We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magical desert getaway!”

La Loma Del Chivo Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Loma Del Chivo Hostel
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

Quirky, unusual and absolutely magical, La Loma del Chivo Hostel oozes creativity and originality. I'm so grateful to Ingrid for taking me in for the night on my cycle trip; it's unlike anywhere I've ever stayed before. I really enjoyed cooking in the outside kitchen, perusing the (wonder)fully stocked bookshelves, examining the interesting collection of trinkets lining the shelves, exploring all of the different buildings (made from 100% recycled materials!) and sleeping under the stars, which are absolutely spectacular so far into the desert. If you don't mind the occasional spider and are keen to see something truly different, inventive and fun then this place is a must!!!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goatqueen, helper at La Loma Del Chivo Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

You are more than welcome and thank you.We love cyclists here and many came trough here. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2017

Anybody staying here especially those who are going through airbnb to rent a room / cabin should have their heads examined. This was probably one of the worst places that I've stayed at. This is not the place to take children.

This establishment is at the end of a dirt and stone dead end road. This place has so many safety issues that it should be closed and taken down. Because the village of Marathon is unincorporated, there are no codes with regards to construction and fire codes.

The only reason why I stayed here is because it is supposedly run by a member of the Warm Showers cycling group and cyclists stay here the first night for free (only if there are no paying customers),

There is a strange warning sign on the wall next to the door of the bunkhouse that states that the people of the establishment does building and other kinds of experimentations (not specified) and by staying there you give them permission to include you in the experiments. There is also a sign that says that the owners of the establishment are not liable for any injuries or loss of property.

The bedroom in the bunkhouse was terrible. There was exposed wiring in the ceiling, electrical outlets without faceplates, and an out-dated fuse box in the bedroom on the wall next one of the beds. Just three beds in the room. It's best that you provide your own bedding / sleeping bags. Two of the mattresses were in a very flimsy bunkbed. The top bed mattress was at least seven feet above the floor and no safety railing. I didn't get any sleep because it sounded like there were wild animals in the attic above the room. There are two sofas in the main meeting room and a broken down folding cot.

I couldn't get the bedroom warm with the small space heater provided because one of the front walls didn't go clear up to the ceiling. The place is a death-trap. There were no smoke alarms. There was one fire extinguisher outside in the kitchen area for the whole establishment but it looked like it had never been recharged in years. It was covered in dust. The buildings do not have any locks on them.

The kitchen is an outside one and is not fully covered with a roof. There are several microwaves and a propane cookstove and the propane tank was not in a vented location. Propane fumes could leak through the wall into the sleeping area of the bunkhouse.There wasn't a firebreak on the wall behind the cookstove. The kitchen was filthy. There was a refrigerator in the bunkhouse and it was filthy.

The bath-house was terrible. It is coed and there wasn't an inside lock on the door. Using a port-a-toilet would have been cleaner. There is no way that I would have I stepped into the tub and tried to take a shower if there was hot water. The hot water heater is run by propane and the tank was not outside in a vented location.

You need to have your own flashlight at night if you have to use the restroom because most of the solar powered lights are broken along the stone and rubble walkway.

The law enforcement of the county wants to shut this place down for safety reasons. Several years ago, the people running the hostel brought in hoboes and they stole the residents of the community blind. During Spring, Summer, and Fall, this place is overun by undesirebles.

Wifi was advertised but there is none.

Stay away and get a room at one of the two motels in town.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms. Avoid and get a room at one of the two motels in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Rev Johannes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goatqueen, helper at La Loma Del Chivo Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Sir,
You were shown the accommodations prior to checking in and were given a free night as a cyclist. Most of your comments of our place are inaccurate at best. I am sorry your visit was not what you expected. I don't understand why so much anger and hatefulness is expressed in your comments. After all, if you were unhappy with your free accommodations you were under no obligation to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017

We booked this place thru airbnb because it was the only place available at that time in marathon. If you have kids please dont choose this place. The place dont have locks. So you will sleep in a place that you wont feel safe in middle of nowhere and hippies community. The shared bathroom is also not a good idea if you have kids. There were dogs poop right next to our car and at the front door of this dom. The room is ok but not clean. Dusty. I really like the style tho. Colorful and weird. Love the top deck. Very unique. We didnt use the shared outdoor kitchen. Its not clean. There was cockroachs in the cabinet. The mattress is super old. Something bit my kids back. The whole back has pumps. Again, its an ok place if you single with friends or a young couple BUT not clean and safe for kids. The owner was friendly and easy to work with.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank congchihan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016

This place in not luxury BUT you will not find a more unique place or a more interesting place anywhere. It's somewhat run down but it's a cross between "earth-ship" houses, a hippie commune from the 60's and an art museum. There are African sculptures, Asian rugs, a mid-eastern dagger, antique toys, a 1920's/30's gas pump.....and so on. If you're and art lover, you HAVE to see the "Museum Room".
There is little light pollution if you want to star gaze.
I stayed at the Loma so I could visit Big Bend which is very close to there.

Room Tip: See the Museum Room!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cliff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2015

got rained out at ft davis with a huge storm. had to change plans and let the storm blow over.. a riding buddy showed us this place and we called to see if we could get in..owner was out of town but a free spirit opened up the hostel to us and showed us around.. this place is very funky and earthy. but it was perfect for a place to crash for the night, dry our riding gear and enjoy the evening. it's a hostel in the middle of no where.. it's not a 5 star resort.. but it's very cool hangout and cheap.

Room Tip: If you don't expect much and enjoy the vib.. this place is cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kenaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to La Loma Del Chivo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Loma Del Chivo Hostel

Address: 401 SW 6th St, near Big Bend National Park, Marathon, TX 79842
Region: United States > Texas > Marathon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Marathon
Price Range: S$107 - S$110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If Marathon is the gateway to Big Bend, then La Loma Del Chivo is Marathon's diamond in the rough. With a bewitching view of blue clouded skies and gorgeous desert terrain, this hostel offers all the amenities one requires for a comfortable stay. Some of the beauty of La Loma Del Chivo includes, but is not limited to: Traveler's Roost - very dog friendly - an "observatory" - camp space - outdoor kitchen - brick pizza oven - brand spankin' new garden ready for fingers and toes to help cultivate beauty - sustainable construction - papercrete - art - innovation - simple outdoors - solar heated outdoor shower - rain catchment - solar lighting - solar toilet - composting toilet - recycled building materials - walking distance to the main street - Se habla Espanol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your La Loma Del Chivo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing