We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three memorable days to remember”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nitun Private Reserve
Reviewed 22 April 2012

My family spent 3 nights in Nitun in April as a home base to explore Tikal and Aguateca and the experience was wonderful. The food was cooked and prepared delightfully, the enclave is quiet and surrounded of nature and Lorena and her stuff took good care of us.
The cabanas are authentic but still very comfortable, spacious and clean.
I really recommend the trek to Aguateca, although expensive (like almost any tour around Tikal anyway) being able to have a guide for the four of us and get into the jungle and across the 30 meter deep and only two width gorge that takes you to the ruins was unforgettable.
If you are staying in Flores to visit the ruins this place is highly recommended not only for its uniqueness but because the staff will take great care of you.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alfred-Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2012

A friend and I just sent a Tuesday through Saturday at Nitun and were well taken care of. We were picked up at the airport from our early fight and drove to Nitun – the rest of the transpo was by boat across Lake Peten Itza (by Nitun staff) to Flores, were our excursions picked-up. The first day we explored Flores – pretty quiet, but it picks up in the evening when everyone gets back from their excursions. Each of the following days we went to a Mayan site – Yaxha, Aguateca and finally Tikal. Bernie took us to Aguateca – which was quite a memorable day. Our guide for the others - Melvin Rivera – was arranged though Nitun (and you get reach him directly: mel-balana@hotmail.com) Melvin was great – local, very knowledgeable, fun and fluent in Spanish and English. On our canopy tour (which we did on our way to Yaxha – you might want to go really early in the morning to see more animals, etc.) Melvin spotted a small all-white bat handing from under a big leaf – and many other things we would never have noticed. The meals were fantastic. In the evenings, before, during and after dinner we had great conversations with Lorena, Bernie (owners) and other guests in the lovely open-air dining area. It was great to have Melvin guide us and hear Bernie’s stories about Mayan life and archeological adventures – brought it all to life and we learned a lot. On the last day we lounged on the dock below Nitun and kayaked a bit before being taken to the airport. It was a great combination of adventure and relaxation. We had a great time without a worry.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jccmedi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

2. Nitun in Guatemala cute little eco friendly lodge in nowhere land. Take the boat to the hotel. Don’t even think of driving to the hotel. Maybe had been great in its heyday, saw lots of comments. But now is older, in somewhat dilapidated state. At least an hour to hour and half from Tikal/Yaxha ruins. Hosts do some charitable work too. Kayaking on the lake is a nice free bonus. Internet only from host’s computer. Having air conditioning would help, but there is only a fan. Cottages are nice and rustic and lot of birds and nature. Lorena is very nice and helpful. She is an excellent cook. Bernie the other co-owner little bit of a wild guy goes hunting for Mayan ruins in the jungles but also cooks sometimes. Food is local but nice. Rooms are somewhat smallish, beds are quite soft, not much amenities

Room Tip: There are only 5 cabins I believe. Again don't even think of driving there, take the boat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supuvjmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nitun, Owner at Nitun Private Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2012

Thank you for your review.

Some information and update: Our road of 2 kilometers from the main highway to Ni'tun is a 4x4 path. As I write, it is being redone as we share it with a neighbor and we're working on it right now, but I will still maintain it as a 4x4 path for several reasons, but mainly for security and privacy. There's not even a sign in the main road that indicates that we exist here. This keeps Ni'tun secluded, private and tranquil. Our lodging rates include a courtesy pick up at the airport, or Flores, or bus station and we bring our guests by boat, unless weather is really bad. If guests are driving from Guatemala, Belize, Mexico or other destinations, I can indicate were to leave the car parked in a safe place in Flores and we will pick them up by boat. The boat ride is really pretty and much more comfortable than driving the 22 kilometers from Flores, and specially driving the 2 kilometers down to our lodge.

All four casitas are 35 square meters of construction each, including the bathroom and all are separated from each other. If global warming continues, maybe in the future we will have air conditioning, but not for the moment and yes, March, April and May are very hot months.

We're still waiting for the router for the wifi connection, which hopefully we'll have in the next months.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I expected an eco lodge in the jungle but this is not what we got. The owner is a terrific lady and a great cook which is important because there is no other options for dinner. You go over by boat which is fun but it did not have a jungle feel. Rooms were quirky but interesting. Very quiet there too. Nothing to do but that may be your plan......

Room Tip: hummingbird suite is nice. Fun to watch the birds at the window!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tom s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nitun, Owner at Nitun Private Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Thank you for this review. Yes, it's right, we are not located in the jungle, we're located in a private reserve of forest in the shores of Lake Petén Itzá, an area that was doomed to disappear but that we saved 20 years ago and have managed the forest ever since. Ni'tun is located in an isolated area where it's quiet. Kayaking and swimming in this beautiful lake is enjoyed by many travelers. Our Monkey Eco Tours will take travelers to the real jungle, either in our one day trips like Yaxha, Tikal or Aguateca or in more challenging expeditions, like Mirador, Piedras Negras or Río Azul, for example. The access to Ni'tun by land is thru a 4x4 road and there are no other restaurants or bars nearby. However, a visit to the island of Flores in case visitors want to have dinner over there, is easy by boat... but very glad you liked my cooking! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

My husband and 18 year-old son just returned from a fabulous visit to Guatemala and Honduras. Ni-tun was our home during our visit to Tikal. We enjoyed a charming, spacious and lovingly built individual bungalow (we had a hammock in the room--how fun!), with a full and comfortable bathroom. These bungalows were purpose built by the owner, of local stone and wood and furnished with local textiles. One of the special benefits of Ni'tun is its lakeside location, only 15 minutes by boat from the charming town of Flores. Lorena, your host, and her staff, are fabulous cooks and we enjoyed two great dinners and breakfasts there. Dinners are served "en famille", which encourages conversation with other guests. There is also a very comfortable upstairs sitting room. Ni'tun can help arrange guides to Tikal and other ruins in the El Peten area; we enjoyed our guide to Tikal and found this to be much easier than driving there ourselves. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfromric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nitun, Owner at Nitun Private Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Thank you! So glad you enjoyed your stay, tour and meals. Just wanted to write a little note, Bernie, my working partner and I, built Ni'tun 20 years ago together and we own the place still, both of us. Aside from owner, I cook and host, I multitask management and organizing the tours. The architecture is based on the old Maya style of building, it was a great experience to learn from the elders of the region how to build with stone, wood and sand, thatch the roofs and make the casitas comfortable. Ever since moving here from Guatemala City, where I was born, I have been learning each day more and more about my country and my culture. Love my work! Now learning to manage feedback and stay in touch with my guests. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flores
0 km away
Hotel Isla de Flores
Hotel Isla de Flores
#2 of 16 in Flores
343 reviews
0 km away
Las Lagunas Boutique Hotel
0 km away
Hotel Casazul
Hotel Casazul
#6 of 16 in Flores
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Jungle Lodge
Jungle Lodge
#1 of 2 in Tikal National Park
670 reviews
0 km away
Hotel Casona del Lago
Hotel Casona del Lago
#5 of 16 in Flores
224 reviews
0 km away
Hotel Casa Amelia
Hotel Casa Amelia
#3 of 16 in Flores
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nitun Private Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nitun Private Reserve

Address: Km 22. 5 San Andres | San Andrés, Flores, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Peten Department > Flores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Flores
Price Range: $129 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ni'tun is a small Guatemalan boutique lodge located within our own private reserve on the shores of beautiful Lake Peten Itza. We offer personal service, friendly staff, knowledgeable guides, drivers and tour operators. Kayaking is a must. We pride ourselves as being passionate about our cuisine. Local ingredients are used in our fusion meals. All itineraries are tailored and many destinations in the area can be visited. It is a peaceful spot to relax and be immersed in nature. Favorite amongst guests is chatting over dinner with other travelers and us, the owners. We are far away and near enough Flores island and we operate our tours and expeditions privately to the main sites, both for one-day tours as for longer camping expeditions throughout Peten, Belize, Honduras and Mexico. Collective tours to Tikal also available. Our main aim is to share our culture with travelers and to support sustainable activities that involve local communites as well as protected areas. Through low impact eco tourism, we are able to support our conservation projects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Nitun Private Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing