stocked refrigerator, snacks, and bath salts for the jacuzzi. The bed was incredibly comfortable; we slept very well. The 3 course, gourmet breakfast Shirley made was amazing! I only wish I had more room in my stomach. The house itself is very lovely and has several pieces original to the house. We were given a tour after breakfast which was very informative not only about the house, but about the history of Jefferson as well. We were so excited to be able to go into the cupola which has 4 different colors of glass to represent the four seasons. Our stay was very relaxing and we could not have asked for a better hostess. We can't wait to come back!

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2015

If you've never stayed at a B&B, this one will spoil you. Beautiful room and furnishings, romantic surroundings, and privacy. What more could you ask for? How about a first-rate breakfast, and a great little town to explore? Top it off with a unique and world-class hostess. We WILL be back!

Room Tip: There's only four rooms to choose from, and you can't go wrong. Go during the week for spec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rouleur71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jefferson hotels
0.6 km away
The Excelsior House
The Excelsior House
#1 of 4 in Jefferson
176 reviews
0.5 km away
The Carriage House Bed and Breakfast
0.5 km away
White Oak Manor Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Delta Street Inn
Delta Street Inn
#1 of 28 in Jefferson
342 reviews
0.6 km away
Benefield House Bed & Breakfast
209.5 km away
The Steamboat Inn
The Steamboat Inn
#12 of 28 in Jefferson
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House of the Seasons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House of the Seasons

Address: 409 S Alley St, Jefferson, TX 75657
Region: United States > Texas > Jefferson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Jefferson
Price Range: $99 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing