We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A really sociable, comfortable stay in a very...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Vinces Barn

Vinces Barn with beautiful landscaped gardens
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Vinces Barn with beautiful landscaped gardens
Spacious sitting room with woodburning stove Spacious master bedroom with own outside seating
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Vinces Barn with beautiful landscaped gardens
Spacious sitting room with woodburning stove
Spacious master bedroom with own outside seating
Master bedroom garden sitting area
Spacious second bedroom
Spacious third bedroom - Cot bed removed and travel cot now provided
Large, modern en-suite bathrooms
Spacious sitting room with seating for 10+
Cosy wood burning stove in sitting room
Hallway with period features
Large kitchen diner
Large, modern, fully equipped kitchen
Cosy garden swing for relaxing
Some of our free range hens providing you with eggs
Some of our adoring goslings
Our lovely Dexter cows
Mature landscaped gardens
Our trusted 'guard'dog will welcome you
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ardleigh, Colchester, Essex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DebM03
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A really sociable, comfortable stay in a very nice property”
Reviewed 13 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Really easy booking process with great communication from owner's daughter (who deals with this side of things) and agreement given to host a slightly larger group of friends for one day of our stay (a pre-Christmas get together) for which we were really grateful. We had no problem finding the property using the detailed directions provided.

One of the owners was lovely - very friendly and helpful throughout our stay and despite being in very close proximity to the owner's own home we didn't feel our privacy was intruded upon at all. It was a slight shame not to be allowed to use the property's front door even on arrival/departure - we'd taken quite a lot of food and kitchen equipment with us, so it was a bit of a mission making repeated trips through the garden and house from where we were able to park/unload from, though that entrance is perfect for taking in luggage as the bedrooms are at the opposite end of the property to the kitchen.

The property is really spacious and comfortable. Particular plus points were the log burner in the main reception room, and the bedrooms which were all very roomy and well appointed and each had a lovely ensuite bathroom. The main bedroom does back on to the road, no problem at all on the weekend but the additional traffic was noticeable on our final morning (Monday). It was also great to have a utility room in addition to the kitchen, the taps in both were leaky but having notified the owner's I'm sure this will be sorted in time for the next guests. The crockery and glassware is worn but serviceable.

Previous guests have commented on the heating being on timer (in a locked cupboard) - we were certainly never cold because of this, if anything we'd have had the heating on a bit less if we'd been able to control it (and taken even more advantage of the lovely wood burner). The property does have wifi but it's pretty slow and at times we had to stand right in front of the internal connecting doors to the owner's property (presumably where the modem lives) to get online and we were never able to access it in the bedrooms - this was absolutely fine for anything we wanted to use the internet for during our stay, but may not meet everyone's expectations.

Overall we had a lovely long weekend at this property and I'm sure others will too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Dec 2016
Thank you for your valued feedback and letting us know about the things that can be improved. These are being looked into / sorted as we speak.

It was a pleasure having you to stay and we hope to see you again soon.

John, Jenny and Sinead Creswell
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maddy B
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable and spacious in a lovely part of the country”
Reviewed 2 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We spent 4 days here and found we had everything we needed. The setting is great and we found lots to do in the surrounding area.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2016
Thank you so much for your feedback, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Vinces Barn.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TracyAnnH...
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“An excellent holiday home, spacious, quiet and homely”
Reviewed 11 August 2016 for a stay in May 2016

An idyllic property. Coming from London it was wonderful to have so much space and peacefulness. All the rooms were spacious and immaculate, with a neat garden. Each room was ensuite! Being in the middle of a working farm was wonderful, with fresh eggs everyday ! The owners were always on hand if needed and we learnt a lot about rearing chickens. My favourite was a real log fire !! We felt so comfortable in this property - would definitely recommend and hope to visit again.
The surrounding areas were beautiful. Green Island Gardens was a two minute drive away and well worth a visit. A big thank you to the owners.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Log fire
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2016
Thank you for your positive feedback, it was a pleasure having you to stay and we hope to welcome you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pat663
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“a bit disappointing!”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Needs a thorough clean, especially in the kitchen.We had to wash everything before use! And blaming previous guests for the problem, was not really a reason, the accommodation and equipment should surely have been checked.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback and our apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced. Following your feedback we have reviewed our cleaning procedures and taken steps (including hiring a new cleaner) to ensure this won’t happen again.

Thank you again for staying with us and once again our sincere apologies.

Regards

John & Jenny Creswell
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Jun 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback and glad you enjoyed your stay. Our property definitely offers plenty of living space both indoors and outside. Our property is tucked away from the heart of Ardleigh village but only a short drive to the town centres of Colchester and Ipswich and easy access by train into London and close proximity to the A12 (north and south) and A120 to Harwich.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing