We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Stay. Better than expected.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 - Mcallen/Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Super 8 - Mcallen/Downtown
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in McAllen
Certificate of Excellence
Republic of Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Stay. Better than expected.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2009

The outside isn't much to write about, except that it looked as if some repainting was going on. The rooms had been updated and were nicer than I expected for $60 a night. New paint and decorations, marble topped side tables and desk. Mini fridge was cold and microwave worked. A/C worked great. It was 102 outside, but my room was chilly. Bathroom had been updated nicely, but was small. My room actually entered on the ground floor, but the room was up stairs. Sort of like a little studio apartment. The kingsize bed was excellent, with great pillows too. No pool if you have kids. The wireless internet connected easily, and ran plenty fast for me. The front desk help was quite friendly, and coffee and a muffin is about max for me and breakfast, so that was fine too. Parking in front is limited, but I had no problem during the week. It probably fills up on weekends. For a three night business stay on the cheap, it was a good deal: 7 minutes to the golf course, and 12 to the office. For around $60 a night, this was a nice little hotel. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MuyGrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    63
    21
    9
    7
See reviews for
106
37
19
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
64 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2009

Had to stay at this hotel as my office placed the reservation. If it were up to me I would not have stayed. Check in was a bit surly, the rooms were a bit shabby, the fridge had all it's handles ripped off, no plugs for the bath... so no baths. Also noisy. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ZacharyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2009

Traveled to McAllen for 4 days to visit a friend. Booked through hotels.com for a great price and due to good reviews at their site. I found the hotel to be in excellent condition, clean and comfortable. The morning breakfast buffet is standard and adequate, with breads, cereals and beverages. The queen-size beds in the double rooms are extremely comfortable, each bed with 4 pillows and a small decorator pillow. The sheets were soft and luxurious feeling and the room was very clean. At one point, I left something valuable in the room out in the open and it was still there when I returned hours later, after housekeeping service. I would definitely return to this hotel for its proximity to the airport, shopping and restaurants.

  • Liked — The comfortable beds.
  • Disliked — No complaints.
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Quiltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2008

I'm not sure where the pictures on this site came from but they do not reflect the property where we stayed. The room was dark, dirty and unfurnished. We paid for a Suite and the only thing in our scarecly furnished room was a king bed, a couch and a table with the TV. The bathroom had paint peeling, the floor was cracked around the corners and I felt dirty even after a shower. I would never stay there again and do not reccommend it to anyone else.

The breakfast area was very smal and unattended. Please don't waste your money.

  • Liked — Unfortunately nothing
  • Disliked — Unfortunately, everything
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank cheraswade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2008

WE HAVEN'T EVEN WALK INTO THE RAMADA LIMITED AND THEY ARE PROVIDING THE WORST SERVICE ALREADY. The service was so bad that we had to even call Ramada Corporate and file a case number with them. We booked the hotel room with two beds, instead they gave us one bed so we called in to have it resolved. But we were treated without patience and hung up by the same person twice, later he apologized by saying he was "in training", is that how Ramada trains their hotel staff? PLEASE DON'T EVEN THINK ABOUT STAYING THERE!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank houstonrockets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raidervik, Assistant General Manager at Super 8 - Mcallen/Downtown, responded to this review, 12 May 2008
Guest booked room through a 3rd party website(expedia,priceline,travelocity,hotels.com,e.t.c.). and they reserved a one king bed at there request. Guest did not want to pay upgrade fee for 2 beds. Guest called 3rd party website
to change their mistake but did not want to pay upgrade fee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these McAllen hotels
0.6 km away
Smart iStay Hotel in McAllen
0.4 km away
Studio 6 McAllen
Studio 6 McAllen
#21 of 42 in McAllen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites McAllen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Mision Express McAllen
Mision Express McAllen
#25 of 42 in McAllen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.9 km away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel McAllen
1.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Rose Garden Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 - Mcallen/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 - Mcallen/Downtown

Property: Super 8 - Mcallen/Downtown
Address: 1505 S 9th St, Exp 83 West and 9th Street, McAllen, TX 78501-2903 (Formerly Ramada Limited McAllen)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > McAllen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in McAllen
#1 Best Value Hotel in McAllen
#2 Business Hotel in McAllen
Price range (per night): $74 - $130
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 - Mcallen/Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Super 8 - Mcallen/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcallen Ramada
Ramada Mcallen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing